We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to relax between SF and LA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 11 more sites!
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 McMurray Road, Buellton, CA 93427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Buellton
san francisco
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Excellent place to relax between SF and LA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were driving down to LA, from SF.....this is a nice place to stop. Very nice hotel; nice rooms; good service; nice dining room....not as all "old" as some have indicated.

The location is excellent....right off the highway (101), close to shopping and Solvang. For those that do not know, this is the old danish tourist town. You also have the Santa Ynez wineries, and lots of missions. Overall, if you are not rushed to go from SF and LA, this is a nice relaxing place to stay and still do some sightseeing

Room Tip: everything was very nice during our visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear bbb57aolcom,

Thanks for staying with us. We are pleased to hear that you found our location and accommodations comfortable and convenient. If you return to the area again and have more time, we would be happy to help suggest attractions in the area that are a must see. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    129
    55
    22
    10
See reviews for
81
137
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here over Thanksgiving and we were pleasantly suprised . I checked the reviews before going and they were mixed. I was expecting old and out dated but not at all. We were updated on Thanksgiving day automatically to a King suite, which was wonderfully spacious, extremely clean, plenty of linens. Excellent service, Full breakfast included for my husband and 3 year old. The front lobby all very clean, Everyone extremely helpful , courteous and it made our Thanksgiving very memorable. Thank you Buellton Marriott and Happy Holidays to all your hard working staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Solvang and look forward to returning soon

Room Tip: Mountain side is great, however since the hotel is close to freeway, you do not hear ANY freeway noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi joanne r,

Thank you for staying with us! It's great to hear that your accommodations were more than comfortable and accommodating for you and your family. We do our best to go the extra mile for all guests, and it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the upgraded room. Your feedback will be shared with the staff, and everyone will be pleased to know that we made your Thanksgiving holiday even more enjoyable. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila area
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Our family stayed here on our vacation in California. The hotel was very clean and seemed well appointed for the area. We wanted to go to Solvang and Santa Barbara and this hotel was perfect for that.
We would definitely stay here again. Great value.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi SteveMurt,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and hope that you had a wonderful vacation. There are so many attractions close to the hotel, and it sounds like you experienced some of the most popular ones. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night while attending a wedding in a Santa Ynez winery. The location was convenient, just off the freeway and minutes to the main town but hardly impressive looking from the outside. Upon arrival checkin was fast and the staff were nice. The lobby was also nicely done. The hotel was old but clearly only the lobby was re-done and even that wasn't very new. The halls were dark and stingy as were the rooms. We had a huge suite, the size of 2.5 standard room you usually get at a Marriott but it was just so old and unattractive. The bathroom was completely redone and new though. It was clean and again the staff was very accommodating. All in all not a bad experience just don't expect nice looking rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hi Honeynbutters,

Thank you for sharing your experience. It's great to hear that you found our location to be convenient for your trip to the area, and that our staff was welcoming and friendly. We are sorry to hear that the hotel appearance was not as you expected. Your comments will be shared with the team to ensure better future stays. We would love for you to give us another try if you return to the area again.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When visiting Santa Ynez Valley and all its many attractions, my favorite place to stay is the Marriott, located right off the 101 highway and near all the wonderful places to see and visit in the valley: the little quaint town of Los Olivos with its marvelous restaurant that was featured in the film "Sideways", the Chumash casino, Buellton and its famous pea soup, and the interesting though touristy Danish town of Solvang to name a few. the hotel features very comfortable rooms, a caring staff and really good food, especially the breakfasts . . . every imaginable choice to suit your taste . . and it's included in the price of your room. I've stayed in any places in and around Los Olivos and Buellton, but now that I've found Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, that's my pick of the lot.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hi Glenn H,

It's so great to hear that you have frequented the Santa Ynez Valley, and our hotel. This area is so unique and there's so much to do. It looks like you have experienced many of the popular attractions. We appreciate you sharing your experience, and are thrilled that you prefer to stay with us when you're in town. We strive to provide the top-notch value, service, and quality you would expect from a Marriott. We are looking forward to your next stay here.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, Ca
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I would go out of my way to stay at this hotel again and the reasons are as follows. I travel every week and stay in more hotels than I care to recount. I almost never review the hotels I stay in for business. They are functional and not memorable, until I stayed here. Not an amazing location, but close to everything that you need and the hotel is done in a spanish style with a lot of effort put into keeping it updated and clean. The fitness room was better than most and the restuarant served very good food.

I stayed in a one bedroom and this room is larger than most apartments. It had a kitchenette with fridge and microwave. A seperate bedroom with flat screen tv's in the bedroom and living room. The bathroom was gigantic and had a vanity area in the bathroom and another one in the dressing area. It felt wonderdul to spread out and relax. There was also a small balcony off of the bedroom and one off of the living room.

One other item that I noticed is the pool area was great - lot's of comfortable outdoor seating and a fireplace. I think there was a tennis court that was attached to this hotel as well.

I really enjoyed my stay here and you cannot beat the rate that I paid of $164.

Room Tip: Get the one bedroom and enjoy how spacious it is
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Nicole065,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are thrilled to hear that you found your accommodations to be more than you expected. We understand that business travel can be somewhat frustrating if you don't have what you need. Comfort and cleanliness are our top priorities. We are looking forward to accommodating you again during your future stays. If your schedule allows for touring, we would be happy to help make recommendations for visiting the area attractions.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

When travelling for business, I look for three things: clean facilities, attentive service and reasonably-priced, healthy food that’s conveniently located, preferably within the hotel. This place satisfied each requirement very well, and if I ever come through here as a tourist, this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear AMysteriousTraveler,

Thank you for staying with us. We are so pleased to hear that we met your needs and exceeded your expectations. We understand the importance of these categories you mentioned when traveling, and it's great to hear that you were satisfied with your experience. Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again when you are able to return for leisure.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Ynez Valley Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott Hotel Buellton
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott Hotel
Marriott Santa Ynez Valley
Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Buellton
Buellton Marriott
Address: 555 McMurray Road, Buellton, CA 93427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Ynez Valley Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind at the Santa Ynez Valley Marriott in our newly renovated great room - featuring the only Starbucks in the valley! Stay connected while staying with us, with our complimentary wireless internet in all our guest rooms. Take advantage of our many packages, and great midweek specials! The Santa Ynez Valley is famous for over 80 vineyards and wineries, casino, cycling races, horseback riding, and the Danish Village of Solvang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Santa Ynez Valley Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Santa Ynez Valley Marriott to your Saves list