We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Santa Ynez Valley Marriott to your Saves list
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 McMurray Road, Buellton, CA 93427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Paramus
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I along with several friends recently spent 5 nights at this Marriott and could not have been more pleased. It is situated in a centrally located yet peaceful spot. The staff is extremely pleasant and accommodating. We had booked a suite in advance but Marriott upgraded our traveling companions to a suite right next to ours and it worked out perfectly. The suites are very spacious and provide every amenity. Breakfast was wonderful with great variety. In the evening they light a firepit that is surrounded by comfy and cozy couches on a terrace near the pool area. Could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi carolleone,

Thanks for staying with us! It's great to hear that you found our accommodations to be comfortable for your 5 night stay. We were happy to upgrade your travel companions to a suite so that they would be closer to you. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will stay with us again during your next trip to the area.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    144
    72
    28
    10
See reviews for
87
161
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for one weekend night only, a stayover on the way up the coast. We wanted someplace close to Solvang because we had theatre tickets at the Solvang Festival Theatre that night. (I will try to review that separately, but suffice to say that it is a fun atmosphere, an outdoor amphitheater in the heart of Solvang.) Based on tripadvisor and other research, it seemed as if the Marriott would be one of the nicer properties in the area, and we were able to use Marriott Reward points for a free room.

We did not get off to a good start. When we walked into the lobby to check in, we saw that there was one check in clerk speaking with a man. No one else was waiting, so we just stood a few feet away and waited. Although the clerk saw us she did not acknowledge us and continued with an animated conversation with the man. After a few minutes, it became clear to me that the conversation was entirely personal in nature, not about hotel business. Since no one was offering to help us, I thought it necessary to clear my throat to make absolutely sure that the clerk understood that we were waiting to be helped. She continued to ignore us! I finally had to speak out, "Can we please check in?" At that point, the clerk finally motioned us to approach and checked us in. But she never apologized for her unacceptably rude behavior. This kind of poor customer service by the second person one meets at any establishment (the valet was friendly and helpful) really colors one's views about a hotel.

The room we received seemed standard. it was a decent size and looked clean. But the furnishings looked a bit tired. The photos on the Marriott website make the hotel look nearly resort-like but we did not find it so. The location is also drab. Buellton is just a stop along the highway closest to Solvang. Convenient enough (less than 10 minutes away from Solvang on a nice drive) but nothing to look at otherwise.

The pool area was more functional than resort-like, but it did have lots of chairs/lounges, umbrellas, etc. I don't think most folks would want to spend much time at the hotel and if one's destination is really Solvang, it is better to stay in that town. If one wants a jumping off point for wineries, again, my guess is that there are more attractive options for a similar price.

There was nothing offensive or bad about the hotel (other than the poor check in experience). It was just...meh. If you can get a very good price or you just need a place to sleep along the highway, then you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hi traveldan21,

Thanks for staying with us. We are always happy to accommodate Reward members, and it's great to hear that you were able to use your points for a complimentary stay. We apologize for your check in experience not being up to par. We value all guests and do focus on providing top-notch customer service. This is not acceptable and will be shared with the team. It's disappointing to hear that the accommodations weren't as you expected. We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your short trip into town, and hope that you enjoyed the show at the Solvang Festival Theater.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We ALWAYS stay at this Marriott on our way up north, or just visiting the local wineries in Santa Barbara... They have the nicest staff, who go out of their way to accommodate you. On significant holidays, they go overboard when they decorate the lobby and the restaurant with the holiday theme... There's a Starbucks located right in the hotel lobby too!

Room Tip: Be sure to stay in a room that they include the breakfast buffet in the pricing... The food is delic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hi Deborah H,

Thank you for being a loyal guest. We truly enjoy providing top-notch customer service, and do everything we can to make our guests feel welcome. It's great to hear that you have stayed with us over the holidays to see the special touches we add to make things more festive. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Full service Marriott that is close to Solvang, Santa Ynez and Buellton. My husband were wine tasting for the weekend and wanted close access to the hwy so we could head down to Santa Barbara as well. The rooms/bathrooms are good sized and offer BathandBody Works shampoos, lotions, shower gel. It is a bit dated, but it works. The breakfasts we had each morning offered fresh fruit, an omlette station and fresh oatmeal - which was really good! The fitness room is decent and you will find fresh water bottle stations everywhere. I took advantage of the pool and some sun and it was relaxing. All in all a good stay and I am sure we will go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Hi Brenda A,

Thanks for sharing your experience. It's great to hear that you were able to have some relaxation time, and enjoy the local wineries. We pride ourselves in making sure that guests have a variety of selections at breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Starting the day off right with a great meal is very important, and it sounds like you felt right at home. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I booked a suite at this hotel for the weekend of a family wedding being held in nearby Solvang. Because my husband had recent surgery, we thought a suite might be the best option, in case he was not up sightseeing during any free time. We were given room 261, called The Fantasy Suite, and my advice to any discerning traveler who finds him/herself at Buellton is to avoid this over-priced, severely lacking in value, option. The Jacuzzi tub, listed as one of the amenities, is in a mirrored alcove, two steps up, right in the bedroom. It's heart-shaped, presumably for two people's backs to fit into the top part of the heart, with their feet meeting in the vicinity of the point at the bottom. The faucet control is on the wall, so for additional water to be added, one of the two must stand up to operate it, as it is probably 8 feet from where they started, back at the top of the heart. There is the ubiquitous guilt-inducing card which isdesigned to ease the hotel's burden of providing fresh towels, "suggesting" you hang up used ones for another day; however, nowhere in the hotel room, not in the alcove, not in the bathroom, is there even one single towel bar, even if the guest paying nearly $300 a night (more, actually, with taxes) would be willing to re-use towels. There's not a towel ring on the wall for a hand towel. There is not a grab bar anywhere in the, admittedly, spacious shower (presumably for those same two people to use). There was a soap dish at only one of the double sinks.

There's a saying that nobody notices what you do, only what you don't do, and just one of the many things which made this room far less than a fantasy fulfillment were the numerous snags in the carpet. It would have been so easy for a housekeeping supervisor to take small, sharp scissors to trim the very obvious threads, and would have made a big difference in that oh-so-important first impression. Yes, this hotel is practically the only game in town, and does snag (no pun intended) the weary traveler who stops on his/her way up or down US 101, or the convention-booker looking for some kind of bargain, I guess, but if you must stay at this hotel, do not waste your money of what is presented as a suite.

If you've gotten this far in my review, you probably don't care what I may think about the quality of the food, but since breakfast was included in our tariff, we did try the buffet. It was not bad as such things go -- it was plentiful, well-presented, and the staff was cheerful and welcoming. They were appreciated, but overall this stay was a major disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Shirley H,

We are sorry to hear that your stay was not as you expected. The little details are important to us to ensure a great stay, however, in your case, there are some things that we could have done better. We are a green certified hotel, so "green" practices are followed. Coupled with that, we are here to serve our guests, so if new towels and sheets are needed, we will honor that request, and apologize for any miscommunication that our signage may have displayed.

Your feedback is appreciated, and will be shared to help us better serve our guests in the future. We are pleased to share your positive comments about our friendly service with the staff, and that you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope that you had a great time at the wedding in Solvang, and look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Excellent locale. Close to everything in Solvang without the crowds. Full service Marriott with a Starbucks and a restaurant. Great 2 room suite options, too.

Bathrooms and room styling are dated but everything is clean. The rooms are quiet -- even those that face the highway.

Also, you can rent bikes on site. Overall, a very good deal. Just don't expect luxurious!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Hi jag_7896,

Thanks for staying with us. We are pleased that our location was ideal for your trip, and that you found our rooms and amenities as expected. Biking is a great way to explore the local area. We hope that you had a chance to visit all the sites and attractions that were on your list. Please keep us in mind for any future trips to the area.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We read several reviews about the noise level in some of the rooms in this hotel, so we were a little concerned. We called before checking in to ask for a room as far from the highway as possible. When we checked in, we were given a musty smelling room with a very loud conference going on right below us. We requested a different room and were moved to a much nicer and quieter room by Ridge, who was working at the check-in desk. In addition, he was very helpful in suggesting nearby restaurants and wineries, and providing maps. The room was very comfortable and the stay was enjoyable. Paula's Pancakes in Solvang is fantastic and the town of Solvang was interesting to walk through.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Hi Susan F,

We apologize for the location of the first room you were given. We understand that receiving a quiet room was very important to you, and it's great to hear that we were able to accommodate your request. Solvang is a very popular area to visit with many unique shops and restaurants, so it's nice to hear that you were able to explore and enjoy it. We would love to help recommend other options to visit during your next trip.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Ynez Valley Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Address: 555 McMurray Road, Buellton, CA 93427
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Ynez Valley Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind at the Santa Ynez Valley Marriott in our newly renovated great room - featuring the only Starbucks in the valley! Stay connected while staying with us, with our complimentary wireless internet in all our guest rooms. Take advantage of our many packages, and great midweek specials! The Santa Ynez Valley is famous for over 80 vineyards and wineries, casino, cycling races, horseback riding, and the Danish Village of Solvang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Santa Ynez Valley Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Santa Ynez Valley
Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Buellton
Buellton Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.