We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasy Suite sooooo not the fulfillment of any fantasy!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Santa Ynez Valley Marriott to your Saves list
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 McMurray Road, Buellton, CA 93427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Seal Beach, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantasy Suite sooooo not the fulfillment of any fantasy!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I booked a suite at this hotel for the weekend of a family wedding being held in nearby Solvang. Because my husband had recent surgery, we thought a suite might be the best option, in case he was not up sightseeing during any free time. We were given room 261, called The Fantasy Suite, and my advice to any discerning traveler who finds him/herself at Buellton is to avoid this over-priced, severely lacking in value, option. The Jacuzzi tub, listed as one of the amenities, is in a mirrored alcove, two steps up, right in the bedroom. It's heart-shaped, presumably for two people's backs to fit into the top part of the heart, with their feet meeting in the vicinity of the point at the bottom. The faucet control is on the wall, so for additional water to be added, one of the two must stand up to operate it, as it is probably 8 feet from where they started, back at the top of the heart. There is the ubiquitous guilt-inducing card which isdesigned to ease the hotel's burden of providing fresh towels, "suggesting" you hang up used ones for another day; however, nowhere in the hotel room, not in the alcove, not in the bathroom, is there even one single towel bar, even if the guest paying nearly $300 a night (more, actually, with taxes) would be willing to re-use towels. There's not a towel ring on the wall for a hand towel. There is not a grab bar anywhere in the, admittedly, spacious shower (presumably for those same two people to use). There was a soap dish at only one of the double sinks.

There's a saying that nobody notices what you do, only what you don't do, and just one of the many things which made this room far less than a fantasy fulfillment were the numerous snags in the carpet. It would have been so easy for a housekeeping supervisor to take small, sharp scissors to trim the very obvious threads, and would have made a big difference in that oh-so-important first impression. Yes, this hotel is practically the only game in town, and does snag (no pun intended) the weary traveler who stops on his/her way up or down US 101, or the convention-booker looking for some kind of bargain, I guess, but if you must stay at this hotel, do not waste your money of what is presented as a suite.

If you've gotten this far in my review, you probably don't care what I may think about the quality of the food, but since breakfast was included in our tariff, we did try the buffet. It was not bad as such things go -- it was plentiful, well-presented, and the staff was cheerful and welcoming. They were appreciated, but overall this stay was a major disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Shirley H,

We are sorry to hear that your stay was not as you expected. The little details are important to us to ensure a great stay, however, in your case, there are some things that we could have done better. We are a green certified hotel, so "green" practices are followed. Coupled with that, we are here to serve our guests, so if new towels and sheets are needed, we will honor that request, and apologize for any miscommunication that our signage may have displayed.

Your feedback is appreciated, and will be shared to help us better serve our guests in the future. We are pleased to share your positive comments about our friendly service with the staff, and that you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope that you had a great time at the wedding in Solvang, and look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    143
    72
    26
    10
See reviews for
87
159
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Excellent locale. Close to everything in Solvang without the crowds. Full service Marriott with a Starbucks and a restaurant. Great 2 room suite options, too.

Bathrooms and room styling are dated but everything is clean. The rooms are quiet -- even those that face the highway.

Also, you can rent bikes on site. Overall, a very good deal. Just don't expect luxurious!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Hi jag_7896,

Thanks for staying with us. We are pleased that our location was ideal for your trip, and that you found our rooms and amenities as expected. Biking is a great way to explore the local area. We hope that you had a chance to visit all the sites and attractions that were on your list. Please keep us in mind for any future trips to the area.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We read several reviews about the noise level in some of the rooms in this hotel, so we were a little concerned. We called before checking in to ask for a room as far from the highway as possible. When we checked in, we were given a musty smelling room with a very loud conference going on right below us. We requested a different room and were moved to a much nicer and quieter room by Ridge, who was working at the check-in desk. In addition, he was very helpful in suggesting nearby restaurants and wineries, and providing maps. The room was very comfortable and the stay was enjoyable. Paula's Pancakes in Solvang is fantastic and the town of Solvang was interesting to walk through.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Hi Susan F,

We apologize for the location of the first room you were given. We understand that receiving a quiet room was very important to you, and it's great to hear that we were able to accommodate your request. Solvang is a very popular area to visit with many unique shops and restaurants, so it's nice to hear that you were able to explore and enjoy it. We would love to help recommend other options to visit during your next trip.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We booked a suite with king bed and balcony. We had a very good night’s sleep at this place. Although the hotel is located close to highway 101, the room was very quiet. WiFi and parking is included, staff friendly and helpful. Location close to Solvang, Los Olivos and Santa Ynez. It took us even less than 20 minutes to the Refugio beach which is a wonderful place although the water was somewhat chilly. The hotel offers also good Starbucks coffee. Pool is not very large but convenient for a refreshing swim. Breakfast is good and offers various options ranging from omelets, all kinds of eggs, fresh fruits, pancakes, mini croissants (very good) to oatmeal.

Room Tip: Choose a Valley side room (calmer)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Andreas D,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience, and for choosing our hotel for your accommodations. We are pleased that your room was quiet and that you slept very well. It sounds like the location was more than convenient for you since you did quite a bit of exploring. Since you enjoyed our breakfast, we would love for you to join us for lunch or dinner the next time you are in town. Please keep us in mind for your future trips to explore the Santa Ynez Valley.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I've stayed at this lcation twice while visitng the area for wine tasting, sight-seeing, and gambling. It's location is perfect. It's only a 10 minute drive to Solvang and about 20 minutes more to the Chumash Casino. The scenery on both drives is beautiful. There are great food choices nearby such as Paula's Pancake House and The Hitching Post II. Firestone Brewery is just up the road.
The hotel is well equiped with everything you may need. The service is friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Hi sarahross,

It's great to hear that you have stayed with us twice, and that your experiences here were to your liking. We are glad you had the opportunity to explore the casino, the wineries, and nearby restaurants. If you plan to return in the future, we would love to have you join us for lunch or dinner at the Starting Gate. Thanks for staying with us, and we hope to accommodate you again soon.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Marriott in Buellton is a lovely hotel. Our room was spotless and the beds were very comfortable. They also have very nice soaps and shampoos. I admit I am a fan of those, and the Marriott has good ones. Check in was quick and easy and all the staff I had dealings with we're polite and helpful. I would suggest not taking a room on the first floor as I was awakened at 2:00 in the morning by some idiot who thought it would be fun to walk by and pound loudly a couple of times on the sliding glass door that leads to the common areas. On Friday and Saturday nights they have free cookies in the lobby which are amazing. My son was devastated that he got the last cookie and he could only have one. One of the front desk staff told me people work those nights just to get the cookies. So if you're there on a weekend don't miss them. Also if you are here you have to go to Anderson's and have the pea soup and onion bread. It is so yummy. The soup was actually the reason we stopped here on our way to San Fran. We had it for dinner and picked up a couple of quarts on the way out the next morning.
My only complaint besides the 2:00a.m. pounding is the cost. It was pretty expensive for Buellton. Maybe in L.A. but Buellton? No.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor-slider leads out to common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear susanono,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate you staying with us on your way to San Francisco. Anderson's is a popular area attraction so it's great to hear that you were able to stop in and try their famous soup. We apologize for the noise inconvenience you experienced, but are glad you enjoyed the services and amenities we offer. We hope to see you again during your next trip through the area.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a king suite (408) with separate bedroom (door between living room and bedroom) and comfortable sofa sleeper. Unlike many home sofa sleepers, this one you could actually sleep on without breaking your back and could easily accomodate adults. There was 1 bathroom,but 2 separate vanities, separated by doors which makes it much better with anyone with teenagers.

The included breakfast was good. There were many local pastries plus bacon, sausages, potatoes, u cook waffles, fruit, cereal and cooked to order omlettes.

The property has a nice size pool and firepit surrounded by comfortable outside chairs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hi jefinsd,

Thanks for staying with us. We are pleased to hear that you and your group enjoyed our hotel. It sounds like our location was very convenient for your trip. It's great to know that you had a good night's sleep on our sofa sleeper and fared it much better than others. We hope to be your preferred hotel when you return to the area to explore more of what the Santa Ynez Valley, Solvang, and Buellton has to offer.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Ynez Valley Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Address: 555 McMurray Road, Buellton, CA 93427
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Ynez Valley Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind at the Santa Ynez Valley Marriott in our newly renovated great room - featuring the only Starbucks in the valley! Stay connected while staying with us, with our complimentary wireless internet in all our guest rooms. Take advantage of our many packages, and great midweek specials! The Santa Ynez Valley is famous for over 80 vineyards and wineries, casino, cycling races, horseback riding, and the Danish Village of Solvang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santa Ynez Valley Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Santa Ynez Valley
Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Buellton
Buellton Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;