We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'd be surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pea Soup Andersen's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pea Soup Andersen's Inn to your Saves list
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 E Hwy 246, Buellton, CA 93427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You'd be surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I didn't realize this restaurant chain had hotels as well, but based on ratings and cost, we figured this would be a good stop for dinner and sleep. We were pleasantly surprised by it all. The heated pool we sadly didn't have time to enjoy, the restaurant next door, the room with our car parked right outside, free wi-fi and then a small, but complimentary breakfast. There isn't much to Buelton and it was just a stop on our road trip, but we were quite satisfied and would definitely recommend this place for comfort. The restaurant next door has a little garden area and even a couple quarter mechanical rides for the kiddies.

Room Tip: In the back parking lot, you can park right next to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    120
    55
    8
    5
See reviews for
64
101
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The rooms are clean and the location is perfect for visiting the area if you don't want to pay the higher prices in Solvang. It is located just off the 101 and only a 5-10 minute drive to Solvang. Our stay included a continental breakfast, which I was not very impressed with. They only had danishes available (and only 4 of them), which were dry. No cereal, no oatmeal, no waffle maker. And the orange juice looked like lemon-aid, but tasted like water. Perhaps this could be expected at the end of the breakfast time, but we got there right after opening time. The beds were comfortable, but consider bringing your own pillow (mine felt like a bag of cotton balls).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed in the Buellton area for one night after visiting Santa Barbara and touring a couple local wineries. We chose the Pea Andersens based on reviews and price.

It is definitely a motel, so adjust your expectations accordingly. However, it was a good value for the price compared to others in the area. The front desk attendants were pleasant and helpful. You get a 10% off coupon for the Pea Andersens restaurant, which is next door (walk across the parking lot). There is a pool, hot tub, and putting green in the central courtyard, and parking is plentiful.

All rooms are outdoor access as would be expected of a motel. The room is dated, but it was clean and functional for our stay. The bathtub appeared to have been recently fitted / replaced. The sink is separate from the closed toilet & shower area. The room also had a small refrigerator and microwave. Be advised that the balcony is a shared balcony, which is unusual -- didn't bother us, though. Also, the room is fairly dark as there are no full size windows. There are a couple small windows at the front of the room and the large sliding door in the back. We had ample natural light in the morning but not much in the afternoon.

The continental breakfast is very simple -- danishes, muffins, toast, coffee, tea, and juice. There is a small building in the center of the courtyard for breakfast service, so we ate outside at one of the patio tables to enjoy the weather.

For passing through the area, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I've been avoiding reviewing this place because it's my best keep secret. To some its not fancy but who cares its worth it. Nice,quite,clean. Nice Jacuzzi,pool. Good pastry's for breakfast. Plus they have Pea Andersen's Resturant right next door who can top that. Off season they have good deals during the week.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

big rooms, great prices, under $100 and great pool. how we used ot travel with our parents when value meant alot. great staff let us in early, pool is huge and inviting. a regular stay for us, and can walk to Ellens. biker friendly

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargara, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

was going to stay at santa barbara but found it hard to find a room, we were so glad we found pea soup andersens inn
big clean room,great bed,great breaky, greeted by Debbie at lobby,what a lovely lady
went to the delightful town of solvang, that is a must do!!!!
10 out of 10 for this hotel
robin lerch qld aust

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is an older hotel that has been well renovated. The rooms are large, the beds comfortable, there is coffee/tea in the room as well as a small fridge and microwave. The bathroom is average size but the towels are new and fluffy. The bed was very comfortable butI would say the bed linens were average or a little on the lower end.
We were upstairs in the back so there was no street noise. However, we did have a very loud couple come in next door, late at night and it sounded as if they were in our room. Turning on the a/c took care of the problem. I am not sure whether or not you would hear normal conversations through the walls.
The breakfast is very basic but sitting out by the pool in the morning was very pleasant.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms are in the back and upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Buellton
Quality Inn Buellton
#1 of 7 in Buellton
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
3.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#9 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.2 mi away
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
2.9 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#4 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pea Soup Andersen's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pea Soup Andersen's Inn

Address: 51 E Hwy 246, Buellton, CA 93427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pea Soup Andersen's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Pea Soup Andersen's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pea Soup Andersen`s Hotel Buellton
Best Western Hotel Buellton
Best Western Buellton
Buellton Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pea Soup Andersen's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.