We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean - but breakfast is slim.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pea Soup Andersen's Inn

Save Saved
You added Pea Soup Andersen's Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 E Hwy 246, P.O. Box 197, Buellton, CA 93427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Buellton
Mukilteo, Washington
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean - but breakfast is slim.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were going to bike for 3 days and wanted an inexpensive place as our base. A friend had stayed here before. Staff was helpful, beds were comfortable, and rooms were spacious and clean. The only down side is the breakfast is minimal and coffee hardly acceptable (to a Seattle-ite). We'd come here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    91
    42
    7
    4
See reviews for
50
75
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

room had access to pool and from parking, medicocre breakfast, go across the street for a better one at the pancake house-locals. rooms large, and clean-great check in-hot tub and heated pool, although pool not very warm-said 82 but it was a chilly night

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My Family has stayed at the Pea Soup Anderson's hotel twice now... The first time we "lucked out" and were able to stay in a Deluxe Suite with separate bedrooms, full kitchen and super retro but cute decor. It was right next to the registration area so it was not the quietest location but it accommodated our family of 5 beautifully.

This Easter holiday, the suite was not available so we set up in 2 adjoining rooms and it worked great. The rooms are nice sized, comfy beds and pillows, generously sized refrigerator and freezer plus a coffee maker. I love the bathroom space with separate shower/tub/toilet. The exhaust fans worked. You'd be surprised how many hotels have no fans or they don't work : / There was a closet in the vanity area. Only complaint was the water pressure on the faucet and no guest shampoos/sundries. We had to run to the CVS (walking distance) to get some items. No biggie, but would have been good to know.

My favorite part is that the rooms open up to a large interior "yard" with benches, turf, and a putting green. I used the space as a little "workout space" in the mornings while everyone was sleeping or delighting I the all you can eat Danishes from Olsen's Bakery served in the gazebo daily. I'm not a fan of pastries, but these were definitely worth a taste.

If you plan to spend lots of time in SOLVANG, then try to stay IN Solvang. This location is driving distance there but once in Solvang Village, parking is sometimes an issue. From Pea Soup, we were conveniently located to the restaurant of course for the "split pea soup tradition" as well as a really good Pizza Parlour (Genos), shopping, and a couple tasting rooms. A.J. Spurs & The Hitching Post a'la "Sideways" are a fair walking distance for most as well as the Ostrich Farm. We found Avant Tapas nearby---cute winery/bistro as well as a gym.

Overall, if you have kids and don't need fancy, this is a good value.

Room Tip: Locate in the back of the hotel. No freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed just one night during a short wine-tasting trip. The location is great, checkin was fast and the room was clean. The 2-queen-bed room was an average size and layout. The disappointments were:
They have a mini-golf area in the center courtyard, which results in a noisy environment when guests are using it; there was also a lot of noise when adjoining room doors were opened and closed. The noise wasn't horrible, but the rooms must be less well-insulated than average - we're not overly sensitive to noise, but couldn't help noticing this.

The beds were hard - all 3 of us tossed and turned all night because the beds were uncomfortable to us.

The continental breakfast - though we didn't expect a hot or elaborate breakfast, we did expect a little more from their contintental breakfast. They have juice, coffee and pastries. The coffee was on the weak side for us, the juice reconstitued, and we would have really appreciated having milk available. We figured they just want guests to go next door to the restaurant!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the place for 2 nights and got equipped with a big room with large bed and everything you need and expect in this kind of motel. We enjoyed staying there and using it as a base for exploring the wine country. Check in and out was quick and the receptionist very friendly and helpful when answering our questions. For the price we payed a real great find!

Downside: we had a connecting door to the next room. It was of course locked but through it came a lot of noise from our neighbors. We did not hear anything during the night though, so this was ok.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This place isn't fancy, but it was clean and had comfortable beds. There is a outdoor courtyard with a putting green and bocce ball court. Nothing fancy but fun for the kids to play on. (equipment provided) The continental breakfast is yummy danish and muffins from a local bakery and coffee and toast. Customer service was good. Five minute drive to Solvang, near the freeway and a walk across a parking lot to get to a restaurant.

Room Tip: No elevators so choose first floor if you don't want to walk up and down the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed one night in a room with 2 queen beds. Room had a balcony overlooking the pool, LCD tv, large room with plenty of places to put things, fridge & microwave. Would make a great base for exploring this part of the world as it is really well priced. The room was really clean and the staff were efficient and helpful. Located next to the Pea Soup Andersens restaurant which is good place to eat and do a little shopping. Would stay here again.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pea Soup Andersen's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pea Soup Andersen's Inn

Address: 51 E Hwy 246, P.O. Box 197, Buellton, CA 93427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pea Soup Andersen's Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Pea Soup Andersen's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pea Soup Andersen`s Hotel Buellton
Best Western Hotel Buellton
Best Western Buellton
Buellton Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pea Soup Andersen's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.