We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for wine country” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pea Soup Andersen's Inn

Save Saved
You added Pea Soup Andersen's Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 E Hwy 246, P.O. Box 197, Buellton, CA 93427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Buellton
London
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great base for wine country”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed here for two nights as a base to tour round the Santa Ynez Valley. The location of the motel is good, right near the Freeway, but not so close as to hear it! Restaurants are within walking distance, and it is a short drive to the Hitching Post 2 and about a few miles up to Solvang. I was based upstairs. The room was a good size, and the bed was really comfortable. . The shower was strong and hot. The room seemed very clean. As with many motels I have stayed in the walls were really quite thin and I could hear the neighbours coming in and out of their room. The rooms themselves are quite old fashioned with their decor and prints on the walls. The fridge was pretty noisy and I found out in the morning it was because it had been working really hard to freeze my milk! I didn't partake in the breakfast. I would stay again, but would want a better rate for the facilities I got! I would also have given this 3.5 if it were possible!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    91
    42
    7
    4
See reviews for
50
75
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Big Bear Lake, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at this inn as part of an antique car tour, so we were a pretty big group. The check-in process went very smoothly, and our room was clean and ready. Since most of the tour participants (ourselves included) trailered our antique vehicles, there was ample parking for the cars and trailers. The staff was helpful and friendly. The location was perfect for all of our tours that week, and we loved being next to Pea Soup Andersen Restaurant (yum!). The continental breakfast was okay, too-- nothing big, but enough to get us to lunch. Overall, we had a great experience and would definitely stay there again. If you want to do the wine country, Solvang, etc., this inn is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Pea Soup Andersen's Inn was a very nice place to stay not far from the joyful town of Solvang. The rooms were clean and very nice, and the staff gave us a quiet, upstairs room toward the back. If you want to visit Solvang and save a little money and avoid some of the crowds of staying right in town, I would recommend this place because it is only a short drive up the road to Solvang. There are restaurants, grocery, and gas nearby. We did not have the continental breakfast because I was more interested in checking out the local restaurants (we were appreciative of the coupon given to us on check-in to use at the onsite restaurant). Overall, this motel was a great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Pros:
The front desk staff was super helpful. Even offered a wonderful dinner recommendation (Avant... check it out!).
Room was clean
Plenty of parking
Walking distance to a few restaurants

Cons:
-The breakfast could hardly be called "continental" (only a few pastries and some coffee) and was overcrowded (no seating available). We ended up leaving to go buy breakfast somewhere.
-The room looked outdated and smelled old
-our room was along the perimiter and we could hear kids playing in the parking lot and a karaoke place nearby
-the walls were super thin. We could hear the person next door snoring all night and were awoken at 7:30am by the maids cleaning the room next to us. We could hear every word they said and the vaccuum cleaner was as if it was right next to where we were sleeping.
- paid $90 for a room that would cost $55-$65 anywhere else.

Room Tip: try to pick an interior room otherwise you will hear traffic in the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband booked a surprise get-away (last minute even) to Pea Soup Anderson's Inn in Buellton, CA for a long weekend in wine country. I admit, I was a bit skeptical based on the name and that it had outdoor pool and hot tub when I know the kids count on going for a dip even in December, but we ended up being very pleased. Staff was courteous, rooms were well equiped...2 queen beds, small flat screen TV, microwave and frig (the latter two are must haves when traveling). What impressed us the most was the FABULOUS nights sleep we had!! The beds are SO COMFORTABLE!! I have traveled for business back before the babies were born and I have not ever had a more comfy bed to sleep in....after 3 nights of near perfect sleep I'm sold and we will be back here again soon. The kids favorite part was the hot tub, which was perfectly fine for being outdoors - close to our room. We stayed here from December 29, 2012 - January 1, 2013....Good times and great place to celebrate New Years Eve - oh yeah and the place was very quiet. Did I mention the prices? We bought the "Special" 2 nights get the 3rd free....$205 for 3 nights on a holiday weekend!!!

Room Tip: Our room was on the downstairs next to the putting green
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceano, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here Labor Day weekend for a wedding just up the road. We got a good deal on the room since it was a block set aside by the wedding party. We had a bottom floor room and it was very large. It was a bit older but very clean. There was a fridge, coffee maker, and I think a microwave. The bathroom was pretty large and there was a good size closet. The king bed was ok, not super comfy but not super uncomfortable. TV was old box type but worked fine and plenty of channels. Front desk was adequate. We loved that we could park in front of our room and walk out to a very large patio and then right out to mini golf and swimming pool. Each morning there was coffee and danish and donuts too. I think they also had toast and bagels with cream cheese, etc. Nothing super special. You can walk to several restaurants and we even walked to Figueroa Mt. Brewing for beer tasting. We would totally stay here again (and they are pet friendly).

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms have huge patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great deal for reliable beds waiting after a drive out of la; close to gas, food and a good free breakfast with coffee, juice, toast, muffins and yes Danish ! Don't forget to go to Paula's pancakes and ostrich land before heading on the road. Go to casino too if you like ding ding ding....

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pea Soup Andersen's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pea Soup Andersen's Inn

Address: 51 E Hwy 246, P.O. Box 197, Buellton, CA 93427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pea Soup Andersen's Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Pea Soup Andersen's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pea Soup Andersen`s Hotel Buellton
Best Western Hotel Buellton
Best Western Buellton
Buellton Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pea Soup Andersen's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.