We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfectly nice budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pea Soup Andersen's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pea Soup Andersen's Inn to your Saves list
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 E Hwy 246, P.O. Box 197, Buellton, CA 93427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Alpine, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A perfectly nice budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Pea Soup Andersen's Inn is a basic travel hotel that happens not to be part of a national chain. It is inexpensive and clean. The front desk staff are helpful. And it is close to several common travel attractions in Buellton, including Alma Rosa Winery and the Hitching Post. It is probably best for budget travelers and those traveling with children. It is not a good choice for luxury travelers.

The property sits adjacent to the Pea Soup Andersen's restaurant, gift shop, etc. It is basically like a national chain budget travel hotel or motel, except it is affiliated with Pea Soup Andersen's rather than, say, Best Western. It is your simple two-floor motel layout, with outside doors facing the parking lot, patio/balcony door overlooking the swimming pool and hot tub in the center courtyard, and no-nonsense front desk staff. Our room was completely clean, and nicer than many rooms in similar hotels, with a new flat panel TV, refrigerator, and microwave available in the room. We stayed there on a less-busy weekday, but even so there was very little in the way of noise, which can sometimes be a problem in this type of property. The only downside is that we couldn't use the hot tub, as it was occupied by a large (in number, not individual size) family with many children. Likewise, we stayed out of the pool area. But if you have children, the pool/hot tub area is probably a great place to hang out after a hot day.

The primary virtue of the property is that it is convenient to many local area stops, particularly for those travelers who are recreating the Sideways movie in whole or in part. Hitching Post is a half-mile down the street, and easily walkable. The Alma Rosa Winery tasting room is a short drive or, for the more adventurous, bike ride away. And Ellen's is a nice local spot for breakfast if you choose to go out rather than stay in the Pea Soup Andersen's compound. Even with the discount restaurant coupon, we went elsewhere for food, so I can't speak to the dining portion of the Pea Soup Andersen's experience. But overall, this is a nice clean budget hotel that offers good value at a convenient location for your Buellton area adventures.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    95
    44
    7
    4
See reviews for
53
79
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Housekeeping obviously doesn't step inside the bathroom and close the door to clean everywhere. When I went inside the bathroom to take a shower, I shut the door and turned back around. On the floor where the door had been was all sorts of hair. Very gross.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

this place was amazing! of course I have been going to the restaurant for years for the Split Pea Soup (I am 50), but have never stayed here; i moved up to the bay area years ago, and this was a nice trip to solvang area on my way home from LA;

my family used to stay at the motel 6, but after reading reviews here, I noticed that motel 6 rooms were so very small in comparison to this place; we decided to stay here instead, the rooms here are great - nice and large, very well updated, new TV's (well actually we had 2 adjoining rooms, one had a new TV the other didn't), extremely comfortable and great air conditioner that is on a thermostat. quiet and easily located right off the main road; this actually ended up being cheaper than motel 6 would have been and so much niceer, I highly recommend this oldie but goodie!

there is a pool and some sort of breakfast items, but we did not partake in either of these things, so I can't comment on them;

front desk staff is very friendly and helpful and was able to accommodate our requests of being on the first floor

everything in room worked perfectly, great water pressure, hot water, and oh yeah, a refrigerator in the rooms!

one thing though, they do have free wifi, but it only seems to work if you are in a certain part of the motel, but the modem in the room does have a ethernet plug that you can plug a cord into; if you don't have a cord with you (as i didn't) you can go to the local Radio Shack in town and get one....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I LOVE Pea Soup Andersen's! It's not fancy but that's ok. My family has been stopping here during family vacations for decades and, i'm happy to say, that it is just as fun as it was 30 years ago when I was 8 years old. Same clean, heated pool, same bubbly spa, same mini golf, same continental breakfast with local danish. What more can you want?! It's awesome! If you want to feel like a kid again stop at Andersen's for a consistantly friendly and clean stop over.

Room Tip: Try to get a downstairs room with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Apparently Solvang is a busy place in the Summer and getting a decent hotel room is impossible without a 3 month advance reservation. So we settled for Pea Soup Andersen's Inn due to location and price. Next time I'll either sleep in my car or drive up for the day.

When staying at a hotel, cleanliness is a top priority. Unfortunately, we found someone's dirty black sock next to the bed and our bed sheet had a hole from a cigarette burn. This left us with a strong impression that the hotel staff does not care too much for the cleanliness of the rooms. I felt like I had checked into a Motel 6.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsea qc
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We enjoyed a three night stay at this Inn. It was refreshing to have our breakfast in the gazebo where there were some delicious fresh danishes, different types of bread for toast and coffee. There were some nice benches and putting areas and pool to be enjoyed. Our only mishap was that our magnetic room keys stopped working every day and had to be re-energized. I used the convenient laundry facilities, shopped at Albertson's grocery store and did some tourist shopping in the nearby town of Solvang.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
165 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
406 helpful votes 406 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is a motel, not a spa, not a condo, not a resort. It does what it does well. The rooms are a mish-mash of things (We stayed in a room adjacent to my father's; his room had an old tube TV, ours had a flat screen). The "breakfast" is minimal, but free.
The place was clean, the room of decent size, and the grounds attractive. The rooms had a microwave and refrigerator ... the bed was reasonably comfortable. The bathroom had this odd plastic partition-type door, and the shower temperature was a bit erratic.
It was perfect for a night, and would be fine for a north-south or south-north stopover.
As others have mentioned, Solvang is just a couple of miles away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pea Soup Andersen's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pea Soup Andersen's Inn

Address: 51 E Hwy 246, P.O. Box 197, Buellton, CA 93427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pea Soup Andersen's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pea Soup Andersen's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pea Soup Andersen`s Hotel Buellton
Best Western Hotel Buellton
Best Western Buellton
Buellton Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pea Soup Andersen's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.