We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for overnight, good breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Buellton

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Buellton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Buellton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Avenue of the Flags, Buellton, CA 93427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Buellton
Long Beach, Ca
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ok for overnight, good breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were a group of five and rented three rooms the last weekend of October. We spent the day visiting wineries in the area. Check-in is not until 4 pm so we had plenty of time. The hotel is at the end of the town, next to the freeway. They have incredible soundproofing because you really could not hear the traffic noise when inside. Outside, it was pretty loud. They have updated the main level. We stayed on the first floor which had not had new carpet in the hall for quite some time. The room was ok. The furniture was totally oversized for the small space, however. The bed was pretty off putting when you first saw it as it was very lumpy looking. I immediately lifted the comforter to see what was going on. Apparently, the comforter inside the duvet was not well made and made the bed look like somthing was hiding in there. Fortunately, there was not. The morning breakfast was as expected and the staff was very friendly and super helpful. The only bad thing was the person across the hall had two (not one, but two) Chihuahuas!! And they barked constantly. There owner was constantly telling them not to do their business on the furniture. This could be heard very clearly thru the closed door. The front entrance is at the top of several stairs. So rather than bring your luggage up the stairs to the elevator and then back down, we were sent around the side of the building thur a couple of doors. I was amazed that you did not need your key card to enter. There is a hedge between it and the street and it is a more residential area but, there is nothing to keep people out who shouldn't be there. Overall, it was an interesting overnight stay.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms if you don't like to share with pets. The windows are below grade so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    29
    11
    12
See reviews for
18
39
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

As others have mentioned the rooms are small and showing of wear. The kitchenette area looked highly worn, dented fridge, etc. Carpet felt grubby when barefoot so I always wore socks in the room. The room next to the kitchenette (309) is noisy during mealtimes, always avoid that one. The shower was good, a lot of water and plenty hot. Can't beat that. Continental breakfast is limited, but that is typical for Quality Inn.

Staff wasn't helpful. We arrived early and there is no baggage storage area. When the staff doesn't smile and it takes 5 questions to get to an answer, it's a sign to me that the place just isn't that well run from the top-down. The only reason to stay here is because you need a room in the area and you want something cheap where you can shower and sleep. If you want any amenities or you're staying for a special occasion, you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This chain motel is very conveniently located to the tourist area of Solvang as well as the wine country surrounding Santa Ynez, Los Olivos and Lompoc. "Sideways" country. Very close to the freeway but construction limits road noise. Small rooms but clean. Typical breakfast of make them yourself waffles, fruit, yogurt, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

What can one expect from a Motel next to the freeway? The lobby looked inviting and modern, however when we entered our room we were welcomed by a cup of coffee that had been left behind, wondering if the room had been cleaned at all! Good shower, useless internet. You get what u pay for!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Exceptionally clean room (202). A/C worked great and the highway (101) noise was completely blocked out by the door. Breakfast included yogurt, bacon, sausage, eggs, waffles and was more than adequate. Handicapped signage is definitely inadequate. There is a ramp to the office, but there was no indication of it at the front entrance. (it's far to the left of the front steps and then requires several twists and turns that are not marked) I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor of adjacent building were quiet, even though they backed up to the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Although the rooms at this hotel are a little dated looking, we found it quite clean and comfortable. The bath was well stocked as well. The toilet had a seat on it that was made for a more compact toilet, making this a little weird to use, but other than that, this hotel is doing their business correctly.

We had recently spent several nights at the Holiday Inn Express in Solvang, CA, also in July 2012, the room was dirty, the mattress old, shabby and torturous and the staff/management obviously doesn't care, because we have still to receive an e mail in response to several I sent them, with regard to this discomfort.

The Quality Inn in Buelton, CA seems to care. From the moment we arrived, we felt like they were there to serve our needs. The breakfast was an added bonus, although the bacon is a little underdone for my tastes and a little greasy. The attendant kept things clean and stocked, only behind during one big rush of diners.

We will be back and recommend this hotel to all who want a comfortable nights sleep. Oh, yeah, you can open the windows too, because they are fully screened, the HIE in Solvang has no screens at all on their windows.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms toward the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los molinos
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The front staff (ANdrew) was awesome! Howver the room was a bit below par. THere was no refrigerator and the TV hopelessly outdated.. However it was clean and smelled ok. WE always bring a folding play pen for our dogs as we dont want them to be on the carpet.. The outside of the hotel is always so pretty the inside needs to be up dated especially the 100 blck which is drab and opressive.. But IT IS PET FRIENDLY and we love that!! We are a Choice privilage member and while I loved the front staff the room sadly lacked...just needs some updating and we will continue to come back!!

Room Tip: stay away from the 100 block although it is quieter it is shabbier ..but still clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Buellton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Buellton

Address: 630 Avenue of the Flags, Buellton, CA 93427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Buellton 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weekly & Monthly rates available. Kitchen utensils available on limited basis at front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn Buellton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Buellton Hotel Buellton
Buellton Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Buellton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.