We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food for the Soule” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Soule Domain

The Soule Domain
9983 Cove St., Kings Beach, Brockway, CA 96143
530 546 7529
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Brockway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $42
Cuisines: French, Californian, Eclectic, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Food for the Soule”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

easy access location. Reservations recommended and table was ready when we arrived. Excellent atmosphere. Limited staff work well together and know the menu. Food presentation was very appealing. Portion sizes are more than adequate. Will keep this as our "Datenight " place to go in Tahoe

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    22
    5
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Our last visit was very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have eaten here before and have been intrigued with its atmosphere and food. So we took a good friend who has been to many great restaurants to show him a great local place. Unfortunately, our experience was not absolutely not great. There may have been some new employees there that did not understand the menu or the setting. Our waitress was friendly, but unprepared to provide a quality experience. Our drinks were slow, and the taking of our order took over 45 minutes. Then it took another 45 minutes from the time our salads arrived before our soup came, and then only because we called our waitress over to ask why we are not being served. She brought our soup at that time and apologized, but then brought our entry about 3 minutes later. Such service is unacceptable anywhere, and particularly at a restaurant that supposed to pride itself on food and service.
Bottom line is the atmosphere was good, the food was okay, but the service was very poor. We will have to search for a reason to come back and particularly ever bring guests again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie S, Owner at The Soule Domain, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Wow, I am so sorry for your bad experience at my restaurant and will post your review and discuss with staff, I agree that your meal should move along at a desirable pace and take full responsibility for poor service , we are trying to implement a more comprehensive management program to discuss inadequacies of this nature, thank you for bringing your experience to my attention, as disheartening as it is
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Superb food all-round.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were a group of six, and everyone was unanimous in declaring their meal delicious. The service was excellent...attentive but not intrusive. Would certainly go again when in the area. Impressive all round.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Possibly the freshest, most innovative cuisine around Lake Tahoe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It's a log cabin, alright! Don't let the location fool you, inside you will find some of the best food around Lake Tahoe.
It always is a good signs if most of the people you meet in line are locals.

If you are lucky, you'll get one of Steve's tables - one of the brothers owning the place. The menu features fresh and local variations and the daily specials add another layer of deliciousness.
You could easily go just by daily or personal recommendations and never go wrong.
Same goes for the wine list, which mainly focuses on food-friendly values with a strong Californian focus.
All dishes exhibit a refreshing fusion element with Asian inspirations. This all makes for subtle, complex flavours which nuance the qualities of the seasonal ingredients.

For food, this will henceforth be my number one choice around Lake Tahoe!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Wonderful dinner, amazing service and the food was divine!!! Thank you for a memorable date night!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Soule Domain also viewed

Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Crystal Bay, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 

Been to The Soule Domain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Soule Domain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.