We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cozy little campground” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Creek Settlement

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Virginia Creek Settlement to your Saves list
Virginia Creek Settlement
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   on Highway 395, H.C.R. 62 Box 1050, Bridgeport, CA 93517   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great cozy little campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is such a cute little campground. It has an old wild west feel to it with cabins, tent cabins and tent camping too. There is a creek running through the property perfect for relaxing or adventurous play. The campground has a bathroom and a coin operated shower and the usual fire pits, grills and pic nic tables. I stayed in a tent cabin which was such a great value and less hassle than a tent. The cabins have pretty comfy cot type beds and an electric light. It was the end of may and not super hot during the day so we were a little chilly sleeping in the tent cabins, but I am sure they are warmer during the summer. There is a restaurant on property that has a gluten free menu and the food is great! They will even make you a pizza and deliver it to your tent. Ok, so this isn't really roughing it, but it was great to not have to cook every meal over an open fire. I also love that the campground is so close to Bodie state park and Mono Lake, June Lake, Virginia Lakes, travertine hot springs and not too far to go to Mammoth for a day trip. The owners and the staff are super friendly and helpful, great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    51
    28
    6
    10
See reviews for
45
86
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here in May (2013) after spending a few hours in Bodie. The room and grounds were clean and well kept. I got to enjoy the patio sittiing area right outside our room, all while listening to the comforting sounds of the small stream/brook running in the back of the establishment. Please be aware that this hotel is 7 miles from the main street in Bridgeport, so if you don't want to eat at the restaurant at the hotel you will need to drive. Which brings me to the on-site resaturant...the food is amazing, service was great!

Room Tip: If you want to be able to sit out on the patio and enjoy the sound of the stream stay in Room 1 or 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The food is excellent, and so is the atmosphere. The people who work there are very friendly and will give the a blow-by-blow historical tour of the place.
Used to be an old Stage Stop.

My husband and I were there on NUMEROUS occasions.
We highly recommend it!

Good if you like spooks too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed in Virginia Creek Settlement only for one night in September. The reason for choosing this place was its location – it was the nearest place to Bodie and we wanted to visit the ghost town early in the morning. The suite we stayed in was nice and cozy, overall feeling strongly reminded us of European bed and breakfast places. In contrast, most decorations around the grounds were unmistakably American. The owners are friendly and informative, food is excellent, and I wouldn’t mind going there again in the future, maybe to try out sleeping in wagons! I regret not buying one of the carved wooden bears from the lobby... :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed in the room above the restaurant. It was small and had a private balcony. It had a shared bath and a cozy commons room w/ a small flat screen tv and refrigerator. Will the space was small it was very comfortable and clean. We had no neighbors to share the bath with and that might have made the difference. The bed was a little squishy, but the pillows were awesome! You can hear noise from the restaurant down stairs in the morning, but nothing to distracting. The owners were very friendly and welcoming, they even gave us directions to the local hot spring. The restaurant was only open for dinner, but the food was good and reasonably priced. We enjoyed our stay and would happily visit again! This is perfect for the couple who just wants a little, romantic, weekend getaway, not for the couple who wants a ritzy, amenity rich experience.

Room Tip: They do have cabins and lodging not connected to the restaurant, but the value is worth it to stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed three nights here - two in a self catering cabin and one in a motel-style room. The site is quite small but well located next to a stream (our cabin was right beside it) and attracts a good variety of wildlife.The cabin and room were nice in a rustic way, although any elaborate cooking in the cabin would be a bit challenging. Outside the cabins there's a BBQ area and space to relax by the stream. It's a shame, with all the wildlife around here, that there's nothing in the rooms or on the site to interpret it - in fact it looks like the owners are only interested in shooting things!

The restaurant in the main building serves a good variety of reasonable quality food including vegetarian and gluten-free options.

This must be the closet place to Bodie ghost town, to stay. The road to Bodie (a fascinating visit) is almost opposite the site and this drive, too, is great for wildlife. We saw our first Black Bear here and lots of birds including Common Poorwills on the road at night.

All-in-all a good relaxing place to stay for visiting a really nice area - not only Bodie, but Mono Lake and the east of Yosemite National Park.

Room Tip: I think some of the cabins are away from the stream, so ask for a steam-side one. there is no such o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This place is adorable. Nestled in the mountains, there is a beautiful creek on the property. The owners clearly take a great deal of pride in their establishment and have done everthing they can to make their rooms and property comfortable, cute and clean. The most important thing to know about this place is that the family who owns it, takes pride in their property and strive to make all their guests feel welcome and happy.

I have read reviews that complain about dust, lack of amenities, and expensive food. This is a motel and campground in the middle of the Sierras, there will be dust and nope there are not lots of amenities. If you are looking for a 4 star resort, this is not the place. Other reviews have said that the rooms are small and old, yep they are. This is an older motel so the rooms are a little small. But those small, older rooms are clean, cute and charming. There is very little cell reception but they do give you free wi-fi so you can stay connected. They also have more sattelite channels than I do at home. As for the food prices, most entrees are $16-$20. They come with bread, soup or salad, a generously portioned entree, and a very good quality ice cream for dessert. I don't consider that expensive at all but I guess if you are on a super strict budget it might be. It should also be noted that all the food is fresh and cooked to order. But most importantly the people who own this place make it a great place to stay.

As with all my reviews I rate the beds. In the motel room #1 there is some room for improvement. It should be noted that I am so picky about beds and bedding that it is rare for any hotel to meet my standards of bed perfection. The bed was very tall, I am 5'9" and had difficulty getting in and out of the bed. The bedding and sheets were nice and soft which is always a plus. The bed itself was a good semi-firm mattress. It would have been completely comfortable if the mattress didn't sag in the middle. I think the crossbeam on the bed frame needs to be repaired or replaced. The pillows, ughh...I had a hard time with the pillows. There was no loft, they were flat. All this being said, I stayed in a 4 star resort the night before I stayed here and the bed at the Settlement was more comfortable.

The room itself was super cute, there were two little easy chairs to watch tv in. There was also a patio with an amazing view of the mountains. There is no phone in the room but they do provide a phone for guests to use. It is outside and fairly convenient. The rooms are smallish but they are so cute it doesn't matter. The bathroom was pristine, completely spotless. The towels were very nice, I was actually surprised by how nice they were. Very soft and that is rare in any hotel. I do have to say that the coffee maker over the toilet did give me the impression of being unsanitary.

All in all, I really liked this place and recommend it to others. I think the complaints in some previous reviews are unrealistic. This is not a resort, it is a family place. You visit this place to enjoy the scenery, go fishing, relax and hang out. The Settlement provides the perfect setting for that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Virginia Creek Settlement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Creek Settlement

Address: on Highway 395, H.C.R. 62 Box 1050, Bridgeport, CA 93517
Location: United States > California > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Bridgeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Creek Settlement 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Virginia Creek Settlement reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Creek Settlement Hotel Bridgeport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Creek Settlement, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.