We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older motel, but well kept” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Maple Inn

Save Saved
You added Silver Maple Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Maple Inn
310 Main Street, Bridgeport, CA 93517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Bridgeport B&B and Inns
Oak Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Older motel, but well kept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I had a brief stay at this hotel. Yes, it is a 40's era hotel, but the owners have worked hard to try to update it. There was newer carpeting and the bed was good. Also, it was very clean and the grounds are green and filled with flowers. Beautiful! We enjoyed the ample continental breakfast in the Cain House.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erinn99, Owner at Silver Maple Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for the nice review! As everyone can see by the reviews, The Silver Maple is older, but well maintained. We have small bathrooms, but they are clean. We do not want to be just another "cookie-cutter" motel, we like our 30's charm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    38
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
13
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Silver Maple is old but clean and comfortable. I did, however, feel that it was over-priced for what it was. The room was small and stuffy (no air-conditioning), lighting was bad, there was only one night-stand/lamp for our king-size bed, and we were not warned that we would be awakened at 7:30 by heavy machinery operating in the alley outside the bathroom window. The "mountain views" we were promised were very far distant and hard to see through the trees and the buildings on the street beyond the motel's front lawn. The bathroom had barely enough room in which to swing a cat but it was spotlessly clean. The Continental breakfast was very good and offered a variety of healthy choices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't have a bathroom window facing onto the alley where heavy equipment s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Cute room. A little dated, but very clean and comfortable. Friendly staff, homey feel. A little pricey, but it was Memorial Day weekend. No air conditioning, but it was cold, we used the heater. Happy we stayed here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erinn99, Owner at Silver Maple Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for the review. Just one update, we have put air conditioning in some of the rooms - but as you noted, AC really isn't needed in Bridgeport - heaters are needed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The Silver Maple is good lodging in Bridgeport. The facilities are a bit dated but clean. They are pet friendly and many people take advantage of that fact. When I was there the animals in adjacent rooms were well behaved for the most part. One dog barked at me on my way out of the room. The major problem that I have with the Silver Maple rooms is that the bathrooms are small compared to the size of the rooms and they are awkwardly laid out. I am an averaged height male and my knees were hitting the wall in front if me when using the toilet. The bathroom also has a frosted window with no way to black it out. I would prefer a bit more privacy from the side walk just outside that window. Finally the shower would be large enough but the way they arranged a weird hump on the shower floor makes it hard to stand in the middle of the waters flow. It would have been such an easy fix.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erinn99, Owner at Silver Maple Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We know, our bathrooms are small. The Silver Maple was built in the 1930's when people were smaller. To change the lay out of the room would be very expensive and I don't know if we would be permitted due to the historic nature of the motel. And also, I think it is part of the charm of the Silver Maple. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A motel with more garden than parking lot. Set back back from the road.
I liked the fact that the motel does not have air-conditioners so one can breath in the fresh air and hear the sounds of the birds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erinn99, Owner at Silver Maple Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We love our courtyard area, it is so relaxing. And I love your comment about not having air conditioning. Not one house in Bridgeport, that I know of, has AC. We don't need it, we just open our windows when it gets warm. The hottest it gets here is in the low 90's and on those evenings, the low is in the low 50's. Bridgeport is a nice, small, and safe town that doesn't need the "big city" ammenities - but we just got broadband! And cell phones finally work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have stayed at this place a couple of times during the earlier owner. This was my first visit with the new owner. The place was same old and service was great. It's bit oldish, but everything is clean and great.

Only thing which wasn't ok was the wifi. I had almost the closest room to the office and couldn't get it working inside my room. I had to stay outside or go to the office.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erinn99, Owner at Silver Maple Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We fixed it!! Our wifi company did not let us know one of our boosters was out. We had it fixed about mid-September.

However, everyone in Bridgeport is very excited because the entire town will now be able to get cabled high speed internet coming this summer!! 21st Century here we come! And just maybe most of your cell phones will work without having to stand in Buster's Market parking lot!

Travelers must always remember there are areas in our Country where you are "forced" to truly get away from it all and your high tech gadgets will not work.

One more note on the ownership of the Silver Maple Inn, it has been in our family since 1988 - but we have had new managers - Amber Rickner is our new manager and she is doing a fabulous job with customer service. We know our motel is older (1930's) but we have always maintained it and it is very clean - just smallish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Can not imagine anyone complaining about this Motel.
It is what it is....Old, comfortable, and well maintained.
Spent three very enjoyable nights here and considering it is right on highway 395 it was very
quiet.
I can assure you I will return next year and the only thing I would like to see is a little better fishing.
Hope you enjoy as I did!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erinn99, Owner at Silver Maple Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for the review - we think our motel is a very nice place to stay and not "cookie-cutter". It has character!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Maple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Maple Inn

Address: 310 Main Street, Bridgeport, CA 93517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Family owned Silver Maple Inn and The Cain House Country Inn and Suites. We have welcomed guests for over 25 years to our Beautiful and Scenic Valley of Bridgeport, CA. We continue to pride ourselves on every guest experience being pleasant, enjoyable and memorable. As guests at our establishments, you will notice year after year we always keep up with the latest trends our guests expect from our Country Style Lodging. Come and experience the great outdoors here in one of Mono County's best kept secrets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Silver Maple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Maple Inn / The Cain House Country Hotel Bridgeport
Silver Maple Inn / The Cain House Country Inn And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Maple Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.