We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but not a lot of choices in town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Redwood Motel

Save Saved
You added Redwood Motel to your Saves list
Redwood Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Redwood Motel
425 Main Street (Hwy 395), Bridgeport, CA 93517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Bridgeport
Northern California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pricey, but not a lot of choices in town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Things just cost more in Bridgeport. Gas was $1.50/gallon more than anywhere else... and the AAA-discount price (before tax) for a small room with one bed at the Redwood Motel cost $109. The owner explained to us that he uses "demand pricing", so the price could be different at other times. Positives were that the room was clean, reasonably quiet, WiFi worked (the WiFi key appeared in at least 6 locations in the room, so no way to miss it), and there were lots of easily accessible outlets for charging cell phones, etc. The air conditioner was noisy, so we chose not to use it, but we opened the window a crack during the night and outside noise did not bother us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
10
19
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We asked to see a room and the owner gave us a key to look at a queen room. We checked the bed, bathroom and then turned on the airconditioner to be sure that it worked properly. After a few minutes, we realized that it was just blowing warn air and was not going to blow cold. At just that moment the owner came in angry and kicked us off of his property saying that he had never had anyone take 5 minutes to look at a room. All we could say to ourselves was, WOW do you believe this guy! He kicked us out for taking 5 minutes to check a room! We left the property and would not advise any of our friends to even consider staying here.. Why he was so angry, we don't know.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This was a nice little place that fit right into our plans to visit the ghost town in Bodie, Calif. After a long drive from L.A. to Bridgeport we were welcomed by Ed and his little greeter "Joey" Our room was small, but immaculate. It had everything we needed. The room had WI-FI, AIR CONDITIONING, a nice little bathroom, very clean. A nice in-room coffee maker (the four cup kind, not the frikken little 1 cup makers that ruin a trip), a fridge and a microwave. What else do you need? Ed was very helpful in directing us where to eat and all the points of interest. The rooms do have HBO and Premium Cable, Color TV with remote, but ONE NEGATIVE is that they TIED DOWN the remote control to the bedside nightstand!!!! Grrrrrr!!! This was a major bummer because it was very inconvenient when hubby fell asleep and I could not have the remote on my side of the bed. I mean, this is a teeny tiny town, but to BOLT and TIE DOWN the remote to the nightstand???? BIG NEGATIVE! Aside from that, if I were to ever pass thru that part of California again, I would DEFINATELY stay at the Redwood Motel again and surely recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Great location on Highway 395 in Bridgeport, you can't miss it, it's about the only show in town. Rooms are cheap, clean with everything you might need for a short rest stop. The surrounding scenery is stunning. It is a very short stroll away from the town, which is nothing more than a street really.

We had dinner in Rhinos Bar & Grill, food was really good and the homemade strawberry pie... wow! Shame it's so far away otherwise I'd be popping in there a lot!

About a 10 minute drive away is the Travertine hot springs which I really recommend going to, sitting it hot mineral springs looking out at snow capped mountains. One of the highlights of our trip. The old ghost town of Bodie is also nearby but due to snowy weather the road was still closed.

Fantastic little place on one of the most beautiful highways in the world, I loved it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

If you are looking for an out of the way place with amazing outdoor resources I highly recommend Bridgeport. It has world-class, yet uncrowded hiking, hot springs, funky fun shops and water holes. Need to be looking for that out of the way vibe though.

The Redwood Motel is clean, friendly and well located. Very basic, old, but does the job well. You don't want to spend much time in the rooms, but it is the perfect place to crash before or after you hit the local trail-heads.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Driving over the mountains from Lake Tahoe left me exhausted, so I checked in on a Monday afternoon. The handicapped room was available, so I paid $82. What a rip-off. No bathroom counter & a small shelf for a coffeemaker. Cheap showerhead. An overhead fan with an inadequate on/off chain (how would a handicapped person reach it?). Ants in the bathroom. The worse thing is that the motel is situated on Highway 395 on the north end of town & night-time truck traffic traffic makes sleeping impossible. Truck traffic was constant well past midnight. I couldn't get any shut-eye, so I packed up & left at 6:00AM The office was closed & did not offer morning coffee or donuts. The motels in this town are expensive. Lee Vining further south has better rates,

Room Tip: Take into consideration if the motel is next to a busy highway. Night truck traffic can deprive you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

From our terrible experience still fresh in our minds with the Walker River Lodge two years ago, we again stayed at the Redwood Motel. Ed and his pal Joey were very helpful and accomodating. The place could use a little TLC, but very comfortable and quiet. Our room had more than some other motels offered and Ed told us to feel free at getting ice for our ice chest. How cool was that! I highly recommed Redwood Motel as a stopover in Bridgeport.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Redwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Motel

Address: 425 Main Street (Hwy 395), Bridgeport, CA 93517
Location: United States > California > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Bridgeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Redwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwood Hotel Bridgeport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redwood Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.