We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great HIEx - clean,quiet, spacious” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Brentwood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Brentwood to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Brentwood
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8820 Brentwood Blvd, Brentwood, CA 94513   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brentwood
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Great HIEx - clean,quiet, spacious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Room was very quiet and appeared to be recently decorated. Stayed only for one night, checkin was very easy&friendly. Hotel was not crowded on the weekend. Outside pool. Liked the room with plenty of space, fridge, etc - nicely furnished and equippped. Breakfast typical Holiday Inn Express experience. The hotel is near shopping, in fact Brentwood seems to have quite a few outlet malls. Yes, would come back here.

PS: when booking on the priority club site, make sure to pick Northern CA, there is another Brentwood near Hollywood in Southern CA, at least 6 hours away...

Room Tip: requested quiet room and received one - seems that most rooms at this location are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brentwood, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear usuallyhappytravels,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are pleased that you were able to recognize the efforts that our team make to deliver a good experience for every guest. The team are the heart and soul of our of hotel so it’s very gratifying to see that they were able to demonstrate great hospitality.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Iam shocked with the negative reviews. We stayed here for 3 nights while traveling. The manager was very pleasant and gave outstanding recommendations for Frisco to include the BART and MUNI. Hotel was clean. Just remodeled. Breakfast was good and hot. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were on an overnight getaway celebrating our anniversary with a trip around the Sacramento River delta. Thinking we had booked a sure thing - HIE - we looked forward to a relaxing evening in the comfort of a clean, comfortable hotel room. We got a second floor room -- no problem for an elderly couple with baggage if the elevator worked. It didn't. We had to climb up an un-airconditioned stifling hot stairwell. Found a substandard room awaiting us. Hotel staff was decidedly unhelpful. We drove home that night rather than spend the night there. Forfeited the price unhappily but willingly. A disgusting experience.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brentwood, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear James W,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brentwood hotels

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I'm not sure where so many negative reviews are coming from. This is basically one of two hotels in the area and both are basic budget hotels. The rooms were spotless, the decor was nice and new and typical of the HIE. Even the carpet in the hallways was new. I did not smell anything offensive, and there was always a maintenance guy constantly cleaning doors and walls. It was way better than other reviews led me to believe. It seems to be a work in progress as there are a few minor things that need to be updated, but not really noticeable. The rooms are on the smaller side but nothing terrible. I paid $99 a night on the weekend so I wasn't expecting a 5star hotel and was pleasantly surprised. i stayed 3 nights with my husband and we were very comfortable. The walls are a bit thin, but other than a few doors slamming it was very quiet. With the air on you can hear a thing. The breakfast was decent with good coffee and a staff constantly refilling and cleaning. The staff were very nice. I would definitely stay here again...especially since the other hotel was more expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We spent two nights at this property in mid July.

The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. The hotel was something else however. The room was of the older variety, and not as spotless as you would expect of a HIE. The vanity area was outside of the bathroom, so an early riser interrupted the sleep of the sleepy head in the couple. The breakfast area was the smallest of any that we have experienced in a HIE, and had no a/c. It had to be at least 90 degrees in the room. That means people don't spend much time over breakfast, or eat much. Interestingly, the room was referred to as the "Great Room;" it was anything but "Great." The property also has no elevator, so be ready to schlep your belongings up some stairs. There was evidence that an elevator was being installed, but some friends that stayed in the hotel in January said the same project was in existence at that time. Can't believe it takes six months to install an elevator.

Ironically, I don't think there are any other hotels in the area. Without any competition they don't have to try very hard.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

This hotel must have been another hotel that Holiday Inn purchased because it didn't have the usual quality I am used to with Holiday Inn. The hotel felt very old and dark. Our room was satisfactory. The hotel staff was not as friendly as I would have liked and the elevator was broken which made it really inconvenient for a family with kids to get all of our stuff to our room. First floor rooms were unavailable during mid week. The breakfast that Holiday Inn offers in the morning was stale and felt like it was yesterdays breakfast left out for another day. It lacked a lot of the items that I am used to when I stay at these hotels. Our family travels for business and we always try to stay at Holiday Inn Express because they have so many family friendly amenities but I couldn't wait to check out of this particular hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Express Brentwood, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Slw5122,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. I would like to follow up with you and have sent you a private message to obtain additional information. I look forward to hearing back from you and being of further assistance.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

This is one of the worst motel's I have ever stay in. The hallways smelled terrible, the rooms are cheaply decorated, the walls are so thin that you can hear everything, and I mean everything, going on around you. There is a pool, but it's not heated so your kids will turn a nice shade of blue after 10 minutes. My wife and I where supposed to stay for two nights, after the first night, we packed it up and left. I have stayed at other Holiday Inn's without a problem, but this one should be re-modeled or closed.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Brentwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Brentwood

Address: 8820 Brentwood Blvd, Brentwood, CA 94513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Brentwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Brentwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brentwood Holiday Inn Express is doing renovation to our guest rooms and Express Start pantry. Guest will receive a coupon for breakfast each morning to a local café.Whether you re coming to Brentwood for business or just for fun, the Holiday Inn Express is your personal retreat. If you are a golfer, water sport or fishing enthusiast, we are the perfect choice for a visit to the Delta Region of the San Joaquin River. Enjoy unlimited options for fishing, boating & water sports, then return to our friendly hotel to relax! We are located just a few miles from Discovery Bay, Oakley and Antioch. We are within an hour s drive of Oakland, San Francisco, Sacramento, the Napa Valley & Livermore Wine Country. Start your day off right with our new Express Start Breakfast. After a day of fun and recreation, relax in one of our spacious rooms with free high speed Internet access to keep you connected and luxurious linens to make you feel at home. Take a dip in our refreshing outdoor pool or visit our convenient fitness center. Our friendly staff looks forward to welcoming you at the Holiday Inn Express Brentwood soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Brentwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Brentwood Hotel Brentwood
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Brentwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.