We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't have time to see everything!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glooscap Heritage Centre & Mi'kmaq Museum

Glooscap Heritage Centre & Mi'kmaq Museum
65 Treaty Trail, just off Hwy 102, Millbrook, Nova Scotia B2n 5n6, Canada
902.843.3496
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 attractions in Millbrook
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We didn't have time to see everything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our Caravan tour stopped long enough to get a wonderful presentation about this First Nation culture so we could understand how long these people have been here. We learned about their history and customs and oral traditions...fascinating!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Big One”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Unusual heritage site with a huge statue of Mi'kmaq right on the side of the highway - so you can' miss it. Has a great visitors centre where you can go to the Mi'kmaq museum (pay), the gift store or the tourist information. Friendly and helpful staff.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truro
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to visit with family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We brought our kids here a few times and are never disappointed. Make sure you stop by the gift shop- they have some excellent finds at reasonable prices

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fascinating Information on Micmac (Mi'kmaw) People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This relatively new cultural center is run BY the Mi'kmaw to provide information about their history and culture. Outside, a huge statue on Glooscap announces that you have arrived at the cultural center; you can see it from the highway. Part of the building houses a gift shop with authentic items made by the people. The other part is a museum. There is a 20-min. video in Mi'kmaw (with English translations) and English (with Mi'kmaw translations) on two screens at the side of the main one. The information is very interesting, and the story of the Mi'kmaw parallels in so many ways the story of Native Americans. There are interesting artifacts in the display cases and guides who are there to answer questions, though they seem to have other duties also and so may be a bit distracted at times. This is an excellent place to visit for a good history lesson presented in a fascinating mannter.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glooscap Heritage Centre & Mi'kmaq Museum also viewed

Been to Glooscap Heritage Centre & Mi'kmaq Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glooscap Heritage Centre & Mi'kmaq Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Glooscap Heritage Centre & Mi'kmaq Museum to your Saves list