We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay elsewhere!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borrego Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol
Save
You added Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol to your Saves list
610 Palm Canyon Drive, Borrego Springs, CA 92004   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Boise
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Stay elsewhere!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I normally find the TA's reviews right on target, but not this time. We stayed in the motel, and it is horribly neglected. Mattresses are very old and lumpy, several bulbs were burned out, and one of the others was a bare bulb with the shade missing. The heater was missing the knob to operate it, the toilet seat was not properly attached due to a broken bolt, the "furniture" consisted of a cheap plastic outdoor chair, there was mold throughout the bathroom, no headboards or footboards on the beds, the wall behind where the headboard would normally be was so sticky it was obviously the buildup of years of oily heads, the blankets were undersized, the bed sheets were so inadequate that you would find the bed in shambles every morning. The security chain was broken, the soap holder was missing, the toilet ran at random times, and we were awakened by maids who asked if we wanted service. When we said yes on the second day, they seemed disturbed, ......get the picture. Now for the good: Mike the manager is terrific, and we did get a newspaper delivered each morning. I should have heeded the warnings of our friends who live in Borrego. Lesson learned.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    31
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
46
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is a modest, old style motel (there are also separate cottages) of about 10 rooms where we spent one night on our way from San DIego to Temecula through the desert. The room came with good towels, soap, shampoo, and a coffee maker. The lighting was acceptable and there were space heaters for the cold morning. Wifi is available in the lobby and there is a Kendall's Cafe across the broad main street, which serves basic but adequate American fare. The motel takes one back to the 1950's.

Room Tip: Make sure you understand that you are getting a basic, old fashioned, motel room. Nothing special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Our frist time staying in Borrego Springs, and it will not be our last becuase of the hotel. When we arrived Mike greeted us with a smile and made us feel at home, his help with POI within walking distance made my wifes day. The duplex was great, quit and very clean, the kitchen was well supplied with the small things I always forget. My wife spent more time taking pictures of the wildlife on the hotels grounds than most any thing else. I highly recomend you stay with these folks and enjoy the simple things life can give.

The Bielman family

Room Tip: The odd numbered duplexs have a great view of the sun rise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We found the Hacienda del Sol simple, but very good - exactly what we were after. We stayed in a kitchenette unit which had plenty of space. Clean, bright, well organised, and an excellent base to explore the desert and the town. Well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, Hampshire
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Hacienda del Sol, with its iconic illuminated sign, is a a great place to stay for 1950s style. It's suitably dated but clean with characterful hosts. The shower defeated me and I needed help but, once I knew the secret, there was plenty of lovely hot water. No fridge but snag some ice for the cool box and your drinks will be perfect. Lots of good places to eat within a short walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I went back to the Hacienda for another visit...the pool has been redone, the driveway repaved and the rooms redecorated! A tree blew over in a big wind a few months ago, typical of the desert. Still a friendly and fun place to visit!

Room Tip: try a duplex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We decided on a whim to drive from Los Angeles out to Borrego Springs on a Saturday night. Mike welcomed us and left the light on and door open for us and gave us great directions to our duplex. We arrived at 12:30 am and he had left the a/c on for us so we arrived to a comfortable room.

We woke up to a gorgeous moonscape desert with little cottontail bunnies running all over the place. It was already 92 degrees at 9 am and we jumped into the perfectly clean pool. We had the place to ourselves, because the summer heat isn't for the faint of heart. There were a few other guests but they seemed to stay in their rooms. It felt like our own private pool.

We walked to the market and gas station next door for morning coffee. We crossed the road to the mall and got blueberry pancakes at Kendall's Cafe. Later on we had chicken enchiladas at Carmelita's (also across the street in the mall).

We are definitely coming back to this hotel ASAP. We felt relaxed and calm in our little oasis, an unusual and priceless feeling for us. The duplex room had a living room with sofa, a bedroom with king size bed, and a small kitchen and bathroom (shower only, new tile). Our 9 year old child slept comfortably on the sofa in the living room (we didn't check if it was a sofa bed, she just slept on the top with a blanket). The cottages looked nice and had patios with BBQ and fire pit, but they are better size for couples. The duplexes look better for families but don't have the same patio.

The only negatives were that the shower didn't drain very fast and started to pool up, but I probably should have just told Mike that rather than blabbing it on the internet. I'm sure they'll fix it. The room was otherwise perfect and clean in in good repair. And the shower was brand new, attractive glass tile. Also, the a/c was a bit loud, but given that the a/c is the only thing making conditions livable in the desert I am thankful to have it.

Room Tip: Duplex for family, cottage for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol

Address: 610 Palm Canyon Drive, Borrego Springs, CA 92004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Borrego Springs, within walking distance of a grocery store, restaurants and shops, the Hacienda del Sol, our family owned desert hotel awaits you. Cottages, duplexes, and motel rooms sit on our six-acre property. Full kitchens, fireplaces and private patios. Relax by our heated pool, or enjoy a BBQ in our lighted picnic area...complete with picnic tables, fireplace and Tiki Bar. Families welcome. Some pet friendly accommodations available for an additional charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boynton`s - Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Borrego Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.