We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, Zen-restoring luxury in the desert.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borrego Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Borrego Valley Inn to your Saves list
Borrego Valley Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   405 Palm Canyon Drive, Borrego Springs, CA 92004   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
ESCAPE 3 NTS. $459 PREPAY
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Peaceful, Zen-restoring luxury in the desert.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Our latest visit to our favorite inn. A haven for nature-lovers seeking some peace and semi-solitude. Gwenn and Rich, and their entire staff, are unfailingly warm and welcoming, and the property is gorgeous. Every experience we've ever had here has been superb. Breakfast is served year-round, and Borrego Springs offers great options for lunch and dining. Take advantage of the pools--even in winter, the heated spas are refreshing, particularly by starlight. If you're expecting to be entertained, as a traveler on another review site seems to have been, you're vacationing in the wrong town. But if you're looking for rest, a quiet place to read and think, or a luxurious base-camp for hiking, cycling, or nature-watching in the heart of unspoiled desert, you're in for a treat!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for visiting again and for taking the time to write and post your generous review. We aim to provide exactly what you describe, and we're thrilled to know you found your experience peaceful and restorative -- that's the gift of nature. It's always gratifying to see guests like you enjoying all that our serene desert environment has to offer (or not!), and we agree that making our own entertainment out here in the middle of nowhere is actually quite enriching.

We hope you were able to take some sun, peace, and Zen back to the chilly east coast with you, and we look forward to seeing you again. In the meantime, happy trails ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    25
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
236
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Strong trip advisor reviews led us to Borrego Valley Inn, mainly because we were interested in using it as a springboard to check out Anza Borrego NP. Honestly, I could have stayed another night it was sooo relaxing and well run. I didn't hear a single cell phone or ringing device the entire 48hrs we were there. The light changed on the mountains every 5-10minutes or so it seemed. Rooms have all the amenities one would expect in this price tier comfortable beds and climate control systems. Management hospitality excellent: they allowed us to use the pool after we had checked out and before we left to go home after hiking the oasis. Had never been to this area before, the anti-Palm Springs? (ie., less flashy and built up) I wandered around the market in town in search of what makes this town tick. They stocked everything from tchtokes to $12 cheese and organic produce a nod to locals and snowbirds alike. A community theater. A great place called Carlee's within walking where we ate fish tacos and drank margaritas. To be fair, we arrived Saturday at 5 pm and left 24 hrs later. But I could easily have stayed another night. The clothing optional pool was terrific. I would only add if you come to Borrego Springs it is not really a town with much "going on" as compared to other desert cities (pardon the cliché. I loved all of Jon Baitz's plays not just the ones that win Tonys) It is a great location for those interested in exploring the salton pan and hiking around or just hanging out.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thanks so much for finding us for your recent overnight getaway. It sounds like you did all the right exploring, but we agree, one day isn't enough to truly discover the amazing Anza-Borrego Desert State Park and the little gem of a town, Borrego Springs. Did you see our beautiful new Borrego Art Institute and the whimsical desert sculptures by Ricardo Breceda? There's a big Plein Air Art Festival in March, and this weekend the town is hosting the first Borrego Film Festival!

Like you, we first visited when we were long-time Angelenos, and it didn't take long for us to want to come back -- again and again! After more than a decade living here, we can report there's a lot to be discovered. We appreciate your visiting and your post, and we hope you come back for more! Until then, we wish you happy trails ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Rooms are very comfortable, staff is pleasant, breakfast is great (except they could keep the meat - I am vegetarian and a licensed nutritionist (Ph.D., LDN) and those few items with meat don't have to be there even for people who do eat dead animals... ) :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thanks so much for a) finding us; b) making the trip to visit; c) finding the Inn "wonderful;" and d) posting your review -- all most appreciated!

As you might imagine, we welcome diverse guests from around the world, all with different tastes and expectations. While Chef Pamela's Badlands Breakfast sometimes offers breakfast meats (happily :) enjoyed by many of our guests), there are always vegetarian choices on the table, and we can prepare gluten and dairy-free items as well. We like providing options for all of our guests to enjoy, whatever their particular preferences may be.

We hope you took some desert sun and warmth back east with you and that the trails ahead are happy ones!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We have stayed at the Borrego Valley Inn many times over the past seven years and always look
forward to returning again. The Inn is beautifully designed and meticulously maintained.The rooms are lovely, comfortable, and all have their own private patio.The staff is genuinely glad to welcome you and the breakfasts are gourmet quality. This is the place to go for a relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Your words, coming from a long-time and frequent guest, mean so very much to us. Thank you for finding the Inn a special place for your "LA Getaways." We always enjoy welcoming you, and we love to see your obvious enjoyment of what is (and isn't) here. For us, that makes it all worthwhile!

Thanks again for being such a loyal visitor and for your post. We wish you the best of 2014 and lots of happy miles under your boots!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were returning guests at the Inn, returning from 5,500 miles away in the UK. After a couple of weeks of frenetic family activity and traffic-packed freeways near the coast the Inn provides a wonderful rest cure. Our room was just as comfortable and thoughtfully designed as last time, the breakfasts were superb and the staff always courteous and efficient. In this beautiful place you can stroll or sit in the gardens, gaze at the mountains, scan the skies for stars and planets - and luxuriate in outdoor pools. To swim and float outdoors in December in a breath-taking setting is an enormous privilege, remembered from 2012, repeated in 2013! During our stay we spent two days with Joe of California Overland Desert Excursions. In his yellow jeep we had our own personalised guided tours of the Anza-Borrego Desert. If you want superb accommodation in a truly stunning desert setting this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Ours was room 15, right at the end on the right, with mountain views from the private back patio and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
It sure sounds like you made the very most of your "escape" from too much activity, and we're very happy that you returned to the Inn for a good dose of nature -- a fitting "rest cure," we agree. And how special that you booked California Overland for the authentic desert experience! We've been out with the Overland team for many a memorable excursion. It's such a pleasure to sit back, relax, and let the pros take care of the details (like getting to secret desert places that few can). Thank you for coming back and for your generous review. We hope you took plenty of beautiful desert memories back with you and that we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is our second stay at the BVI and just like the first stay, it did not disappoint. From the moment that you drive onto the property, you feel a sense of balance. The BVI only has 15 rooms which depending on the time of day, makes you feel like you are the only one on the property. The staff is welcoming and helpful when you have questions. The breakfast served on site is fresh and flavorful and is a great way to start your day. During both stays, we were on the mountain side of the property and enjoyed the view while we sat on our private patio. The beds are super comfortable and the showers are fabulous after a day of hiking or after any type activity. We will be going back soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
You remind us of us -- we actually did stay again, and again, and again. . . until we bought the place! We're beyond pleased that you find the Inn the kind of place you want to keep visiting and that you enjoyed Chef Pamela's breakfast creations -- we agree her Badlands Breakfast is a great start to the day. Thank you for visiting (again) and for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to seeing you -- again! In the meantime, happy trails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in Dec. Wish we had had time to spend a few more. Expensive but not excessively so. Charming room, lovely sense of seclusion, well laid out property, delicious breakfast and helpful staff. A great place to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We're so happy you found the inn a comfortable place to unwind and relax -- and we agree, the benefits grow with a longer stay to soak it all in. You captured what we strive to provide for our guests -- comfort, privacy, a delicious breakfast, and helpful staff. Thank you for visiting us and for your thoughtful post. We hope to see you again another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Borrego Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borrego Valley Inn

Address: 405 Palm Canyon Drive, Borrego Springs, CA 92004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Borrego Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premium Desert Inn with rustic southwestern elegance in the middle of the Anza-Borrego Desert State Park(R). A refuge, not a resort, offering casual comforts in a desert wilderness. Located in the heart of the village of Borrego Springs. Serene gardens, pristine desert surroundings, 15 peaceful rooms, private sun/star patios, two pools and hot tubs, delicious breakfast... Your place in California's Secret Desert™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Borrego Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrego Valley Hotel Borrego Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borrego Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.