We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borrego Valley Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Borrego Valley Inn to your Saves list
Borrego Valley Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   405 Palm Canyon Drive, Borrego Springs, CA 92004   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join ABF Get 1 Free Night
Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“First Class Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This place is pure luxury. Absolutely beautiful buildings, furnishings and setting. It was heavenly. Expensive finish to everything there. Very nice, helpful staff and owner. Fires in the rooms, afternoon freshly baked cookies. Fabulous home made breakfast. The area is stunning. We took a walk one morning straight out the back of the inn, straight up into the hills and walked the tracks. The slot canyon walk was only 10 mins drive away and was a super walk. One of the staff recommended a great Mexican in town for supper and we had lunch at Kendall's diner. Loved the fact there are no big chain stores in town and very low lighting. Borrego Springs is very much a best kept secret!

Room Tip: All the rooms are much the same. One row are nearer to the clothes optional pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Your generous post is very much appreciated -- thanks so much for visiting. From your description, it sounds like you truly captured the essence of a visit here. Days spent on any one of hundreds of hiking trails where you see few, if any, other people. . . .and then a return to the creature comforts of small town life, including some pretty good dining options and getting lost in dark, starry skies. We agree -- Borrego Springs is definitely a "secret," and we're thrilled you're in on it! Thanks again for trying the Inn, and we wish you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    22
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
212
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Everything about Borrego Valley Inn is tops if you are looking for peace and quiet with gorgeous rooms and a beautiful location in the desert. We used the pools and jacuzzi every evening, watching the sun set over the mountains and the stars come out - we thought we were in heaven :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
How very pleased we are to know you found your stay at the Inn peaceful and quiet. It's great you discovered the particular joys of "sunset to starlight" in the hot tub -- one of our favorite winter experiences, too! Thank you for finding us and for taking the time to post your review. We hope that 2014 is full of all the best for you and yours and that we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Another relaxing, quiet, easy, classy visit at the Inn. Welcoming and helpful staff, lots of information about local hikes, art, history. Rooms are classy, great new towels, southwest architecture and furnishings, individual walled patios w/ lounge chairs. Enjoyed the hot tub several times each day, sunrise with colors on the mountains, afternoon reading in the courtyard, and evenings with full moon and quiet. We're bicyclists, and the roads and routes have little traffic, and no stoplights! We've enjoyed 6-8 stays at the Inn, three times for Christmas. Our first visit was with owners Don and Mary many years ago, coincidentally on the day of the first LATimes article about the Inn! Anne and Dave, San Diego

Room Tip: For winter stays, rooms on the south side have morning sun in the windows, view of sunrise colors on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you so very much for your post and for being such loyal repeat guests! We couldn't be happier to know you enjoyed your most recent stay, and your descriptions of your visit sound perfect -- and exactly what we aim to provide. It's funny you mention the original owners, Don and Mary, and the LA Times review when the Inn first opened, nearly 15 years ago. It was that review that caught our interest, too, and we became very happy regular visitors as a result. We feel very fortunate that Francisco and Luisa -- Don and Mary's first employees -- are still a very valued part of the team. Thanks again for coming back, and we wish you the very best in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This small, intimate inn welcomed us with every comfort and convenience in this oasis in Anza -Borrego desert, and is only 2 hours drive from San Diego or Palm Springs.Our rooms (we have visited twice) were beautifully decorated in southwest style and the breakfasts were healthy and delicious. (I need to request those recipes!) The town location offers a choice of nearby restaurants (Carmelita's is our favourite) and information on park trails and activities, but the grounds of the inn are quite private and removed from other structures. The star-gazing on a clear night was amazing, the Milky Way in all its glory in the dark sky. On a hot day the pools provided a refreshing break before our next adventure. Can't wait to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichCaldwell, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thanks for coming back to stay with us -- we're glad you got a good look at the Milky Way this time. I actually never knew stars come in different colors until seeing the night sky here in Borrego Springs -- amazing... Thanks for your observations about our breakfast -- we'll be happy to share recipes anytime -- just drop us an email and tell us what dish you want to know more about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My husband and I visited Borrego Springs over Thanksgiving and had a wonderful stay at Borrego Valley Inn. We found the Inn quite charming and loved the breakfasts, which included fresh fruit, nut breads, scones, yogurt parfaits, warm tarts and sausage. The stars and the sunrises were breathtaking. We were not disappointed.

Room Tip: We picked Room 10 for the early morning sun on the mountains. I think that wing definitely has the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichCaldwell, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
It was nice to have you with us over Thanksgiving. Many of our guests have made Thanksgiving at the Inn into a tradition, and also at Christmas time and the New Year. It's pleasing to see our many friends come back to visit at the holidays. And thanks for sharing your thoughts on our breakfast -- chef Pamela and Luisa work hard to come up with fresh and different items for each day of your stay, and they are always happy to learn you like what they do. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights as part of a week-long hiking / relaxation vacation to the area. For the price, we were underwhelmed by this property. We were expecting a really posh getaway ... not exactly.

First letdown was the location. The photos of the place online make it seem like it's out in the middle of the desert, all by itself [we were told the owner was a former film cameraman]. This is not the case. It's right off of a main road, surrounded by trailer parks. We could hear barking dogs from the neighbors all night, and the lights from the surrounding community kind of spoiled the solitude and 'dark sky' feel they advertise.

The rooms, while well decorated and cozy, were small and borderline shabby. What they call a kitchenette is a sink, mini fridge, and microwave. Think wet bar, not kitchen. We were planning on being able to cook our own meals, but that wasn't feasible.

The front desk staff ranged from strange and inappropriate to flat-out rude. The woman who greeted us on check-in was really pushy, wanting to talk endlessly while we just wanted to settle in. During her monologue, she actually asked us if we wanted to buy the place! We hadn't even seen our room yet, and she was talking about the owners needing to sell the place and how she wanted to keep her job. So inappropriate! On check-out, we informed the front desk person [different woman] that we would like to eat our lunch on the patio and have a final dip in the pool before we left. She flat-out denied us - saying that we had to leave as soon as we checked out. We were talking about another hour on the property, tops - in the middle of the afternoon - not a big deal. That was the final straw. They sent us on our way with a bad taste in our mouths - exactly what not to do in the hospitality industry.

Besides the service, much of our disappointment, admittedly, had to do with our expectations - and this place not living up to them. We stay at a lot of nice hotels, and this place was not, in my opinion, worth $200 a night.

[Update: The owner saw my Tripadvisor review and called to apologize profusely and sincerely - and to offer to make it up to us. He said he really appreciated my review and that it was going to help him address some service issues. I was impressed at his attitude and at the gesture.]

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichCaldwell, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to thoughtfully review and report on your experiences during your stay with us. I appreciate the consideration you have shown us by crafting a clear and detailed description of how and where your experiences with us fell short of your expectations and hopes. Your review is extremely helpful – it shows us exactly where we clearly broke some of our own internal rules for caring for our guests.

Our policy is to make all visitors feel welcome before, during, and after their stay with us. Your request to linger by the pool after you checked out should have been met with "of course -- do you need a pool towel?" We regret that we failed to clearly invite you to stay and use the pool area after checking out, as we would and should have done.

Our policy is to assist our guests and stay out of their way. To meet their needs, not impose our needs upon them. In keeping you from "settling in" at checkin by having more conversation with you than you wished to have, our guest host failed to listen to you and meet your need to get to your room and be left alone. We sincerely apologize for this imposition upon you, and regret that your stay with us began in this way.

We also make it our policy to underpromise and overdeliver, so we are particularly sad that your experience of our website, location, and rooms was the opposite of that. We are proud of our website, having created it ourselves -- though I have no professional experience with either photography or web design. We usually hear from new guests that "your website just doesn't do this place justice". Regardless, we acknowledge that you feel otherwise, and take your observations to heart.

We all sincerely regret that your stay with us took away from your travels, rather than adding to them.
If you are ever in our area again, I hope you will consider giving us another chance. Thanks again for the valuable information you have provided to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The rooms were simple but elegant; upscale Southwestern decor. Breakfast was much more than a normal continental; innovative and well-make. Kay, who was at the desk, was helpful in recommending hikes, restaurants, etc. Borrego Springs is a beautiful little town that's perfect for hikers and nature lovers. There's also a very nice pool, so it would work for those who want to lounge by the pool, too. When we left, I stupidly forgot my cell phone charger. I mentally kicked myself and bought a new one when we got to our next destination, but when we got home a week later, there was a package waiting in the mail. I was very impressed that they had taken the time and postage to return the charger to me by mail. Thanks. Borrego Valley Inn!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichCaldwell, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We're glad to know you received your charger O.K. We always imagine that items left behind by our guests reflect an unconscious desire not to leave, so we take it as a compliment. But we know you'll want them back! Thanks for reporting that you found our guest hosts helpful -- we're called on for information on lots of different things, and we do our best to assist. Thanks again for your report, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borrego Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borrego Valley Inn

Address: 405 Palm Canyon Drive, Borrego Springs, CA 92004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Borrego Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
tranquility • serenity • peace • rest • abundancePremium Desert Inn with rustic southwestern elegance in the middle of the Anza-Borrego Desert State Park®. Serene gardens, pristine desert surroundings, 15 peaceful rooms, private sun/star patios, two pools and hot tubs, delicious breakfast...Your place in Califonria's Secret Desert™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Borrego Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrego Valley Hotel Borrego Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borrego Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.