We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate desert oasis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borrego Valley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borrego Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borrego Valley Inn
405 Palm Canyon Drive, Borrego Springs, CA 92004   |  
Hotel amenities
Pacific Palisades
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Immaculate desert oasis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We went to Borrego Springs to experience the hiking trails there and saw Borrego Valley Inn in a Sunset Mag article, so I booked a room there. When we got to town and pulled into their driveway, I thought "This is it?"" But that feeling changed as soon as we walked into the courtyard. Groomed grounds, lovely garden accents, huge courtyard. And the rooms are spotless, roomy, super quiet. In the summer, they leave you a breakfast basket in your in-room refrigerator. (I guess in high season there is a full breakfast buffet.) Fresh GOOD coffee brewed early every morning on the patio by the front desk area. Two pool/jacuzzis (one is kind of a surprise . . . ). The rooms are not cheap, but it was everything we wanted: quiet, clean, great stargazing from our private backyard patio, lovely morning coffee on the veranda, afternoon cool off in the pool.

We will go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
You were the brave one, venturing out here in triple-digit heat ready to explore -- thank you for that! Your "This is it?" reaction brings a smile -- we're used to people sailing right by because the Inn hides in the landscape and appears so unassuming. You got the "AHA" -- and thanks for noticing the details (we love good coffee, too!) Our "in town" location means that, in milder weather, many guests enjoy a nice stroll to local shopping and dining. We note that you rated "sleep quality" as "average." We'd like to know about what might have disturbed your sleep. If you're willing, please send us an email at improvements@borregovalleyinn.com to tell us more. In the meantime, we hope you can find time for an "in season" visit -- the temps are perfect for hiking, and our breakfast and afternoon cookies are nice treats. Hope to see you back soon, and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    21
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
195
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Big Sur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Staying for awhile in this special inn is something I will savor for a long time. It is so pleasant aned unique. The setting is spectacular, next to Anza Borrego state park, in view of some of our planets most delicious scenery. And the Borrego Valley Inn is nicely nesstled in it all - with an architectual statement of its own. You feel like you are in the best of Mexico and America's Southwest. Peaceful while stimulating your senses. Elegant while unpretentuous. Comfy wile exciting. You don't want to leave. A local road runner seens to think so too - it hangs out at one of the pools with aplomb. Am eagerly looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Love that word "savory," what a delicious description! As you come from some very spectacular scenery yourself (Big Sur is one of our favorite get-aways), we doubly appreciate your perspective, and we're so happy your stay at the Inn is one you'll remember. Come back soon to experience the new patio renovation, new breakfast menu (starting 9/29), and that ridiculously appealing little roadrunner who seems to have adopted all of us. I actually had to shoo him away the other morning -- he looked like he was ready to just march in the back door with me! Thanks for visiting and for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just spent the weekend at this wonderful inn with my boyfriend. The staff is exceptional! The property is serene, beautiful, quiet. Our room (#5 - Claret Cup) was perfect. We were able to go right out the patio gate to the clothing optional pool - mere steps away. We had the pool all to ourselves for the entire weekend. The weather was hot. The pool was cool. The star gazing was awe inspiring! We drove out to see the Galleta Meadows sculptures very early one morning. They are quite amazing. We are already looking at our calendar for a return trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Sounds like you get an "A+" in summer desert enjoyment (it's not for everybody, but for those who appreciate melting the stress out of the bones and quiet dark skies, it can't be beat). You got it all right -- cool pools, star-gazing, and early morning sight-seeing -- aren't those sculptures wild and whimsical? We are so happy to know you enjoyed a great interlude with your sweetie. These kind of moments keep us sane, and we're thrilled you found the summer desert the place to relax and renew. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We only stayed one night this time, it was our first visit. It seemed like we had the whole place to ourselves,we only met one other visitor. We loved the desert air, especially the night air. The amenities were top notch, everything was provided, the bed was comfy and the pool was refreshing. The service was excellent and above our expectations. We will be back ASAP!
Thank you sincerely,
Al and Christine Overley
stayed Sept 9/10 , 2012

Room Tip: they are all good i suspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks so much for visiting. You're right -- the desert night air is fresh and balmy this time of year, and after one night you're just starting to unwind a bit. Give it a couple of days, and you're a new person! We hope you have that chance some time. Thanks, too, for your kind words. Hearing we've exceeded expectations is truly music to our ears, because that's what we're here to do. We hope to see you for a longer stay next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Being a return guest at this amazing Inn, it is so wonderful to see the changes the owners are making. What I truly love is their care to the guests needs and are always willing to listen to the guests if they give any input into how they can improve. An example of this is that one preview made a note about the sandy patio areas, what they are doing now is putting flagstones in so one does not bring sand or grit into their rooms. I must add here that it is in the desert and one would expect some sand. However this shows they take on board what people write. This is my favourite place of all time. Every time we come to California we try to visit this oasis in the desert. Even in the sizzling summer it is delightful. All the staff are truly amazing, Leslie is a gift, she is so helpful and friendly. Francisco keeps the garden and pool areas spotless and clean. Luisa keeps the rooms perfect with the help of others and the owners Rich and Gwenn are the backbone to all at this Inn, without them this place would be very different. They choose staff which complements the Inn. What I am looking forward to is the newest member who will be putting her input into the delightful breakfasts. This place goes from strength to strength and it is always a pleasure to write a review on this Inn, as I feel everyone who visits this area must try it out. The cost is also amazing, for value for money you get excellent service, peace and tranquility, wonderful views, healthy and a hearty breakfast, coffee and cold drinks throughout the day, cookies in the pm in the winter months, two pools and two jacuzzis, private patio, free wifi etc. you certainly could not get all of this for the price in the U.K. I really appreciate all the owners have done and cannot wait for our return. This is a 5 star place.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Coming from a world traveler, your words are especially meaningful to us. You can't imagine how much we appreciate your thoughts and generosity, and we strive to continue earning your praise. Guests like you make what we do (for going on seven years now!) meaningful and enjoyable. Thank you so very very much. We look forward to your return -- by then, the patios will be completely finished, and we'll be happily serving our new breakfast menu. We hope you'll like it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I was impressed to see on their website that most of their guests are return guests and now I plan to join their ranks. This place is just amazingly beautiful and very luxurious right in the middle of the desert. We went in August and took advantage of the Sizzle special for a great deal. It is so peaceful and lovely. We were hoping for great starry skies, but the wildfires had put out too much smoke. It didn't matter in the end-we really enjoyed out stay. Spent a lot of time in the pool!

The room was beautiful and super quiet. We appreciated the wine opener and the free wifi. The little patio area was great-nice to have a little private area outside and they are putting in flagstones to make them even nicer. The owners were extremely helpful with directions and advice about things to see and do. Loved the breakfast baskets.

I will definitely keep this place in mind for a winter getaway!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Yes, after visiting in summer, you're sure to enjoy a "winter get-away," so do come on back! We're sorry your visit coincided with the area wildfires -- it was another intense example of nature being in charge. But the skies have cleared, and we're confident that you'll be amazed by the starry skies on your next visit . We'll have those patio improvements complete, too (the crews were laying flagstone today!), and you'll get to experience our breakfast service and afternoon cookies -- something to look forward to. Thank you so much for making the trip to the summer desert and for your review. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Zen like quiet and gorgeous desert colors and sky. Bordering next to 680,000 vast acres of the Anza Borrego desert, this patch of tranquility soothes the soul and gives time to center yourself amidst the comfort of this stylish, cozy family-run Borrego Valley Inn. The owners offer old-fashioned hospitality and relaxation. Kathy is so gracious and welcoming. The rooms are spotless and the ample breakfast basket was a very nice touch prepared by hand and stored in the overnight refrigerator in my room. A great deal of thought has gone into how to prepare for a guest visit including the air conditioning and quality bath amenities. I enjoyed the privacy and quiet for reading and star gazing with my iPhone apps and enjoyed learning more about the constellations. It is truly a good place to unplug from our busy, hyper-paced lives coming from Southern California. Yes, Virginia you can "chill" in the desert and this is just the place. I am definitely coming back. Delicious Mexican and French food are available five minutes into town if case you have the urge to dine out. A Bird aviary and wide assortment of colorful desert vegetation add a holistic, well planned environment to explore on the property grounds. Very well done!!

Room Tip: Pick one near the swimming pools in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful post -- we're thrilled to know you found your experience at the Inn to be what you needed, and we so appreciate your noticing the details. Your response is what keeps us going -- because we love the place for the same reasons you do. When you visit again, you'll notice a big improvement in the outdoor patios, which will feature flagstone and new pots and plantings -- no more feet directly in the sand! So your private outdoor space will be even more comfortable and inviting. We look forward to welcoming you back, and thanks again for capturing the essence of the place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borrego Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borrego Valley Inn

Address: 405 Palm Canyon Drive, Borrego Springs, CA 92004
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
tranquility • serenity • peace • rest • abundancePremium Desert Inn with rustic southwestern elegance in the middle of the Anza-Borrego Desert State Park®. Serene gardens, pristine desert surroundings, 15 peaceful rooms, private sun/star patios, two pools and hot tubs, delicious breakfast...Your place in Califonria's Secret Desert™ ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borrego Valley Hotel Borrego Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borrego Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Borrego Valley Inn to your Saves list