We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good desert value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Borrego Springs Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Borrego Springs Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borrego Springs Resort & Spa
1112 Tilting T Drive, Borrego Springs, CA 92004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$79 Summer Madness Rate
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Borrego Springs
Clearwater, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good desert value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We only stayed one night. The hotel was at low occupancy, so it was quiet and the room was fine. The hotel owned Arches Restaurant across the street was good. We are from out of state so the last time we were in Borrego Springs was in the 80's. The town and surrounding hotels seemed better then. The economy appears to have hit hard here. No more Hotel Del Zoro or club house at the Montessoro Golf Resort (formerly Rams Hill). It's still a great area, but not much going on.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    57
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
20
76
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montréal
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Price adequate at this season (june)
Service is very friendly - we were upgraded to a suite.
The suite was quite comfortable but the kitchenette is not equipped except for a coffee machine, a microwave and a mini-fridge. If you want to make your meal, bring your own stock (no dishes, no silverware). 2 larges new flat screens but the rest of the furniture are old and dated.
However, the bed was very comfortable with tons of pillows and a fluffy duvet.
Large patio with a view to the pool (open until 11pm) and on the nice landscaping
The WIFI is available in the room and free of charge.
Definitively the nicest hotel in Borrego Springs lodgings – Remember that you're in the middle of the desert if not in the middle of nowhere !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

Not much to choose from in Borrego Springs. Personally,It wasn't a resort. Not a lot to offer. A resort pool in the desert should be big and inviting. This one was not. The food at the restaurant over price and over rated. Front desk wasn't welcoming.If you are going to have coffee in the lobby have it fresh and hot at check in. it was like cold mud.
The rooms ok. The living room had office like furniture. no light over bathroom mirror. The bedroom inviting with nice linens.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

I guess it depends on your definition of luxury, but we really liked this place. Quiet, comfortable, friendly. Close to town and various hiking spots. Town is kind of funky, and slightly wierd, but people are friendly enough. Karlee's is definitely the place to hang out and get a bite.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

An oasis in the desert that fits Borrego Springs. Not a luxury resort, but first class in the comfort value and friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. They try to be very accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We stayed here 2 nights using the Wildflowers package rate (included box lunches, a book and wildflower map). The rooms are much improved from my stay here several years ago. Good linens, down comforters, foam mattress pads, pink grapefruit bathroom amenities, flat panel TVs - plus the whole place has been painted, the lobby refreshed, etc. Free wireless internet is advertised -- the signal kept dropping out and the connection speed is variable. Another minor frustration is the hangers in the closet with the stupid clips that keep coming apart and falling off the rod. Not sure why "upscale" places can't just use hangers that you don't have to fight with.
The restaurant (Arches) is a very pleasant place to have breakfast -- either in the dining room or on the patio with a great view over the golf course to the mountains. Service is very friendly (if slow due to understaffing). Menu is standard; food quality good. We were here for drinks and also for a dinner - same comment about service and food. Very friendly service, but understaffed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

We spent 5 nights here and enjoyed it. We spent most of our timeduring the days out in the park enjoying the wild flowers- not quite as abundant as other years but still beautiful. This was the first time we stayed here. We particularly enjoyed the pool which is large, well maintained and warm. There is a nice spa too. The rooms are large and well furnished but for 2 quirks: the balconies have little iron chairs and a tiny table- the chairs are terribly uncomfortable so we ended up eating inside. The rooms have a fridge, microwave and coffee pot but not one dish or utensil. We asked for some at the desk and nothing appeared. We finally got the waitress at the restaurant to take pity on us and give us a few paper plates and plastic forks. The restaurant is pretty good though as others have mentioned it looks very old style country club- not our taste. Prices are reasonable and the salads are large and good.
Make sure to ask for a room far away from the ice machine. our room on the 2nd floor was right above it and the noise was annoying. Probably one of the best things are the very comfortable beds with excellent quality linens.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borrego Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borrego Springs Resort & Spa

Address: 1112 Tilting T Drive, Borrego Springs, CA 92004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Borrego Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**NEVER A RESORT FEE**Restaurant and Spa now open 7 days a week. Golf will re-open November 15, 2013 Rest and relaxation await you at Borrego Springs Resort & Spa. With 100 newly remodeled guestrooms, a 18-hole pristine championship golf course, 6 lighted tennis courts, a restaurant and lounge, banquet and conference facilities and services, a business center, free Wi-Fi and breathtaking views of the Santa Rosa Mountains. Also enjoy our new Spa Serenity for all of your spa needs, and enjoy a true resort experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Borrego Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrego Springs Hotel Borrego Springs
Borrego Springs Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borrego Springs Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.