We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Borrego Springs Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Borrego Springs Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Borrego Springs Resort & Spa
1112 Tilting T Drive, Borrego Springs, CA 92004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Borrego Springs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beware!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed here for two nights. Fortunately I didn't spend much time at the resort. The room is superficially clean. That is to say when you spend some time in the room you start to notice that it really was not. The ceiling fan blades were caked in dirt, underneath the shower handles was a thick colony of black mold. I believe that vacuuming and a superficial dusting is the most this room has had in a very long time. At check out beware, I was handed a receipt for the price of my room and a zero balance only to discover that they actually charged me $55.00 more. When I called they explained they have some policy of doing that to make sure there is enough funds. Makes no sense to me, why do I need more funds than the billed amount. I was told that the extra money should be credited back to my account in 5 - 7 business days. I used a credit card, not a debit card where they explain that policy at booking. I don't know how credit cards pay but it seems to me they are billing unauthorized funds, using the money 5 - 7 days for free at my expense. I do not appreciate this form of business and most likely will not be staying here ever again.

The food at the golf club bar is awful, thankfully it was cheap. The service there was the worst. The guy was watching a soccer game and I had to get up several times to ask for things I wanted, including to get and pay my bill.

On the plus side, there were plenty of towels, the bed was comfortable and the biggest plus of all was the air conditioner worked very well keeping the room cool even though the outside temps were in the triple digits.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borregosprings, General Manager at Borrego Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear llee,

On a positive note the rooms are nice and cool in the summer heat. I appreciate all of your input especially on the cleanliness of our rooms. We take great pride in providing an exceptional experience for all. It is disappointing when we fall short and for that I personally apologize.

Sincerely,

John Yzaguirre
jyzaguirre@borregospringsresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    61
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
21
77
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed one night initially and then stayed a further two. Very well appointed resort with nice rooms and facilities. Great pool and hot tub for nights under the stars. Staff are nice and the whole place has a cared for vibe. The restaurant and bar near the golf course is one of the best places to sit and take in the sunset. Prices are all very reasonable given this is probably the best place in Borrego. Was very impressed and look forward to staying here again - this time for longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borregosprings, General Manager at Borrego Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dover6Juliet,

WOW! I just love hearing that our guests enjoyed their stay. We truly appreciate your review and hope you come back and see us again soon.

Many Thanks,

John Yzaguirre
jyzaguirre@borregospringsresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Borrego Springs Resort is associated with a golf course on the property, and so many who come here are golfers. My wife and I are not; we were just vacationing in the Anza Borrego State Park area. We found this a good choice. Spacious, clean, comfortable room. All the expected amenities - wireless internet, refrigerator, microwave, coffee, iron & board, hair dryer, etc. Staff was friendly and helpful.

It's true there is no "continental breakfast", but with a fridge, microwave, and coffee, a trip the day before to the store for some breakfast items pretty much takes care of that. Besides, hotels with continental breakfast are hard or impossible to find in Borrego Springs. A plus is that the Arches restaurant, one of the best in town, is on the property and easy walking distance from the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borregosprings, General Manager at Borrego Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear RJay4,

Your review was kind and for that we appreciate your input. We sure hope to see you back again soon.

Thank you so much for the kind review.

John Yzaguirre
jyzaguirre@borregospringsresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The room was great. We had a king suite and we loved it. There was a little kitchen area in there, with sink, refrigerator and microwave. Lots of cupboard space. The bed was super comfortable. The balcony looked out over the pool. Very nice. But now for the bad news. We came there to relax and get away from the city. Well they had these Deejays at the pool, playing VERY loud rap music all day long with the bass turned way up. It was awful. They were supposed to stop at 6pm but they didn't. When they called to complain, they did offer to switch rooms for us. But we didn't want to do that, as we were already unpacked and settled in. Besides, the issue was that we wanted to relax at the pool. We couldn't do that. When we went to dinner, we discovered another pool that was very quiet. We asked out server about it and we were told that it was part of the Serenity Spa. So the next day was asked if we could lay by that pool instead and they said yes. So we spent the day in there and it was heaven! Such a huge difference. It as quiet and peaceful. Why they had that rap going on at the main pool is beyond me. Most all of the quests there were over 40 and not into it at all. So because of that one issue, I can only give them 3 stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borregosprings, General Manager at Borrego Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Jammy E,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. While I understand that the music was not quite what you like, I am happy that you were able to spend time and appreciate our other pool area.

We try different things to please our guests, and we do not always hit the target, but I do really want to thank you for sharing your thoughts on our resort.

Thank you,

John Yzaguirre
jyzaguirre@borregospringsresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were expecting much more. They don't offer breakfast because they want you to eat at their restaurant which has terrible selections and is way overpriced. The restaurant staff acted like you were inconveniencing them. The only friendly people at the place (hotel or restaurant) were the housekeepers, who were wonderful. There aren't a lot of options in Borrego Springs, but I will definitely try a different hotel next time.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borregosprings, General Manager at Borrego Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Stephanie_Gro,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. It is true we do not offer a free breakfast. I am truly sorry that you felt our staff was not friendly. I have and will continue to address this with them. Without feedback like this, we cannot future guests stay better.

Again, I thank you for sharing.

John Yzaguirre
jyzaguirre@borregospringsresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is a sleeper, even though it's one of the bigger properties in Borrego Springs.

Check in was fast and friendly. In fact, there wasn't a single person associated with the property who wasn't friendly, helpful, and efficient. Management understands service. Kudos.

The single King room was large and clean. It had a separate sitting area next to the balcony. The balcony had a small table and two chairs. The single flat screen tv swiveled to serve the entire room. The air conditioner kept the room a comfortable temperature despite it being 105 outside, and was quiet. TV service is by DirectTV and the analog channels were of questionable quality. There is a small nook with a microwave, sink, and refrigerator.The bathroom is a combined, so the toilet is in the same room as the bathtub and sink. Plenty of towels, with a small amount of soaps/shampoos,lotions.

The restaurant served a tasty breakfast with a reasonable, but not huge, amount of food. Overcooked bacon, but the pancakes and eggs were excellent. I don't normally call out individual servers, but Noe deserves special mention as he is an employee to keep and promote. Everything was clean and comfortable.

The pool is nothing special, but there is plenty of shade to use. You can order food from the pool and service is fast.

Overall, if you're looking for a property in Borrego Springs that "gets" service and yet doesn't over charge, this is it. Not perfect, but pretty darn good. For somebody who has spent a lifetime camping in the park but has never spent a night in a hotel here, I'll be back. Repeatedly .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borregosprings, General Manager at Borrego Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Boojums,

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

So happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to hit the mark each time, but sometimes we miss. Looks like this time was a winner and I am so happy you had a great time.

Please come back and see us again.

Many Thanks,

John Yzaguirre, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter Ranch, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a lovely second floor room overlooking the golf course with the mountains in the distance. The room was large and clean with everything we could want. Dinner at the Arches was delicious and the service was excellent. We arrived Sunday night after what had been a very busy weekend for the staff, but everything was still looked after well. We got a fabulous deal on the room because it was off season and we extended our stay for two additional nights. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borregosprings, General Manager at Borrego Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Steve P,

Your review is really appreciated and we are so happy that we provided you with a positive experience. We will see you again soon I hope.

Sincerely,

John Yzaguirre, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borrego Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borrego Springs Resort & Spa

Address: 1112 Tilting T Drive, Borrego Springs, CA 92004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Borrego Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**NEVER A RESORT FEE** Restaurant and Spa now open 7 days a week. The golf course available again beginning November 15, 2014. Rest and relaxation await you at Borrego Springs Resort & Spa. With 100 well-appointed guestrooms, an 18-hole pristine championship golf course, 6 lighted tennis courts, a restaurant and lounge, banquet and conference facilities and services, a business center, free Wi-Fi and breathtaking views of the Santa Rosa Mountains. Also enjoy our full-service Spa Serenity for all of your spa needs, and enjoy a true resort experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Borrego Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrego Springs Resort And Spa
Borrego Springs Hotel Borrego Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borrego Springs Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.