We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean simple hotel with good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanlunds Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Stanlunds Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
2771 Borrego Springs Road, Borrego Springs, CA 92004   |  
Hotel amenities
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“Good clean simple hotel with good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is an old style hotel but the rooms are very clean. We stayed at a room with kitchen. The kitchen is good size and the refrigerator is large. Nice private patio with table. Nice pool. Can park in front of your room. Good service. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atmarampatel, Manager at Stanlunds Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    31
    12
    10
    8
See reviews for
11
28
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We had 2 rooms and were traveling with a dog. Previous TripAdvisor reviews had prepared us for the fact that Stanlunds is basic and a bit worn out, so we weren't at all unhappy with what we found. The staff were super (we arrived early and they made sure our rooms were ready as soon as possible) and the location is ideal. This place is far enough from the city lights to see the beautiful starry sky, and to hear coyotes howling.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atmarampatel, Manager at Stanlunds Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We appreciate your review. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

A bit dated but that is the charm. Everything is clean and well maintained. We had a suite with a queen, a pull-out sofa, kitchen, and a patio w/ BBQ for $125. Continental breakfast starts @ 7:00am so get get some food before going out on you day's adventure!

Thanks to the owner - a great and personable guy!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atmarampatel, Manager at Stanlunds Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stanlunds has raised their price but not their standards since our last visit a few years ago. Furniture and bedding are worn, and rooms need a coat of paint. Basic breakfast (cereal, yogurt, coffee) in somewhat grim dining room. Heater worked, but was loud! Staff continues to be pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atmarampatel, Manager at Stanlunds Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for your review.
We have schedule the remodelling of the kitchen rooms and the painting of the building this summer.Once we are done, we will send you the pictures of the room. Once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night en-route from San Diego to Palm Springs. Typical motel style resort - series of single storey rooms custered around a swimming pool. Room was dark and very tired - needs renovation. Quite disturbing to find a 5 plug adapter plugged into wall and from it a coffee machine, fridge, air conditioner and other things were running. Bathroom adequate but again in need of updating - smallish shower stall, towels quite small. Good points were that is in quiet location and gave easy access to the nearby National Park.

Room Tip: Good budget stop but if you are looking to stay in area for more than 1 or 2 nights suggest trying t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I have just returned from a stay at Stanlunds. My mother and I stayed there for 3 nights. The heater worked with the fan running continuously. So when the heat had reached the proper temp, the heater would stop but the fan would blow cold air on us. The bathroom heater didn't work. There wasn't a phone in the room. The continental breakfast was ok. The room it was located in was cold. We didn't have maid service the first day because the maids didn't show up until 3:30PM. The pool wasn't heated. I did notice that there wasn't a vacuum on the maids cart - so can't say if the carpet was vacuumed.
The good things I can say about it are: The water for morning showers was hot quickly. The refrig worked,

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atmarampatel, Manager at Stanlunds Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. Guest review keeps us up to date on guest's expectation.
We were not notified about the air conditioner issue. The unit may be on continuous fan mode. It would have got fixed right away,if the staff was informed.
We never had phones in the room as most of our guest come for leisure and do not want to get disturb. Also everyone has cell phones now a days.
Regarding the cleaning of the room, we have housekeeping everyday and housekeeper leaves when they are done cleaning all rooms. Sometime it gets late to reach some rooms. There may be 'do not disturb' sign on the door, so our room may not have got housekeeping.
Also we have enough vacuum cleaner and two extra as backup. Our housekeeper vacuums every room they clean. If you did not see any vacuum cleaner on maid's cart, they may have taken to the office to get it fixed or changed the parts.
Once again thank you for your response and we will try our best to satisfy our expectation during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

If you're looking for a standard motel room that's a decent size, clean, comfortable and meets all your basic needs and you don't mind paying $120 (tax included), then this is a good place for you. It's outside of town, but not too far. The odd thing about this place is that the office is only staffed during basic business hours - we never even met anyone either to check in or check out. We arrived about 6:15 pm, called the number posted on the office door, and found that our room was unlocked with the keys in the room. The next morning we needed to leave at 6:30 am, and the office was not yet staffed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanlunds Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanlunds Inn and Suites

Address: 2771 Borrego Springs Road, Borrego Springs, CA 92004
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanlunds is situated in the heart of the Anza-Borrego Desert State Park. It was built in the 50s and was remodeled in 2005. A very quiet and peaceful place. Good for people looking for peace and tranquility- but you can still be connected to the world with our wireless DSL available in all rooms. All of our rooms are equipped with a microwave, fridge, and coffeemaker. Some rooms have private patios & kitchens -some with ovens- and BBQs. This gives you all that is required for sitting back, relaxing, and enjoying the warm weather with beautiful views of the mountains. Free Continental breakfast on weekends during season. On special occasions we reserve the right to implement a two night minimum stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stanlunds Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanlunds Hotel Borrego Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanlunds Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.