We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exxxxcellaaaant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmelita's Mexican Grill

Carmelita's Mexican Grill
575 Palm Canyon Drive, Borrego Springs, CA 92004
(760) 767-5666
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Corte Madera, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exxxxcellaaaant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Carmelita's lived up to its good revues. Ate there twice - chilli Reyenos and tamales really stood out. Okay, the decor could be updated, but I'm always a bit suspicious of value priced restaurants that are real slick .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    52
    18
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun spot - Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

In February, we ate at Carmelita's on the Sunday night of Presidents' Weekend. The place was hopping with locals and tourists alike. We had to wait about 20 minutes for a table. No problem, though. We sat at the bar and enjoyed great Margaritas and conversation with two local gentlemen. Then, we were seated and and we're quickly waited on by a very friendly waitress. Our food came out after a short wait and was really good! I had a taco and a tamale and my husband had a taco and an enchilada, all of which were delicious! The price was right, too. All in all, a very fun experience. We will go back the next time we visit Anza Borrego!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The food and service is excellent. The decor could use some updating (as could any restaurant in Borrego Springs) and the carpet replaced. The margueritas for $5? Can't beat that price for the size - delicious!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Mexican food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Popular with locals and visitors. The food was very good, with large portions, and a wide variety of choice. The value was very good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have eaten here before about a year ago and recently returned. We had dinner here two nights in a row because it was so good. We had a party of seven and everyone seemed to enjoy their meal both nights. I ordered the Salsa Verde enchiladas with ground beef and they were delicious! So much so that I had the same thing the next night. The salsa that comes with the chips was also very tasty. The place was crowded both nights, which is usually a good sign. Prices were reasonable too. I rate it excellent on the food and value. I will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmelita's Mexican Grill also viewed

Borrego Springs, California Desert
Borrego Springs, California Desert
 
Borrego Springs, California Desert
Borrego Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Carmelita's Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmelita's Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.