We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From the rugged to the delicate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anza-Borrego Desert State Park

Anza-Borrego Desert State Park
200 Palm Canyon Dr, Borrego Springs, CA 92004
760 767 5311
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The largest state park in California is home to amazing flowers and plants which bloom in the early spring.
San Diego, California, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“From the rugged to the delicate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Anza-Borrego Desert State Park offers spectacular hikes with house-sized boulders alongside the most delicate of California wildflowers. Keep an eye out for the elusive park namesake, the Peninsular Bighorn Sheep, or Borrego in Spanish. Watch the light change along the canyon walls and enjoy the stars at night like you can never see them in the city. We're so fortunate in San Diego County to have such distinctive environments from the beach to the mountains to the desolate beauty of the desert. Anza-Borrego is one of the most beautiful deserts in the world.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    61
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Unparalleled beauty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I spent the weekend at a friend's house in the little town of Borrego Springs (although I kept wanted to call it Borracho Springs!), which is situated in the middle of the Anza-Borrego Desert State Park in California. What a little gem of a one-donkey town! The towns people are very down to earth, artsy, eccentric and just plain good folk. Sidewalks roll up promptly at 9:00 p.m., so anyone visiting, will likely have early nights. But...if you've gone on a day trek into the desert, rest is what you'll be needing anyway at the end of the day. Font's Point is not to be missed at sunset with a glass of red to match the sunset. The view of the badlands is spectacular. Calico's is a great spot for a sandwich, Carlee's is full kitchen offering dining, cocktails and live music. A new Art Institute has opened and not to be missed. This is a great weekend destination if you live in So. Cal.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creswell, Oregon
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A jewel in the desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stopped at the visitor center and checked out the plants in the beautifully laid-out and well marked desert garden, then continued to the campground where we paid our $7 to use the trailhead parking for Palm Canyon. This was an incredible hike! If only we had started earlier it would have been nearly perfect. The flat desert wash area is a mosaic of subtle colors and textures. Although the trail is crowded, the people were all friendly and experienced hikers. Sadly, there had been some serious damage to the trail and we were unable to make it to the oasis because of the amount of rock scrambling involved, but we loved every bit of the trail until we were forced to turn back.

The drive west towards San Diego was just breathtaking. It is an amazing kaliedoscope of rocks and plants, with a breathtaking view of the valley off to the East. (Well, it's not so wonderful for the driver.) A glorious place to visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Top Contributor
405 reviews 405 reviews
163 attraction reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“A "Must Do" day trip from San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I really enjoyed a day trip to this desert. It is very easy to do in one day and the desert is amazing. No sand . . . . . just rocks and gravel for as far as you can see and interesting mountains to drive up and down too. Many varieties of cactus that you have probably never seen before. Some are over twice my height (6') and others are quite small. Some have flowers and others do not. The roads are well paved and driving is easy but there are many curves as you go up and down the mountains.

Be sure to make a stop in Borrego Springs which is a small crossroads town with a bank, a bar, a restaurant and 2 small shopping centers (strip mall type). While there, stop at the Anza Borrego Desert Natural History Association (www.abdnha.org) office on the main street for postcards and locally made items. They are friendly and very helpful. I was amazed to find that Bighorn sheep, jackrabbits and fox inhabit the desert.

Temperatures were in the 108F to 112F range so be sure to travel in an airconditioned vehicle and take some bottled water with you. After making a number of stops in the heat, you will want a drink.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Spring flowers and star gazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I love coming here in the spring to see the wildflowers and hike during the day and watch the stars at night. It is so quiet and peaceful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anza-Borrego Desert State Park also viewed

Borrego Springs, California Desert
Borrego Springs, California Desert
 
Borrego Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Anza-Borrego Desert State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anza-Borrego Desert State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.