We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good prices ....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calico's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Calico's
587 Palm Canyon Dr, Borrego Springs, CA 92004
760-767-7747
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Waltham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, good prices ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were lured in by the smell of coffee and stayed for salad and sandwiches--can't beat the avocado BLT on wheat bread. Everything was delicious and the quality of ingredients was excellent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    26
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
california
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“everybody goes here with good reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

we had espresso, brownie, egg pocket, blt, tuna sandwich, and chocolate chip cookie. all were excellent, and the prices seem like they're from the 70s. we enjoyed sitting outside and looking at the desert.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borrego Springs, California
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
428 helpful votes 428 helpful votes
“Where The Locals Hang Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Come on in for a latte or cuppa anytime in the morning and you will see at least 4 tables of locals yakking it up, solving the world's problems and enjoying lovely desert breezes on the big porch. Price are good, coffee is wonderful, atmosphere is charming.... food... YUM.... don't get no betta.... Come on over and visit, ya hear?

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphys, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We ordered the pepperoni and sausage very good and they delivered it to our RV site. Will be ordering there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Tuna Sandwich!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Little hole in the wall spot, with outdoor seating on the broad walkway. Nothing fancy here, just fresh, good tasting food. I'm a picky eater when it comes to how things are prepared. In a tuna sandwich, I like it simple. Nothing to muck up the flavor of tuna and mayo. Calico's does it right!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calico's also viewed

Borrego Springs, California Desert
Borrego Springs, California Desert
 
Borrego Springs, California Desert
Borrego Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Calico's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calico's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.