We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Z Cafe

Z Cafe
5256 S Mission Rd, Bonsall, CA 92003
(760) 940-1477
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Bonsall
Cuisines: Californian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Bonsall, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Atmosphere!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We are Bonsall residents (Locals) and this is our go to spot! Entering Z Cafe from the bottom entrance is amazing. The art is always rotating and the structure of the building gives you an open air feeling. The servers are all personable and welcoming. The portions are generous and delicious. The Hawaiian plates are authentic. It can take awhile to get food, don't come expecting to get in and out fast. Z is a place to sit down and enjoy the atmosphere!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great prices, okay food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I'm giving this four stars because the value is so good. The food itself is mediocre. Basically its ersatz Hawaiian (if you ever go to Hawaii and eat at a townie place rather than a tourist place, you'll see why I say ersatz). I ordered a plate and ended up with a bit of mahi mahi which was nicely but sparingly sauced and a big bunch of rice with nothing to put on it - I asked for some teriyaki to make it palatable. You're better off with one of the bowls.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Food, Bar, and Balcony with view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nice setting with great food, a bar, a balcony with view...Parking located in back is easier for people that don't like stairs...Have had breakfast and lunch there on multiple times and I take family/friends there when time permits...

Everyone I have taken enjoys the ambiance and meals...With great staff/service...Plus a movie house just a short walk away.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, California, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A simply excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Our group came to the Z Cafe in Bonsall after an event in Fallbrook for a leisurely lunch and we all thought the food, service and ambiance were perfect. I had the Hawaiian BBQ Chicken bowl with brown rice (they offer both white and brown), my wife chose a cup of chicken noodle soup with a half sandwich and said she thought it was a great choice for the cost. I believe my BBQ bowl was an excellent amount of tasty food for the price. The location is on the upper floor of their building; there is no elevator from the ground but if you park in the rear lot there is a walking bridge directly into the second floor restaurant so no steps are required - a plus for any impaired persons. We were referred by one of our members and she did not steer us wrong!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Went with a friend for breakfast. He had a hugemongous bowl of oatmeal. I had an omelet. Both were great.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Z Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.