We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bodega Bay Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bodega Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bodega Bay Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   103 Coast Highway 1, Bodega Bay, CA 94923   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Bodega Bay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northern California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We picked the Bodega Bay Lodge based on reviews and pictures. Unfortunately this hotel did not live up to some of the fabulous reviews or the pictures. Our check in was fine. When we went to our room it seemed much smaller than what was advertised on line. So small in fact that it only had one night stand on one side of the queen sized bed! I had to pull a chair over to the other side of the bed to act as a night stand! The room had a weird smell. That went away when we opened the patio door and let it air out for awhile. We were very surprised to see that for the money we paid there was no refrigerator in the room.
The fireplace was a nice touch but the burn holes in the carpet really diminished the ambiance. They only give you one duraflame log for the fireplace. You have to request another one.
They had a complimentary wine and cheese reception from 5:00-6:00. When I arrived at 5:30 to partake in this reception all the crackers and most of the cheese and fruit was gone. It did not appear that any of the complimentary food was being replenished. The wine they served was absolutely horrible! I have gotten better complimentary wine and much more food at a Hampton Inn for about half the price!
The bed was comfortable and the pillows were great. Doubt I would spend that kind of money to stay here again. Definitely not what I expected based on what I saw and read on their website.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    409
    192
    46
    30
    12
See reviews for
63
448
25
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a great place to stay. We had a really spacious room with a well appointed bathroom. Sleeping was not a problem on such a comfortable bed. The balcony was so sunny and warm and protected from the wind during the day. With expansive views overlooking the bay and the wetlands area, it would be a mistake to forget your binoculars. We were so excited to see our first Bald Eagle.

We enjoyed meals in the restaurant, which has a varied menu and great wine choices. On the second visit, we did find the service to be rather slow, but we were not in any hurry and this did not detract from our enjoyment of our meal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The pace is amazing, views were what you would imagine, thr spa was perfect could have stayed for the entire day in there.
The restaurant was yummy with great local choices and wines to add.
The room was huge and overlooked the coast, what else could you ask for!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a special place right on the edge of the Northern California coast - beautiful views, gorgeous gardens and restful rooms - some with fireplaces. Highly recommended!! The Duck Club is an excellent restaurant with breathtaking views.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have views but ask for a room with a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We ended our week long trip to California with a two night stay at Bodega Bay Lodge - what a great way to end our trip to California. The hotel is very nice, with exceptionally well-kept grounds, beautiful outbuildings, welcoming lobby/reception area and spacious comfortable rooms. The rooms have working fireplaces - we didn't use ours. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They have a lovely on-site outdoor pool and hot tub area which we enjoyed each day after touring the local sites. So lovely to relax here, watch the wildlife in the surrounding wildlands and marsh area, and the ocean beyond. In the evening, there are a couple of nice outdoor seating areas, with gas fireplaces and comfy chairs to take in the sunset and the stars afterwards. There is a short wildlife trail to take you to the ocean and the expansive beach area - makes a great early morning wake-up walk. A short walk also takes you to the Bodega Bay Golf Links - unfortunately, we didn't have time to play, but it looked amazing. Each evening there was a wine & cheese reception in the lobby, which allowed us to taste some local wines - very nice! We really enjoyed our stay at Bodega Lodge, and recommend it.

Room Tip: It looked like each room has an ocean view - our certainly did, and the small balcony/patio was grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at the Bodega Bay Lodge last weekend for one night. We arrived early and were lucky to check-in before the regular check-in time.
We had a ground floor room with a partial ocean view and it was lovely. Our room was nicely furnished, great little patio area and a huge bathroom. The lighting in the bathroom was less than flattering for applying make-up mind, (just a tip for the girls out there) not that you tend to get all glammed-up in Bodega Bay, but it's nice to look in the mirror and not look green! But anyway...

The robes and slippers were a great touch and were most appreciated. All round a decent room.

I think what made the stay particularly special was the service though. From check-in to dinner service everyone was very friendly and courteous. The manager's happy hour with wine and cheese is a really nice touch and my husband and I enjoyed playing the giant Scrabble board game over a glass of wine or two in the lounge area.

We were really surprised by how good the Duck Club Restaurant was. Very impressed with the food, wine and service. Same for the breakfast. Well done Bodega Bay Lodge, your attention to detail and service was awesome. Your staff are a credit to you.

There's something very, very relaxing about the hotel that I can't quite put my finger on. Maybe it's a combination of the ocean air, sea views, the mist rolling in that makes you want to cozy up and just relax into the the place.
We'll be back. Next time we're going to check out the spa.

Room Tip: I guess if you have a higher up room you'll get a better view. Although some on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very lovely place, nice rooms, lots of friendly people working there. We were particularly impressed with Amanda, who went out of her way to make sure everything went well. She is one of the best people I've ever met at reception. The dining room serves great food with wonderful views, but is way understaffed, which makes service very slow.

Room Tip: It looks to me that every room is terrific. Large, fireplaces, views everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bodega Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodega Bay Lodge

Address: 103 Coast Highway 1, Bodega Bay, CA 94923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodega Bay Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Lodge situated on the Sonoma coast, overlooking Doran Beach, sand dunes, marshes & bay. Russian River and Sonoma County wineries closeby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bodega Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodega Bay Hotel Bodega Bay
Bodega Bay Lodge And Spa
Bodega Bay Lodge Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodega Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.