We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Bodega Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bodega Bay Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bodega Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bodega Bay Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   103 Coast Highway 1, Bodega Bay, CA 94923   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Bodega Bay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Monterey, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Place in Bodega Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Beautiful property with outstanding service. Love everything about it except our room. #216 was too close to the pool which was loud. Also, strange arrangement with couch positioned so that you could NOT watch TV from the couch. Otherwise the room was great, good bed, modern bathroom etc. Duck Club restaurant was superb. Had room service for breakfast-quick and delicious.

Room Tip: Get as far away from pool as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    192
    46
    30
    12
See reviews for
64
449
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We went for our anniversary and were not disappointed. Our room had unobstructed views of the bay and ocean. The room was spacious and clean; with a fireplace, comfy plush bed, a deck over looking the bay and updated appointments (like granite counters, modern bathroom, etc.). We received wonderful care from the staff, including complimentary truffles for our anniversary. We sipped wine by the outdoor fire pit in the evenings and just relaxed. The trails and paths for nature walks are literally out side of the door. We took a short stroll down to the beach for a picnic and kite flying, very enjoyable. Front desk provided maps and directions up the coast to various beaches and trails; we spent an entire day exploring the beautiful coastline. Came back in time for complimentary wine and cheese by the fireplace. Tried a number of fun and funky restaurants in town. Great oysters and seafood. Did not eat at the Lodges restaurant. All in all, nice facility, great views, great room, relaxing experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Bodega Bay Lodge is a terrific place to stay. The rooms are comfortable, clean, well-equipped (the bed is super comfortable) and, best of all, face the bay for some wonderful views, so the balcony is just right, any time of day. But the sunsets are fabulous.

There are some great walks adjacent to the Lodge. The bird sanctuary cuts through the inlets just in front of the lodge. It's home to a great variety of birds, including turkey vultures, egrets, ducks, geese, cormorants and more. You can walk a circuit, or continue straight to the beach just beyond on the beautiful bay. There are several parking lots for the beach so you can drive to it, or make it the end of a walk that's about a mile or so from the Lodge.

There's a small fitness room, a lovely little outdoor pool and spa. There's a great fire-pit seating area next to the bar - we got our drinks and sat and watched the birds and the sunset. The Duck Club serves delicious food for dinner (that's the breakfast restaurant too).

We were there in early May (2013) and the Lodge and restaurant were not busy. But during the summer, it gets pretty packed, according to some folks we talked with.

Keep an eye out for deals and if you see one, book it right away. Note that breakfast is NOT included but the restaurant does serve delicious breakfasts and the prices are pretty reasonable.

Also, for newcomers to the area, Bodega Bay and the town of Bodega are not really "towns," more like wide spots in the road. However, the Lodge makes a great jumping-off place for a beautiful coastal ride or an excursion to the various wineries up 101 in Sonoma.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We decided to get away for the weekend for some R&R and had never been to Bodega Bay before so we settled on the Bodega Bay Lodge. Upon arrival, our first impression was that the location, grounds, and view were all spectacular. The frontdesk staff were friendly as well.

Our suite was a little lackluster for the price, and I still don't understand nickel and diming for amenities like a bottle of water. Switch to a resort fee like the Bernardus Lodge - it's so much simpler. The best feature of our suite was that it's super close to the bay and has amazing views. The worst feature of the suite was that it's super close to the bay and the continuous fog horn gets to be pretty annoying quickly.

The main problem with this property is that it advertises spa facilities and it's a stretch. They're pretty minimal - so don't expect any of the typical amenities of a day spa. There's a spa, pool and sauna available to all guests, plus two private massage rooms. That's about it. We had a couples massage in our room and both my wife and I thought the massages were terrible. I had a sore neck for a couple days afterwards - pretty disappointing at $110 each for 50 minutes.

The restaurant, Duck Club, however, was quite nice. Make a reservation at 6pm and get there early so you can get one of the coveted window tables to watch the amazing sunset over the bay.

In short, the location was great and the restaurant was good. We weren't blown away by anything else and don't go here if you're looking for a hotel with real spa facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is exceptional for the beauty of its surroundings as well as its 'California' style architecture. The rooms are extremely nice and the beds are very comfortable. However the evening meals are just average despite desk clerk's assertion that the food was exceptional. It has pretensions but does not deliver. Interestingly the breakfasts are very good with some wonderful omelette, fresh orange juice and quite good coffee. Unfortunately the service at breakfast is miserable. The morning watt staff seem disorganized and inattentive. We waited 20 minutes for an order of granola that never came but did show up on the bill. The wait staff are quite nice when you can get their attention; I have to assume that there is a lack of training and supervision here. But breakfast is quite worth having if you don't mind being waited on by very pleasant staff who seem pretty incompetent or at least unsupervised. The dinner staff were attentive and helpful although there was no one in the room who knew anything about the wines on what turned out to be a decent list of California wines,
Summary: terrific location, lovely rooms, excellent breakfast with below average wait service, and below average dinner with above average wait staff. A hotel more than worth a stay; but have dinner somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Bodega Bay Spa and Lodge in early May. Based on the price we expected luxury and superb service, since the resort is priced similar to a Four Seasons or a Ritz Carlton. The resort does have a nice location on the bay, nicely kept grounds and is very clean. It also has a nice pool and hot tub. We didn't use the spa, but the facility seemed clean. However, the resort did not have bell service, a concierge nor a valet, all things that you would expect for the price we paid. The restaurant food was good, but the waitress forgot our appetizer then offered to bring it after we had started eating our dessert. All things considered, we could have spent half as much and had about the same experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in Bodega Bay during out latest wine country trip because we had such an amazing time out there during our previous trip. The coast is a wondering area to visit, especially great for driving the highway that slowly wraps around the shoreline. The hotel is nice, has nice furnishings, beds were very comfortable, and the restaurants were very good as well, especially during night time happy hours.

The one drawback to staying on the coast, is the coastal fog. Not the fault of the hotel, obviously, but check your dates and see if you cant hedge your bets and stay out here when the chances are low. The last time we were out on the coast, it was all sunny days and beautiful views. When we actually decided to stay out here, the fog was hung over the coast all day long, every day, which is hugely depressing. Once you drive about 20 minutes inland however, it disappears and its a perfect sunny day......kind of frustrating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bodega Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodega Bay Lodge

Address: 103 Coast Highway 1, Bodega Bay, CA 94923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodega Bay Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Lodge situated on the Sonoma coast, overlooking Doran Beach, sand dunes, marshes & bay. Russian River and Sonoma County wineries closeby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bodega Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodega Bay Hotel Bodega Bay
Bodega Bay Lodge And Spa
Bodega Bay Lodge Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodega Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.