We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bodega Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bodega Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Bodega Bay Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   103 Coast Highway 1, Bodega Bay, CA 94923   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rohnert Park, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

we stayed here this past feb. had an exellent rm #609. great outlook over the bay and down to pt. reyes there is a fog horn but remember your at a harbor entrance. they have a wine & cheese thing in the main lobby quite nice, a fire pit just outside the restaurant very nice for a drink & apps. before dinner. a nice walk to the beach with lots of birds and some furry friends.

Room Tip: we stayed in #609 a lower rm with no one above us close to the restaurant but very quiet great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    215
    53
    31
    15
See reviews for
79
511
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is way off the beaten track. I drove in from San Jose airport and the last 20 miles were totally rural. If you are looking for an upscale spa get away, this is it. Fireplace in the room is a nice touch. The balcony overlooks the Bay but you can hear the ocean waves crashing against the shore. There is also a fog horn that sounds about every30 seconds - it's not unpleasant. It really helps set the mood. Breakfast is included but I haven't had that yet. Don't think I'll ever be back - but if I lived in the area I would come for the weekend. It's a nice getaway.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annandale, virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My family and I stayed here for two nights and liked the hotel a lot. I stayed in the Captains Quarters (big room) as it was the same price as reserving two double rooms. The room was very nice – plenty of space, clean, and well appointed. The room had clear views of the beach, bay, and bird sanctuary but the ocean was mostly blocked by trees. It was very quiet.

The hotel itself has more of a quiet, casual, out-of-the-way lodge feel to it. The rooms have a bit of a luxury tilt to them, but it is not formal (this is good in my opinion). We went to the wine and cheese reception one evening – and found both the food and drink to be above expectations. The lobby is small and comfy, and there is a side room just off it that also has a patio. It is a nice place to sit and relax. The beach is a short walk, and the hotel and surrounding area are great for bird watching. We ordered room service for breakfast one day and it was prompt and reasonably priced. See my separate review of the restaurant. We did not use the spa.

Improvements? Not many. The wifi in our room was slow and 3G/4G service was spotty. I wish they had connecting rooms or more double bed options, especially in the suites or Bodega Bay rooms.

A couple of FYI’s as well. The town is small and a bit isolated. This is neither good nor bad, just make sure expectations are in order. If you like to stock up on supplies or need something uncommon, you have a 15-20 minute drive each way. Ditto if you want a more expansive set of food choices. This was not really a problem for us, but just be aware.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful room with high ceilings and cozy fireplace. Everyone from front desk to room service and restaurant were very friendly. Duck club is best place in area for fine dining. Great scallops and short ribs and pasta. Finish off with the chocolate cake and you will be running back for more. Look forward to our next visit!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zug
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our room was not ready when we arrived at 4 pm and we were upgraded. The room was very comfortable with fantastic views and a great tub. We liked the restaurant. A walk on the beach is a must as well as birdwatching. Otherwise it is a very quiet area. Good restaurants are ll within 20 min drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francsico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We loved this place! The in-room fireplace kept the room very cozy and romantic. The room was very clean and the bathroom had big fluffy towels and robes which were a nice touch. The beds were the best part, I slept like a baby with all of the pillows and warm duvet. The next morning we awoke to a gorgeous view from our deck of Bodega Bay. I completed this awesome stay with a massage at the hotel spa which was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saratoga ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

First rate accomodation. Large room and spacious bath and shower. Breakfast was
superb. A nice starting off place to view the picturesque coast with many turn-outs, driving north to the Russian River and then east along the river and north to visit Sonoma wineries.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bodega Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodega Bay Lodge

Address: 103 Coast Highway 1, Bodega Bay, CA 94923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodega Bay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Lodge situated on the Sonoma coast, overlooking Doran Beach, sand dunes, marshes & bay. Russian River and Sonoma County wineries closeby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bodega Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodega Bay Hotel Bodega Bay
Bodega Bay Lodge And Spa
Bodega Bay Lodge Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodega Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.