We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bodega Bay Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bodega Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bodega Bay Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   103 Coast Highway 1, Bodega Bay, CA 94923   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Bodega Bay
GreenLeadersBronze level
zug
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful location to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our room was not ready when we arrived at 4 pm and we were upgraded. The room was very comfortable with fantastic views and a great tub. We liked the restaurant. A walk on the beach is a must as well as birdwatching. Otherwise it is a very quiet area. Good restaurants are ll within 20 min drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    405
    191
    46
    30
    12
See reviews for
62
446
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francsico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We loved this place! The in-room fireplace kept the room very cozy and romantic. The room was very clean and the bathroom had big fluffy towels and robes which were a nice touch. The beds were the best part, I slept like a baby with all of the pillows and warm duvet. The next morning we awoke to a gorgeous view from our deck of Bodega Bay. I completed this awesome stay with a massage at the hotel spa which was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saratoga ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

First rate accomodation. Large room and spacious bath and shower. Breakfast was
superb. A nice starting off place to view the picturesque coast with many turn-outs, driving north to the Russian River and then east along the river and north to visit Sonoma wineries.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SACRAMENTO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had a one-night getaway to the Bodega Bay Lodge recently and it was wonderful. The setting is beautiful; the staff was helpful and friendly; the services were of the highest quality. Our room had a fire place which provided a nice ambience along with the wine and cheese offerings in the lobby before dinner. We enjoyed the food offerings in the lounge for dinner and the restaurant for breakfast; the offerings with local produce were much appreciated. I highly recommend the Bodega Bay Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henderson, NV
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The moment you walk into the lobby, with its crackling fire and the scent of evergreens (from their many spa products on sale), you can feel yourself start to relax and slow down. And that's what it's all about here: Long walks on a beach that goes on forever (bring your kite!); returning to the lodge for a spa treatment or a cozy time with a book in front of your private fireplace in your room, or a hot, soaking bath in your huge tub. And then either room service or dinner in their lovely dining room with more killer views (of course).

My husband and I have been here twice now, the last time was for his birthday in February. We opted for a deluxe king room, with a balcony overlooking the wetlands and the miles-long beach, with a fireplace (presto logs) and a beautiful bathroom with a huge soaking tub.
The accomodations are lovely and upscale, and the view is gorgeous: what a sunset!
The cuisine is excellent, with a dinner menu selection ranging from perfectly fresh Dungeness crab cakes and oysters (raw and Rockefeller), to soul-satisfying short ribs with homemade noodles. Breakfast was gourmet. Room service was fast, efficient and courteous.
Our only quibbles, one very minor: they will only give you one presto log at time, although they will happily, and quickly, bring you another one when you call. (I guess there is the fear that someone will stuff several into their fireplace at the same time and so cause a problem).
And the only other quibble was more bothersome: there were some VERY loud, persistent and annoying noises in the plumbing. I honestly thought that some young person was over-enjoying skateboarding in the parking lot outside our room. I was about to call the front desk to ask them to speak to the culprit when my husband said that, believe it or not, he thought it was the pipes! Luckily, this did not continue for more than a half hour or so, and I don't think it affects more than a few rooms, if that.
All-in-all, this is one of the nicest places to stay on the coast north of San Francisco, as long as you are looking for more of a "resort" feel instead of a small inn or B and B., and it lends itself to a wonderful, relaxing get-away. It is a bit high on the tariff, but really, you are paying for the rarity of such a lovely lodge smack on the coast. There are not that many along this stretch.

I saw one negative comment about the fog horn, but honestly, I love that sound and find it relaxing, and so evocative of the sea. Perhaps because I was raised around that sound in the Northwest and it might be annoying to those for whom it isn't as pleasant. But I find it adds to the ambience! ;-)
The very small town of Bodega Bay has some good, informal restaurants, gift shops and deli's, where you can pick up made-to-order sandwiches for a long walk, bike ride, or a day drive to Pt. Reyes or other wonderful and scenic spots.

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms closest to the beach for best views. And, if available, the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I went to Bodega Bay Lodge for a workshop - and had an almost 100% experience. Extremely rare.
Aside from over-crowding the Waveside room with our participants and not being able to use it as creatively as we wanted, the fog horn which can get on your nerves if you don't do anything about it (earplugs welcome, or just zen attitude ;), everything went really like a dream.
First and foremost, the staff have been extremely helpful, accommodating and welcoming. All of them, not one to denote a negative attitude. 100% great service and staff!
The (private) rooms are really cosy and give a charming vintage light to your stay; beds provide great sleep comfort and the chimney is there for those rough nights when it's great to cocoon.
The meeting rooms are very light and offer comfortable seats. Again the staff is attuned to your every need and if the formal route does not work somehow they will go the extra mile to make your they suit your needs.
The views are just breathtaking, and the nature on the premises of the hotel is just as amazing, with rabbits and a great variety of birds, small and large, grey-shaded and colourful.
The food was really good, if perhaps slightly less varied than in some hotels (although they change it every day they don't provide 1001 choices).
We all had a wonderful stay in Bodega Bay Lodge and for a workshop or a retreat I highly recommend it. Though frankly I recommend it even more for a romantic outing, and to also explore the spa!
Keep it up BBL crew :)

Room Tip: Pretty much all rooms offer a view facing the bay, though if you are located in rooms 600 & co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I went during the off season and stayed in the Whirlpool room. The rate was extremely reduced but you just have to call and ask.

This was a wonderful room which looked out over the sea grass and had many comforts and class. The hotel is wonderful and has an excellent restaurant but it is a little pricey for everyday. I did not use anything other than the room but found this a great location to explore the area and visit the ecosystem. Great photographic opportunities. Coastline is almost Oregon-like. Yes, Bodega is where The Birds was filmed but that time has past. I recommend you go for the bed and breakfast package but if not there is a great little local's cafe in town just when you drive down to the docks that has great meals all day.

Room Tip: Select one of the rooms simllar to the Whirlpool room on the same floor looking out over the marsh g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bodega Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodega Bay Lodge

Address: 103 Coast Highway 1, Bodega Bay, CA 94923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodega Bay Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Lodge situated on the Sonoma coast, overlooking Doran Beach, sand dunes, marshes & bay. Russian River and Sonoma County wineries closeby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bodega Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodega Bay Hotel Bodega Bay
Bodega Bay Lodge And Spa
Bodega Bay Lodge Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodega Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.