We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot to go with your sweetie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bodega Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bodega Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Bodega Bay Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   103 Coast Highway 1, Bodega Bay, CA 94923   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Healdsburg, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice spot to go with your sweetie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a nice hotel- we go there at least once a year from Healdsburg as my girlfriend loves it- it's pricey but nice for a special treat- hot tub and pool- nice restaurant but we don't eat there as there are others in town we do like and more reasonably priced

Room Tip: Upper floor without a doubt- you pay more but it's worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    206
    51
    30
    13
See reviews for
72
487
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
mountain view, ca
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

There were 4 of us traveling to enjoy my sister's bday. Ron & Bert has stayed here many times and claims it as a favorite. This was our first - Cheryl and I was were immediately charmed by the location and beauty of this lodge. We were too early for the 4pm check in, but Erika said our rooms were ready and we were welcome to check in. She saw that my sister and I were sharing a king size bed and offered us a room with two beds. We were so appreciative. I work for Alaska Airlines where customer service is one of our top priorities so needless to say, we were both charmed by Erika's professional thoughtfulness and kindness. She went on to give us a brief view of the area.
The rooms are beautiful - the beds are perfect. Every thought went into making a person's stay the best. I am so picky when it comes to cleanliness so I appreciate the effort that go into these rooms.
The views - wow - of the landscape - of the harbor - very majestic. I'm happy to sit out on our lanai enjoying nature.
They have a 5pm cheese and wine reception that is also very nice.
We had breakfast in their DuckClub restaurant - food was good - server was lukewarm.
We checked out with Erika and another charming employee was there. They're the first ones we meet and the last ones we see - the great lasting impression will always be there!
5 stars - Erika 5 stars - grounds 5 stars - view 5 stars - room

Minus one star - unfortunately, our bathroom vent brought in fireplace smoke from the other rooms which we did not know about it. We could smell the smoke, but didn't know where it was coming from. Thought it was from outside - so closed our doors, and left the bath vents on longer. Both Cheryl and I are asthmatic and breathing this smoke in had us sick for a few days after our trip.

Room Tip: We had room 109 (I think) first floor - the view was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed with my husband and two girls-ages 4 and 8. It was a spacious room with a great view of waves crashing out on bodega head (404). We loved it. First rate bathroom, comfy beds, a fireplace and a deck. The kids loved the pool and hot tub and my husband worked out in the beautiful workout room. If only we had more time I would have sat in the sauna too.
We also ate at the Duck Club, delicious. A splurge but worth it. Short pours on the martini and manhattan, but delicious nonetheless. It's wine country, after all!
We really enjoyed our stay and plan to comeback. The location is perfect for enjoying all Doran Beach has to offer-bird walks, waves crashing, the fog horn. Awesome!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmichael
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in an upper coastal room. Nice room with fireplace and ocean view. Separate bedroom which was a plus. They had a wine hour in the lobby next to the fireplace. Pool, sauna and whirlpool were well maintained and clean. Would def. rec.

Room Tip: Room 214 was great. Only room in that wing that also had a window in the bedroom area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Bodega Bay is a little fishing town north of San Francisco. It abuts a breathtaking stretch of California coast. Overlooking the bay is this gorgeous, tranquil lodge. What we found remarkable about it is that it mingles a sense of being a self-standing coastal spa and an isolated B&B (which it isn't). The lobby, grounds, and rooms are beautiful. Our room overlooked the bay. We loved being there while the weather was cloudy and stormy. You can feel the awesome power of the Pacific but from the warmth of your room with a fresh cup of coffee in hand. Even though Bodega Bay is itself a small town, there are really fun seafood (fresh caught!) restaurants in addition to the Lodge's own Duck Club. We're heading back next month, we hope in time for another storm.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel was easy to find; as you are heading North on 1 it will be on your left. Go up hill and turn in at the 2nd right; Hotel staff was gracious and had given us a free upgrade. We were on the view side with a larger room and a fireplace.
They have wine and cheese in the evening in the lobby and Duck Club restaurant recommends reservations before you arrive.
There is a hot tub, warm pool, and several fire pits to sit and watch the beautiful sunsets. You can walk over to the Duran Park and then through the Bird Sanctuary. Beautiful beach access.
Parking can be difficult if the restaurant is full.
Room has fireplace, spa tub; fridge filled with their items to purchase (would have been nice to have it empty) and bed was very comfortable. Deck has chairs and table to sit out and enjoy the spectacular views.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We needed a room large and nice enough to be comfortable hanging out in on Christmas Day (since we didn't expect much to be open in the Bodega Bay area, and were were right). We also wanted a place with a restaurant. Bodega Bay lodge was a nice surprise--we chose it on a whim, and we were happy when we drove up and saw that we didn't pick a lemon. Our room contained two queen beds and was large with a fireplace, nice patio with chairs, and a really great bathroom. There wasn't a tub in the bathroom (which is fine with me--the thought of bathing in a hotel tub is disgusting to me), but it had a really nice tiled shower and a large vanity. The rooms have a mini-fridge. The property is really lovely--lots of flowers and if you pay extra for a higher level room, you might get a stunning view of the bay. One thing to be aware of--there is a fog horn in the bay that honks constantly (it might be more of a "toot" than a "honk". It took us a little while to figure out what it was. Some of the other guests said they got used to the sound after a few hours, but we never really got used to it, though. We had ear plugs with us, which helped at night when the soft "toot" was a little too obnoxious. If you're really sensitive to noise, you might want to consider bringing a few pairs of disposable ear plugs, just in case that fog horn gets to you at night. Otherwise, it wasn't awful, and we were there on rainy, foggy days, so the fog horn added to the rustic feel of Bodega Bay. Also, if you drink the bottled water in the room they'll charge you. There's a gas station nearby where you can purchase bottled water, if you aren't too thrilled with the taste of the tap water.

The restaurant is worth a visit. We had some tasty breakfast there (their French toast is their signature dish, but we didn't try it) and we enjoyed a nice Christmas Day dinner there. I got a duck dish and my mother got salmon, and I preferred her salmon. My starter was a short rib ravioli which was fabulous. I would have eaten a whole plate of them had it been an entree option. They also have a nice wine list featuring California (Sonoma County, to be specific) wines. Our service at the restaurant was very good, even on Christmas day, when I imagine few people would like to be working.

The lodge is a short walk to Duncan's Cove and a nature preserve, where in the evening you will see lots of birds, deer, and other wildlife. It's also up the street from Gourmet au Bay, a nice little wine shop where you can get a glass of Cava, red or white wine, or the seasonal beer on tap and sit on the back deck. There are restaurants in Bodega Bay, many of them very casual, and I strongly recommend trying some of the local oysters or a crab sandwich. We went to the Armstrong Redwoods on Christmas Day, and it was a nice 45 minute drive up Highway 1 and inland along the Russian River. Guerniville is the town nearest Armstrong Redwoods, and it looked like there were a couple nice, little restaurants there. Jenner and some other small coastal towns are a nice drive up windy Highway 1. Occidental and other inland towns are about a 45-75 minute drive.

Quick note--I check EVERY room I stay in for bed bugs, and I'm glad to say our room (sadly

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bodega Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodega Bay Lodge

Address: 103 Coast Highway 1, Bodega Bay, CA 94923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodega Bay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Lodge situated on the Sonoma coast, overlooking Doran Beach, sand dunes, marshes & bay. Russian River and Sonoma County wineries closeby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Bodega Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodega Bay Hotel Bodega Bay
Bodega Bay Lodge And Spa
Bodega Bay Lodge Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodega Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.