We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Sonoma Coast sanctuary any time of year.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bodega Bay Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bodega Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bodega Bay Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   103 Coast Highway 1, Bodega Bay, CA 94923   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Bodega Bay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable Sonoma Coast sanctuary any time of year.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We've been to the Bodega Bay Lodge & Spa several times, in all seasons. The calm and comfort of this property overlooking Doran Beach is incredible. Our most recent visit was during a "monsoon." And it was WONDERFUL! From this "base camp" you can launch day trips including kayaking, winetasting, hiking, etc. Or you can spend all day at the heated pool, bubbly hot tub, exercise room or on your balcony reading.
Pretty lobby with nightly wine & cheese reception.
Place has recently been renovated. Rooms are spacious comfortable,and very attractive. Fireplace with presto log is a nice touch. Bathrooms are large, too. Oh yes, and they give you a hefty terry robe to wear to the pool, spa, etc.
Spa services are a nice treat. They'll even bring massage to your room.
Sign up for BBLS news announcements. They do run specials and they are worth it!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room they're proposing! We've switched rooms more than once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    192
    46
    30
    12
See reviews for
64
449
25
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
OSWEGO
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Bodega Bay Lodge & Spa is one of the most beautiful places we have stayed. Location, Location Location. Right on the bay we had a room of the bay. You could hear the seals in early evening. Everything at the Lodge was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in Pacific Coast Upper Room. Beautiful and peaceful location. Loved being able to walk to beach that felt very private. Not much to do but relax since there isn't much else around there but we wanted to escape so that was fine. Rooms were very nice but prices while reasonable by Northern Cal standards still seem a little high for what they are. But everyone was nice and we had a great stay. Would definitely return. FYI, do NOT stay in upper floor room if you cannot carry luggage up flight of stairs. There is no elevator and we never saw any bell staff.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011 via mobile

We were looking for a relaxing vacation location for the 4th of July, and this turned out to be perfect. Quiet, very clean and comfortable. The view from our patio was gorgeous and the room was great. The gym is small but more than expected for this type of place, including a nice hot tub, pool and sauna.

My only complaint was the service at the lounge. They were busy, but that should have been expected on a holiday - we waited 30 minutes on the couch without even being given water. When a table freed up, we were seated but still not given the drinks we had ordered. Eventually our order arrived and the food was excellent, but I think someone should have been helping the waitress. The service at the restaurant for breakfast was much improved!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011 via mobile

The lodge is in a nice spot, and this part of California is extremely beautiful. So finding a reason to come here is not hard.

The food was fine--perfect oysters--and service has been all around good.

Room size is nice, and our view over the garden and toward the bay is pretty. The garden is chock full of coastal flora, so it's worth walking around and checking it out.

The lodge has only two real problems: motorcycles cruising by at 6am, and beds that are overly soft. Of course, the motorcycles are not something the lodge can do anything about, but the beds...

I am in no way big, and I sank into the bed too far to be comfortable. Any slight movement on my part sent the bed into action, tossing my wife around. Anytime she rolled over I bobbled around like I was on springs.

I'm leaving the lodge exhausted.

Firmer beds, and I would have loved this place.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We recently celebrated our 27th Wedding Anniversary and booked a getaway. We started our trip in Sebastapole for a little wine tasting. Lynmar Vineyards is one of our favorites and never disappoints. They chef has a great box lunch for purchase and you can enjoy the goodies with wine in their spectacular garden. We then went to our hotel in Bodega Bay, Bodega Bay Inn & Spa. It was truly an amazing experience. The room was spacious which included a fireplace and robes (I'm all about the robes) and a beautiful view. We had dinner at a fabulous restaurant called Terrapin Creek...delish!! We only stayed 1 night as we moved on to San Francisco for the next 3 nights.

Highly recommend the hotel, staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We arrived at this lodge very tired but our view, room near the Pacific was very restorative. We ate dinner in the casual lounge next to the restaurant -- a fabulous cheese plate with a selection of five from all the very best cheese farms in the area - not to mention some great wine & a salad. The only complaint - the waiter hurried us through our meal to acommodate the growing crowd in the lounge. We were guests in one of the top rooms and got to the lounge early, so we should not have been rushed. Waiters frequently seem to want to remove your food/rush you through a meal. Other than this, this facility is the very BEST in the Bodega Bay area - beautiful, quiet, NOT TOO BIG.

Room Tip: If you can, DO OPT to pay more for an UNOBSTRUCTED VIEW of the Pacific & Coast Hwy. 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bodega Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodega Bay Lodge

Address: 103 Coast Highway 1, Bodega Bay, CA 94923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodega Bay Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Lodge situated on the Sonoma coast, overlooking Doran Beach, sand dunes, marshes & bay. Russian River and Sonoma County wineries closeby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bodega Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodega Bay Hotel Bodega Bay
Bodega Bay Lodge And Spa
Bodega Bay Lodge Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodega Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.