We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Food in Bodega Bay Ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Boat House

The Boat House
1445 N Highway 1, Bodega Bay, CA 94923
707-875-3495
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 25 Restaurants in Bodega Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Restaurant details
Novato, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worst Food in Bodega Bay Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We live in the Bay Area and know Bodega Bay well. We thought we would try The Boat House on Sunday, 2 Mar 2014 for something simple for lunch. The fish-and-chips that I had was awful. Both the fish and the fries were overcooked and there was no taste or flavor. Same for the clam strips with chips my spouse ordered. The clam strips were overcooked and were tasteless. I concluded that no herbs and spices were used in the batter for either the fish or the clam strips. The quality of the food was very low. In my opinion, the restaurant overcooked the food to cover up for the low quality. My wife had a stomach ache after we ate at The Boat House. If you would like diet-coke soda, forget it. They only have RC-cola, no Pepsi and no Coke. I strongly recommend avoiding this restaurant. The food is expensive for what you really receive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    40
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quick and Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We wanted a reasonable place to get fish and chips, shrimp and chips, and clam chowder in a bread bowl, without the fuss and expense of a traditional restaurant. This fit the bill nicely! We loved our food and the casual atmosphere. There are small tables inside but we chose the covered patio. Our order was delivered out to our table, and the food was hot and fresh! No sea view but the variety of chilled beer was a plus! Fish and chips were crunchy not greasy and chowder fresh and yummy with an awesome bread bowl. Would eat here again anytime!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa, ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Funky and a great taste treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We LOVE the excellent fish and chips. These are the very freshest and most delicious I have ever tasted. The place is very humble. Who cares!! They have an outside patio that is welcoming to dogs.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Fish N Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We shared the Fish N Chips and Calamari. Super fresh and done perfectly. The clam chowder is good - not great. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Good value for your money. Really busy, but a table opened up by the time we ordered. We'll be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antelope, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Fish and Chips!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

If your looking for curbside fish and chip place than this is the place for you. This place has Cod filets not pollack. They are thick large 4 piece in tempura. The place books fishing charters. Can come in when camping and not worry about the right attire. This Small place also has variety of seafood tempura and bbq oysters. Great little place have been coming 20 years!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boat House also viewed

Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boat House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.