We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in California” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duck Club Restaurant

Duck Club Restaurant
103 Coast Highway One, Bodega Bay, CA 94923
707-875-3525
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Duck Club Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in Bodega Bay
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Continental, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Doran Park Road
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best meal in California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was easily one of the best meals in our three week trip -
had both dinner and breakfast. Fish was amazing, the vegetarian entree and dessert too - every detail just right. Often the only restaurant at a hotel is overpriced and only as good as it has to be for captive audiences, but this was superior. The French toast at breakfast is a must

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    58
    22
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auburn CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Time for Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Two mornings during our trip, we enjoyed breakfast at the Duck Club. I can recommend the Farmer's Country, and the Crab omelettes, also the Crab Benedict. Great smoothies and Pete's coffee. Friendly staff and a cozy fire. Enjoy!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“The Jury is Still Deliberating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Let me start by saying that I LOVE Bodega Bay and the Bodega Bay Lodge-- and though I've been going to both for many years before The Duck Club was even in existence, until this past October, we had never gotten around to trying it. It was an impromptu decision on our part, the night of the third Presidential debates and the World Series. The hostess seemed a bit put out when we arrived sans reservation, never mind that it was off-season and the dining room less than half full. And though I'd been in the room back in the days before the restaurant officially was a restaurant (back in the days of Free Continental Breakfasts), I couldn't quite shake the image of a hotel buffet quite out of my head. It's a pleasant enough room with a fireplace and a killer view, but there was something slightly lacking in the atmosphere that I wasn't quite able to pinpoint. No music? Acoustics? I'm honestly not sure-- but, much as Bodega Bay Lodge has been my home away from home for over thirty years, The Duck Club was not. Or, at least it was not as a first impression. I'm not ruling it out just yet.

The food is good, you see. And though I'd hoped to see a bit more by way of local seafood, there's certainly something on the menu for just about anyone (unless you were looking for grilled cheese and burgers.) There was duck, chicken, fish, steak and pasta to be had that night. The poblano and chicken soup de jour had me licking my spoon despite my husband's insistence that the fog chowder was even better. I eschewed the Liberty Duck breast in favor of pan roasted halibut which seemed to be accompanied by a lovely winter root sort of hash or stuffing. I managed to steal a taste of the pan-seared duck breast off my husband's plate and found it to be succulent and flavorful, served atop a smear of a rich and slightly sweet reduction, accompanied by asparagus, basmati rice and mango chutney. For dessert, we opted to split a marionberry fruit crisp, which was paired with a lavender ice cream. The entire meal was well prepared, the wine list was fine, our server was a nice guy and the spacing of the meal was pleasantly relaxed (we usually ask servers to take their take and space out courses.)

The food and service at The Duck Club is way too good for me to give this a negative rating-- but there's that inexplicable something about the atmosphere which prevents me from rating it as highly as I might. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the food and we'll no doubt be back again in the future, but for the time being I just can't place it at the top of my list of places I long to visit again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My sister and I thoroughly loved our food, as well as top notch service, at this restaurant and resort. Alex called us by name continually, and truly cared that we felt valued and taken care of. Food was excellent, reasonably priced, and we were aware that everyone seated around us were treated the same...with heart. We are deeply grateful and look forward to returning. The warmth of thefireplace and Fred Benedetti on Pandora in backround topped off our most memorable experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great dinner in a fabulous venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Had dinner here during a recent stay, and was very satisfied with the food, service, and view. The cod was light, firm and tender, just wonderful! Would highly recommend this restaurant and lodge.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duck Club Restaurant also viewed

Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 

Been to Duck Club Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duck Club Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.