We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duck Club Restaurant

Duck Club Restaurant
103 Coast Highway One, Bodega Bay, CA 94923
707-875-3525
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Duck Club Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Bodega Bay
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Continental, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Doran Park Road
Hekelgem, Brabant, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Duck Club offers a cuisine that largely beats the local rustic kitchen. The halibut was perfectedly roasted and the sauce was exquisite. For cheese lovers, skip the dessert and go for their choice of local artisan cheeses. Super.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    57
    22
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, WA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

$25 for one light eater for breakfast. I was never so stunned by a bill before, avoid this place unless you are wealthy.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Unbeatable setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Duck Club restaurant occupies a privileged position at the edge of the Bodega Bay Lodge overlooking the coast and a marsh / bird sanctuary. A doe strolled by during our dinner! The food was very good, a bit on the rich side. The menu is limited but varied, appropriate for the intimacy of the setting. The service was excellent. The wine list offers a very good selection. Both food and wine are a bit expensive, and worth it for a special weekend. The menu features excellent fresh foods from many local suppliers. The cheese selection for dessert was exceptional for small (non-French) restaurant. A more casual meal can be enjoyed at the adjacent bar / lounge. The bar menu offers a limited selection of the main restaurant dishes, a few special bar items.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast was sub-par”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We originally planned to have dinner their, but cancelled in favor of a romantic picnic on the beach. When we finally made our way there for breakfast the following morning, we were disappointed. Both of our eggs were overcooked, and the food was blah. So glad we didn't spend tons on money here for dinner the night before!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milpitasca
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Go for the DUCK in the Duck club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We always dine in the Duck Club when we are staying at the Bodega Bay Lodge. Being able to walk a few feet from our room to dinner is a great idea and allows us both to drink copious amounts of wine with dinner! (Corkage fee is a reasonable $15 and there are many beautiful wineries in N. CA to sample on the way to the lodge.) The fog covered any view the first evening so I wasn't too disappointed with not having a window table. Our second evening we had a nice table by the window and no fog. I had their duck breast both evenings. I know that sounds lame (lame duck?), but it was SO-O-O yummy I could not help myself. The raw, local oysters were fresh and sweet. My husband enjoyed his lamb dish the first evening and a perfectly prepared halibut the second. We have never had anything but excellent meals and service here (not to mention the views!).

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duck Club Restaurant also viewed

Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 

Been to Duck Club Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duck Club Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.