We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Regular Stop of Mine that is Fading...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tides Wharf & Restaurant

Tides Wharf & Restaurant
800 Hwy One, Bodega Bay, CA 94923
707 875 2751
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tides Wharf & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 25 Restaurants in Bodega Bay
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Casual, yet elegant, The Bay View Restaurant offers sweeping views of the harbor and beyond to the Pacific Ocean. Wood-beamed ceilings and crackling fireplaces create a cozy and romantic setting. Enjoy cocktails and wine on the patio or fireside at the Hearthside Lounge. Executive Chef, Luca D"Oria, has created a menu full of Italian favorites using only the finest and freshest ingredients. Let our professional and friendly staff cater to your every need. The Bay View Restaurant also features a year-round, monthly "Dinner with the Winemaker" series that is in its 26th successful year. This is also a perfect backdrop for wedding ceremonies, receptions, corporate events and banquets.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
“A Regular Stop of Mine that is Fading...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Everytime I'm in Northern California I've made it a point to eat here and have not been disappointed.....until my last visit about a year ago. I've had a lot of good seafood here but based on my last dining experience I'm not sure that I will go out of my way anymore. If you're in Bodega Bay check it out. If simply in Northern California, don't make a special trip.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    105
    88
    45
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rohnert Park, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cool shops too”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Good food but I go here for the outdoor dining picnic area mostly. I have only eaten in the restaurant once and the food was good, but I tend to come here to browse through the cool gift shop and tiny specialty market. Also when I do eat here it is at at the smaller fast food grill located in the back of the building, which serves yummy fish and chips for less. There are some great views from the outdoor tables if you prefer to eat outside and enjoy the salt air. This place sits over the water. Here you will almost always see some seals floating around entertaining the tourists. Clean bathrooms too for those just needing a place to stop to walk around and stretch your legs.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“simply terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

we stopped at the Tides on recommendation. What a mistake! Dennys is the standard for bad food but here, Dennys would be head and shoulders over this place. The food. Where can I begin. Our pasta primavera was watery noodles with frozen zucchini slivers. Thats all, folks. No seasoning, no sauce, no flavor at all. It was left on the plate nearly untouched. The hamburger was a heated frozen patty on plain bread, sliced tomato and iceberg lettuce on the plate. Also a soggy pickle from a jar. The french frys were good, though. Ketchup was top notch. Service came from an entity hovering near our table that spooked me twice by appearing and staring until she remembered to speak. A very quite girl. We dropped $28.00 for a nice view of the bay. Do yourself a favor and eat somewhere else.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Spent our anniversary eating here. We didn't have reservations, but still got a seat by the window. I had calamari grande served with squash and asparagas, cooked just right. Also recommend the clam chowder. For appetizers we had raw oysters on a half shell that were melt-in-the-mouth delicious.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Breakfast on the bay....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a delicious breakfast on the pier - nothing fancy, just the typical eggs/bacon/fruit/toast, but good none-the-less. There's so much history of this area, especially the fact that one of my favorite old movies, "The Birds" by Alfred Hitchcock, was film here (a long time ago!). They have a lot of the movie memorabilia - fun to look at! Server was very nice - very helpful in wanting to give background info on the area surrounding the bay...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tides Wharf & Restaurant also viewed

Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 

Been to Tides Wharf & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tides Wharf & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.