We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in a spot where there are few good choices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Branscomb's Bodega Bay Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Branscomb's Bodega Bay Inn to your Saves list
Branscomb's Bodega Bay Inn
1588 Eastshore Road, (at Highway One), Bodega Bay, CA 94923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Bodega Bay B&B and Inns
palo alto, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A good choice in a spot where there are few good choices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

We had a pleasant stay for a single night at the Bodega Bay Inn, one of the few spots in town that would accept a reservation for one night on a weekend.
The inn (think small, six-room motel) has done about as much as possible to dress up what we'd guess is a 1970s building into something a bit more special. The grounds were very nice with an unusual stucco fence and interesting landscaping. Our room was basic but clean. No water view here since you are on a street that runs off Highway 1 up the hill from the waterfront.
Bodega Bay doesn't have a town center. For dinner, the inn recommended the Seaweed Cafe right next door in what amounted to a Bodega Bay version of a strip mall (3 or 4 businesses, parking for maybe 20 cars.) We made a last-minute effort to get a reservation on a Saturday night but they were booked solid. It turns out this the cafe is considered one of the best restaurants for miles around. We ended up eating at Lucas Wharf on Highway 1 -- it was fine, but quite expensive for such a typical meal of grilled salmon. We wished we had been able to try the Seaweed Cafe instead.
We skipped the very basic continental breakfast at the inn and headed to Duncans Mills, further north on Highway 1 and then east on Highway 116. Stop at Gold Coast Coffee & Bakery -- the pasteries are terrific. The Cape Fear Cafe across the street was doing a big business.

  • Liked — Exterior landscaping, ability to reserve a single night
  • Disliked — Not a great location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    15
    12
    17
See reviews for
9
50
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2006

We were very excited about staying at an inn with an ocean view as one reviewed said, and we wanted a NICE room with a spa and garden. This Inn also promised Net access.

Driving up to this "Inn" I wondered how it could have a view of the ocean -- it is only 20 feet off of the highway and about 2 miles from the water. There is no view from most rooms, and certain not from the Library room which we stayed in.

We thought that this would be nice. It looked old, tacky and smelled musky. If you have stayed at a Motel 6 in an urban area than you know what I'm talking about. It has a smell like they had steam cleaned the carpets one time too many and forgot to dry it properly.

They said we would have a "spa" tub in our room. What a joke. This was a tiny tub, probably the cheapest spa tub that you could find at home depot. It certainly wasn't what we had in mind. It wasn't anything we could have a romantic encounter around.

The "garden" off our room was more like a flower bed. The room's "private" garden is five feet from the main entrance to the "inn" so that wasn't really much we could do with this private garden either. Again, this was a joke.

Last, and not surprising, the service was terrible. The girl working there was maybe 15 years old and she had not been given proper authority or training to do much of anything.

We had a problem with the internet access, ie. there was none. I asked the front desk to see what was wrong. They said sorry it is out. I asked them when it would be fixed and said that I needed to be in contact with my office by email and they said they would check, but never did. I suggested finally that they just try restarting the wireless router and cable modem and sigh! they gave another lame excuse, not helpful or supportive at the least. Last, I told them I was very disappointed and they did nothing at all.

We got nothing that we were promised. Don't stay here, you'll be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2006

My wife and I stayed in the Library room for 2 nights in July 06. The room is newly remodeled, quite spacious, and brightened by natural light through the windows. Our experience is as follows.

Pros: The bed and a side sofa in our room are nice and comfy. The front garden and back yard/garden are planted with exotic plants and flowers. As described in the website, art objects are plentiful inside and outside the inn. We are pleasantly surprised that there is a sun room where breakfast and snacks are available for self-serve. The commercially packaged food items are not fancy, just like at home. But we liked the convenience and freedom to make our own meals. The sun room is partly a kitchen and partly a family room. There are couches and chairs, and a bookcase full of pictorial art/garden books. It was quite relaxing when sitting there, with a view of the back garden (and direct access to it too). Although the property is near a street junction, traffic noise was not much at all inside the inn.

Cons: The staff seemed to keep a low profile, but they were available when we needed them. We met the gardener who was very friendly and helpful. We figured that since this is a budget inn and Bodega Bay is no Mendocino, the low key operation can be fitting (therefore not necessarily cons). The maid appeared to be forgetful or in a rush. Bath soaps and empty facial tissue box were not replenished on the second day. For some reason shampoo was not provided in our room.

  • Liked — Comfortable, convenient, and practical facility, jus like at home.
  • Disliked — Maid service may need improvement
  • Tips/Secrets — The inn is more than a motel, and less than a fancy B&B
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2006

We stayed two nights at Branscomb's and loved it! Our room was lovely with a peek-a-boo view out to the ocean. We were impressed with how quiet it was so close to the highway. The gardens out front are a delight, and I can't wait to see the back when it is finished. As luck would have it, my husband and I ended up meeting Mrs. Branscomb herself. She was quite the storyteller. I would also have to highly recommend the restaurant across the parking lot, The SeaWeed Cafe. The meal was something you would have expected in San Francisco, not Bodega Bay. What a wonderful surprise!
Thanks for the lovely weekend!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2005

My wife and I stayed at outstanding B&Bs in Monterey and Santa Cruz. This one was a disappointment. It was cold, clammy and moldy. The heating could not be regulated properly in both rooms (we changed rooms at our 2-night-stay). Breakfast was self-service. And other guests brought their golden retriever with them despite the fact that pets were not allowed.
This Inn is rather a low-budget motel and definitly overpriced. I wonder what the AAA-rating is good for.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthBBI, Owner at Branscomb's Bodega Bay Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
I'm sorry this experience occurred. I wish people would bring these matters to our attention immediately and not continue to stew in a poor experience for a few days.
We are not a Bed and Breakfast. AAA simply had us in that category because we are most like that type of lodging. We are not a motel. We have private hallways, common areas, and the rooms are all custom designed. We are a small hotel.
Furthermore, we are required to allow service animals by law. We cannot even ask for documentation by law. Sometimes i wish we could, but bear in mind that service animals are usually better behaved and more well kept than pets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2003

Only stayed one night. We had planned to go out on a chartered rock fish and crab combo trip, but the trip was cancelled due to bad weather. It turns out that, "Branscomb" is next door to the charter place which is very nice at 5:30am (just get up and go). Branscomb has somewhat of a B&B flavor to it; clean and not too pricey. Just up the road from the Tides. There are a couple of restaurants next door and a marina with a public pier is within a short drive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Branscomb's Bodega Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Branscomb's Bodega Bay Inn

Address: 1588 Eastshore Road, (at Highway One), Bodega Bay, CA 94923
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bodega Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bodega Bay Inn is a small family owned and operated inn on the north end of Bodega Bay. All rooms have king beds and private baths. The inn also features a large garden for the guests enjoyment and also for private events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Branscomb's Bodega Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Branscomb`s Bodega Bay Hotel Bodega Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Branscomb's Bodega Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.