We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Place to go to” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bodega Dunes Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bodega Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Bodega Dunes Campground
Save Saved
You added Bodega Dunes Campground to your Saves list
Bodega Bay, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Sacramento, California
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worst Place to go to”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My friends and I took our time off from work to enjoy a get away and they decided to choose Bodega Bay. My friends paid for reservation and the service there was terrible and racist. We paid just like everyone else and we obey the rules. We did not disturbed anyone and yet they treated us like stupid kid. They threaten us to follow rules or we'll get "kicked out" meaning we reserved 3 days for nothing and wasted our money. The spacing there was not big enough. we reserved a few spots for the amount of people we had and yet we were still camping right next to strangers. We can clearly hear their conversations. When the sun sets, Skunks comes out so be aware. I talked to a lady at the restroom and she said she saw skunks and raccoons within 40 minutes. The lady at the booth was straight up rude. She acts as if she's trying to help but her actions were only being racist. She pulled over 5 cars full of Asians to check Every person's ID and yet let all the non Asians drive right through without any questions. When a Non Asian came to the line for help, they were helped first because there was "TOO MANY ASIANS" to help when that's her fault she pulled over 5 Asian cars. The lady spoke as if she listens to your questions and request when all her answers were not helpful at all. She made sure everything went her way rather then helping you out. I really do not recommend this place for anyone because they do not know how to treat there customers/guess right nor with respect.

Room Tip: Don't go there unless you're 30 years of age and is white because racism apparently still ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We were there for two nights and three days. When we got there around 11 in the morning, the day of our check in, there was nobody at the window some checked in With the camp host. We stayed st site 41,43,40. Our first night went well, we were quiet by ten and everyone went to sleep early. Our second day we went off our campsite down to the docks which is a 5 min drive from the campground. We spent the the morning at the dock and returned to our campsite around 6 in the evening. We had 6 cars with us and at least 23 people. We were stopped by the volunteer workers at the front window box. She was rude and asked us all to park on the side and take our our IDs. This lady was super rude. She really wrote down all 23 of our Drivers's and IDs down. We had 4 kids with us, they had came with their older siblings with us. The lady worker told us that we would have to have permission slips because we had kids with us and supposly we weren't the legal guardians of these kids ( only brother or sister) so she wanted us to call home and make sure the parents of these kids have their parents permission to take have them there. We lived 3 hours from the campground, she wanted us to either have someone fax some permission over or leave. She was so rude, she got so mad when we interrupted her to ask a question. She said we had to have legal papers to have these kids with us no matter if we were the older sibling or not. She was rude and I wished I would have gotten down her name. She made us go through so much trouble. I think invest think she was so bored that she just wanted to look at everyone's license and verify everything. Yes we had a young group among us but we did have a few 21's adult too. The place was nice with the hot showers but the way we were treated was unfair. I did not apperciate what happen there with that lady. Besides it was our last night and we obey all the rules. I will never go camping there ever again. The complication that lady made for us was rude and unnecessary. It was almost 8 at night and she wanted us to call home so parents at home can fax permission. She was not even helpful in any way just straight out rude. I won't be returning there ever again. Oh and while we were beng held hostage, a bunch of cars passed through the box window and the ladies didn't even stop one of these cars!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We found this to be one of our favorite spots along the California coastline. It has a great beach, nice walk amongst the dunes, and is close to other areas, such as Bodega Head and other nice hiking areas. We were lucky to get site # 28- great wind protection, and also lots of sun! We had a motorcycle in the back of our pick-up that we towed behind the motor home, so also enjoyed the riding up and down the #1! The host was very helpful, and friendly, even though he was there all alone looking after 98 sites! He said it was his first time as a host, so good on him, hope he makes it through the summer! We did see a skunk in a garbage can one evening as we walked around, but they will only come around if people leave food for them.
The only negative we had there, was someone who used the spot we were in before us, dumped their RV waste tank on the site! I had a shovel along, and was able to bury it, but why do we let these pigs loose in RV's? I would rather have the skunk for a neighbor!
As for the cutbacks, such as no hand towels in the wash rooms, it's better than shutting the parks! We noticed several closed parks in this area- too bad!

Room Tip: Get there just after 12:00, and hope for #28 to be available! Do not miss the hike around Bodega Hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We have been camping here for 10+ years and had not been in several years. The campground is in good shape despite all the budget cuts. There are no towels in the bathrooms, and the bathrooms were mostly clean with Super thin TP! There was 1 host in the lower loop and none in the upper. We spoke to the woman at the main gate and confirmed that this campground is not for large groups. The sites are well spaced apart and most are deep enough for a medium RV to fit. A few of the sites are litterally in someones back yard and others are next to a road. You have to drive to the beach or make a considerable hike. There is an RV dumpstation and they used to have a campfire center where the rangers had kids programs, didn't confirm if that was still around. The price is now 35 a night. My biggest complaint is inconsiderate campers running their generators at all hours.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The campground was nice. We stayed at 13 across from the bathrooms. There was a visiting skunk the first night, but I found it rather cute, and as long as it didn't try to stink us we were fiine letting it be. The racoons were a bit more to deal with. Every night they would raid the trash cans infront of the bathrooms and it sounded as if they were giggling the whole time. Our last night we left the trunk open unattended for a moment too long (our mistake!) 5 racoons got right in the car and started cleaning up our 2 year olds spilled trail mix. Slamming the car doors a few times got them out with no damages.

The camp host new our daughters name and called "hello" when ever we crossed paths. No one complained about the fact that our 2 year old gets up rather early to start yelling questions and singing at the top of her lungs (we can not keep her quiet). The host and rangers were very helpfull and answered any questions we had.

The hike to the beach was very nice. Who knew dunes were so strange and beautiful! The sand was fine, but there is a lot of drift wood about. The sand dunes were fun to climb and slide down and provided a nice and warm sheltered area to sit and watch the sunset.

We had a great time and I think we will be back to visit soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

My husband and I went to Bodega Bay recently on our trip down the coast. The facilities themselves were nice but there are many things about this campground that we were not thrilled with. They have lots of SKUNKS! We were visited several times by 2 skunks throughout the night, they seemed to do a circle around several campsites in the vicinity (we were in site 54). Needless to say it was not a pleasant night as the skunk wouldn't leave our tent alone and were not afraid of humans. Being that I am not a big camper and definitly not into critters, I slept in the car instead.

The beach itself was ok if you like to dodge the massive amounts of horse poop on the beach.

We stayed at other campgrounds along the coast and they were all fine, this one stuck out as the worst night for us.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We went to Bodega Dunes Campground twice, once in August 2010 and once in early September 2010. Both times were very nice, although the second time we had to stay in a less desireable site. Our group was made up of 3 families, each with 2 adults and two children, from 7-12. We had two adjacent sites- 35 and 37. Unlike most people that reviewed on this site, we had no problems with camp hosts or rangers. Each site has a campfire pit in it, so every morning and night we roasted whatever food was on hand. The kids all spent their time running up and sliding down the huge sand dune opposite our site. We hiked to the beach twice, once in the early morning when only the early risers in our group were up, and it is a very short and easy hike. The beach is kind of boring but fun to find sand dollars or shells. The bathrooms are very clean and the showers are free with lots of hot water, but bring flip flops. Overall, a very fun camping experience and would definitely go again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bodega Dunes Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodega Dunes Campground

Address: Bodega Bay, CA
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Bodega Bay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp amongst the dunes, and it even has hot showers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bodega Dunes Campground Hotel Bodega Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodega Dunes Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;