We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location. Nice Property. Great Food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Tides

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at the Tides to your Saves list
Inn at the Tides
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Highway One, Bodega Bay, CA 94923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location. Nice Property. Great Food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Our one night stay was welcomed with a complimentary bottle of wine. Great view of the bay from the room opening into a porch. Great breakfast at the Tides which is right on the bay. We actually saw sealions while enjoying breakfast! Couteous staff. Waiter was not sympathetic to our daughters food allergies.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    94
    64
    48
    28
See reviews for
53
167
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Fantastic view, even with the fog. :) Our room had a table and 2 chairs that allowed us to sit and watch the harbor while drinking a complementary bottle of wine. We were able watch the tall ships that were docking at the harbor that day. The room was clean, large, and functional but not particularly elegant. perhaps even a little worn. The breakfast at the Tides restaurant across the road was better than what we expected to receive for a complimentary hotel breakfast. For a room with an ocean view, complementary wine and breakfast, I thought it was a bargain but we were a bit out of season (early April).

Room Tip: I liked the second floor room at the top of the hill for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corte Madera, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I were married here one year ago and returned for our wedding anniversary since we enjoyed our time here before.. Mistake!! We checked into room 1402 and found the following:

Room:
1. Garbage in the bathroom wastebasket.
2. Windows that would not open to the fresh air.
3. A plant that was hidden and dying in a dark corner by the television. We watered it and moved it to the sunlight.
4. No room service menu in the conpendium. Called and asked for one but it was never brought.

Restaurant near check-in desk (the nicer one):
1. We ordered 2 avacado and crab appetizers, one was brought. When this was pointed out another was brought that was 1/2 the size and thrown together. We had these for our wedding reception one year ago and they were great, not now.
2. Ordered a Caesar Salad. Came with brown edged romaine lettuce and no cheese. None..
3. I ordered a Filet Mignon, medium rare with bernaise sauce. It came well done and no sauce.

I am not sure what has changed in the kitchen from April 2012 but the food quality, presentation, and service level is now non-existant. The rooms appear to get minimal care, almost as if the owners are at the point of just taking your money but not planning on keeping the product up to acceptable standards.

What a shame... This does happen in the hotel industry, especially when management gets complacient and no longers places the guest first ahead of expenses and service.

G.Collins

Room Tip: Get a second floor room so you are assured of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno NV
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is our second trip to The Inn at The Tides in 10 years, and found the rooms were the same as before. They are in the process of updating the accommodations and I look forward to seeing them back in their former glory, this truly is a gem on the Bay. Even with the rooms outdated they are very spacious, comfortable, and set in sprawling landscaped gardens. Some have terraces with views, some have fireplaces, and some have neither, I guess it's luck of the draw what you get.
The pool and hot tub are large and well maintained, there is also a sauna and fitness room in the same area.
They are offering a breakfast package at the moment, which helps with the cost of eating in the Bay, which can be very expensive.
The Tides is a self contained resort with every amenity you could need, even a gas station.
We did have need of a heating repair, which could not be fixed that night, but was taken care of the next day.

Room Tip: The last block up the hill has the best views, the middle blocks are closer to the pool area and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetrista, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed in Bldg 9 and the view of the ocean and the grounds was beautiful. Our room had a fireplace that was all set to go and had a complimentary bottle of a decent chardonnay from a local winery waiting for us as well. Our room was close to the spa bldg, so took advavantage of the white robes and the amazing hot tub before snuggling in with the wine and fireplace. (Internet worked just fine for us)

The breakfast that is included with the room is at the restaurant on the property and is a full sit down meal (not like a the buffets at most hotels). After breakfast, we wished we had eaten dinner the night before there as well. Beautiful views from the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is our first visit the Tides for a get away rest and relaxation. One of the best surprises we had was at the hotel's BayView Restaurant's food quality which was excellent and we had a great view of the bay. Our room was very clean and beds were comfortable. Some of the interiors could use an update, like the bathroom - but it was adequate. The room included a bottle of wine and complementary breakfast at Tides across the street. Breakfast was not very good - potatoes were greasy and soggy and egg omelet was not very tasty.

The property has really beautiful flora around the grounds and is well maintained with excellent views of the bay. We had a Queen with two beds on a lower floor that had an out door patio - we liked that alot. Some of the upper rooms have a better view of bay, but did not have a balcony. We had free wireless internet that work well both in room and outside.
We really enjoyed our stay at hotel and will be back again.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have better view of bay, but many lower rooms have an outdoor patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the Inn at the Tides last night in building 12. The landscaping of the property is very nice and the setting near the Pacific Ocean is nice. This is not an inexpensive hotel. It appeared to be fully occupied----so good for them! Bad for them is the advertised WIFI is nonexistent. I mentioned this to the young lady at the front desk who said, "That's what everybody says". I told her to please lodge my complaint with the management and their IT department. She said she has told them numerous times. No excuse in this age of savvy travelers!!! Will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the first tier of buildings for a good ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Tides

Address: 800 Highway One, Bodega Bay, CA 94923
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Tides 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming inn located on a hillside in a clustered village atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn at the Tides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Tides Hotel Bodega Bay
Hotel At The Tides
At The Tides Hotel
Inn Bodega Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Tides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.