We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Tides

Save Saved
You added Inn at the Tides to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Inn at the Tides
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Highway One, Bodega Bay, CA 94923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Bodega Bay
santa clara ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here after a day of wine tasting in Sonoma. The staff was friendly and professional. Our room was large and comfortable, with a king bed, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace. We had an enjoyable dinner at Bayview, the on site restaurant. Afterward, we had the option of moving over to the lounge, where a passable pianist was performing but chose instead to retire to our room to enjoy a fire, a complementary bottle of wine, and the sound of sea lions barking in the fog-shrouded bay. In the morning, we walked across the street to The Tides for a very decent breakfast, which was included in the price of the room. The only reason I didn't give this property five stars is that it adamantly does not allow pets. Nevertheless, we will be staying here again and will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    78
    54
    43
    26
See reviews for
42
144
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Like others have mentioned, the Inn sits on a hill overlooking the bay. The room was large with a fireplace and had an excellent view. The bathroom had not been updated since 1980s and looked very worn. Bed was large and comfortable. Fog horn sound was a constant all night so didn't rest well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Springs, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We happened upon this little gem after having an awful experience at another hotel down the road with almost the same name. When we made the reservation, we booked a room at the Bodega Bay Inn, not realizing the major differences between these two places. The Inn at the Tides rests upon a hillside overlooking the bay. Most of the rooms have ocean views. Individual parking areas accompany each of the units and we found a complimentary bottle of wine in our well appointed room. There were even comfortable robes in the closet. An excellent complimentary breakfast that was very filling is also included at their restaurant which sits over the water of Bodega Bay. We had a window seat to enjoy our coffee while watching the ocean wildlife just below us. This place was great!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up on the hillside positioned toward the coast have a great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander,WI
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

On our way back from Sonoma we stayed one night here. Enjoyed the hot tub and pool. Full breakfast across the street was a treat. Rooms are quite small for four people. Nice view of the Bay. Lovely grounds

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I've been to Inn at the Tides a few times and every time was a better if not just as fantastic as the first. The price is fair, the people are BEYOND polite and helpful and the food is to die for! First time I went my husband now was trying to win me over which obviously worked. We stayed in a small cabin in front of the water and had a beautiful view in the morning. Plus, I hear some rooms are haunted which I thought was cool...I never experienced anything but it's a thought ;)

I give this place 2 thumbs up!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The property is very well maintained. Our room was large, clean and quiet. After a day of airline travel and driving it was a pleasure to be welcomed into the hotel and given a quiet room as far from the highway as possible on the property.

The pool looked inviting, but we did not have the energy to try it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Inn is across the street from the Bay, and the rooms cascade up a hill. Our room was quite large, with flat screen TV and a great fireplace. Otherwise, the room was somewhat dated. The "fresh wild salmon" dinner was sent back, and the pasta primavera too oily. However, breakfast (included) was quite good and quick. I'm sure everything would have been better if it hadn't been for the heavy fog . . . but then . . . it is the northern California coast!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at the Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Tides

Also Known As:
Inn At The Tides Hotel Bodega Bay
Inn At The Tides Hotel
Hotel At The Tides
At The Tides Hotel
Inn Bodega Bay
Address: 800 Highway One, Bodega Bay, CA 94923
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Tides 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming inn located on a hillside in a clustered village atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn at the Tides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Tides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.