We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Tides

Save Saved
You added Inn at the Tides to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at the Tides
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Highway One, Bodega Bay, CA 94923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The property is very well maintained. Our room was large, clean and quiet. After a day of airline travel and driving it was a pleasure to be welcomed into the hotel and given a quiet room as far from the highway as possible on the property.

The pool looked inviting, but we did not have the energy to try it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    89
    61
    46
    28
See reviews for
50
157
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Inn is across the street from the Bay, and the rooms cascade up a hill. Our room was quite large, with flat screen TV and a great fireplace. Otherwise, the room was somewhat dated. The "fresh wild salmon" dinner was sent back, and the pasta primavera too oily. However, breakfast (included) was quite good and quick. I'm sure everything would have been better if it hadn't been for the heavy fog . . . but then . . . it is the northern California coast!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I did a Sonoma County weekend and wanted to spend a night on the coast. We enjoyed the Inn at the Tides for the location and the cape cod style architecture. We headed over to the Tides restaurant for happy hour and dinner. The next morning we had breakfast using our coupons, which are good for an abbreviated breakfast menu. The "real menu" looked a lot tastier, but ours was free and we were ok with that. We had a nice time. If the focus of our trip were to explore the coast, we would have chosen a different town/hotel, but for a quick jaunt over from wine country for a one night stay, the hotel fit the bill. The rooms are comfortable and the views are nice, but it is true what others say about the outdated styling, the Inn is ready for a makeover.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We should have paid a bit more attention to the ratings when 55% of the comments are average or below. The room needed updating and smelled of ant spray. The bath vanity is mismatched old plywood. Pretty location and good restaurant saved the day. However not much other than "The Bird's" film location which can be visited in twenty minutes at the Town of Bodega Bay. Unless really needing a place to stay I would pass the next time. A shame in that a few $ spent on updating would make this a great place to stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

A friend gave us a gift certificate for the Inn at the Tides which was a nice surprise since we had never been to Bodega Bay. I was expecting a small B&B, but this is a large complex of about a dozen buildings circa 1985. The complex is built on the hillside so most room have an ocean view. All buildings seem to have two floors of four rooms each. The room are large (those on upper floors often have vaulted ceilings) with fireplaces and decent views. Large pool with big jacuzzi stays open late.

Our room felt a bit worn. Nothing terrible, but noticeably aging around the edges. Peeling wallpaper, sun-bleached poster art, dated furniture, old windows, mini fridge had been removed and its cabinet boarded up. The rooms are due for remodeling now and in a few more years they will look truly rundown. Bottom line: this is still an acceptable place to stay in an area with limited choices, but a good rate will help take the sting out of any disappointments.

Full breakfast was included at a huge, bland waterfront restaurant across the street run by the same company. It might be ok for families with young kids, but couples looking for a special dinner will want to look elsewhere (we recommend Terrapin Creek Cafe just up the road for pricey but fantastic food).

Room Tip: For best views and most privacy, aim for upper floor, corner rooms in buildings 1400 and 1200.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I blame the horrible part of our stay on this one girl employee of the morning reception shift. First, we arrived early, only one of us went in and asked if we could check in early. My friend came back to the car not knowing what to do for the next 3 hours (so the receptionist did not suggest anything??!!). then i went in, and the receptionist was loudly telling her co-worker "NO WAY SHE CAN CHECK-IN EARLY! NO WAY! SHE HAS TO COME BACK LATER!" ... well, i gave her a look and with that she realized I was in the same party as my friend. So i asked to verify my reservation had arrived. She did not want to look for it because the computer was down. So i had to ask her again to look it up and to do it manually. When she did she reiterated "check-in is not until 4!!! (could she be anymore negative and annoying??). So it was up to me to ask her to suggest what to do in that town! I've done around the world traveling, and I know how sometimes it's ok to check in early and if not, a good receptionist at least suggest where to go/what to do... but not this girl...!! Later that night, our room key did not work. the night shift figured it out: the morning girl had messed up the room numbers. At check-out it was her again behind the counter - so i told her about our key experience. She didn't even come close to an apology or admitting her mistake. She actually tried to blame ME!!! even as i showed her the key pouch were she wrote the room number!!!! OMG!! to finish this story with a "cherry on top": she asked me for my cc - I said you have it on record. She argued that I did not give it to her at check-in.... WHAT??!! uhmmm rule number one for check in: ask the guest for a cc for incidentals. She had it somewhere but would not look for it --- and with a quite annerving tone she said "well I don't see one in file so can't you give me one now". MR. MANAGER DO YOUR HOTEL A FAVOUR AND SACK THE RECEPTION GIRL. SHE IS HORRIBLE!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loma rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Hotel is rustic but nice with good views of Bodega Bay to be had. Room was clean though some of the appointments were a bit dated. Good pool just steps away which was perfectly heated.

Walls were a little thin and you can definitely hear 'the neighbors'.

Much appreciate the complementary bottle of wine which was quite good, and the free breakfast at Tides restaurant which was also good,

Value was OK but not spectacular, IMO (though it WAS a Friday night on the coast in August, to be fair).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Tides

Address: 800 Highway One, Bodega Bay, CA 94923
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Tides 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming inn located on a hillside in a clustered village atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Inn at the Tides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Tides Hotel Bodega Bay
Hotel At The Tides
At The Tides Hotel
Inn Bodega Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Tides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.