We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Villa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa to your Saves list
Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16702 Coast Highway One, Bodega, CA 94922 (Formerly Sonoma Coast Villa Inn And Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Bodega B&B and Inns
Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
“Beautiful Villa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding 5 nights. I have never met an owner/operator who takes such care to detail and worked so hard. Breakfast that was included in price was absolutely fabulous. Meals were spectacular. Johannas the owner pays so much attention to food details and took such pride in serving us wonderful food. He was extremely busy and works so hard to make your experience a great one. We had booked the whole Villa for the wedding and all who stayed there were totally satisfied with this place, many who want to return. The property was absolutely gorgeous!

Shelly & Earle Atkinson, Truro, Nova Scotia

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakcreekmanor, Owner at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we glad that you and your family enjoyed the wonderful wedding

we hope to welcome you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    23
    18
    12
    16
See reviews for
10
80
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our room, #9, was very spacious with a settee in front of the wood fireplace, a large bathroom with a jetted tub and a shower, a sitting area with love seat, table and chairs and a desk and chair. The king bed was very comfortable. We had a private patio with table and chairs. The furniture is eclectic vintage finds... The grounds of the villa are beautiful with lovely roses, shrubs and trees. There is a small outdoor pool and an indoor spa tub. I had a sugar scrub treatment at the spa that was wonderful!! The villa provided a complimentary breakfast in a lovely restaurant with views of the grounds. The cons of this property is the location, so far in the countryside, making driving back after dinner a bit treacherous with all the narrow winding roads.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakcreekmanor, Manager at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked a two day stay here during our trip to California. We both read through the reviews here and were a little reluctant to stay. After our experience here I will definitely say it was the best experience I have had at any Villa or hotel. The rooms are beyond comfortable. The furnishings and quietness of the room captured exactly what a five star villa should be. We sat near a fire pit in the courtyard our first night enjoying drinks and the warm atmosphere. The owner greeted us several times as he worked throughout the villa. There was not one moment of our stay that we didn't notice the owner prepping food, checking in guests, inspecting the grounds or hurrying about to ensure everyone enjoyed the experience he provided. The food is definitely five star. In short, some reviewers don't understand or have the patience to realize that the owner has created an amazing experience he wants to share with each guest. If you want pampered in the traditional American way - I suggest holiday inn express. If you want to experience a five star villa with beautiful furnishings and amazing food, this is the place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakcreekmanor, General Manager at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and kind comments,
We are happy that you had a amazing experience with our resort and spa.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chino hills
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I took my husband for his 65th birthday this place is so beautiful! our room was so pretty and the huge bathtub was really nice. We had a fireplace and a large back patio. We were both very happy and rested with our stay we will definately encourage our friends to stay there when they are up that way...
Pam & Clyde

Room Tip: all of them looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakcreekmanor, Manager at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments and feedback,
We hope to see you again with your friends very soon.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I traveled here for 3 days/2 nights w/our 15 lb dog. The hotel is located a short 5 miles to Bodega Bay (beach) and is absolutely charming and lovely. The grounds are well cared for, nicely decorated and very clean and the free breakfast is outstanding. We travel quite a bit and I can tell you I was very delighted with this hotel with its charm and beautiful grounds. We stayed in a 'villa' which had a private patio. This was great for privacy while still being able to sit outside to enjoy the sunlight. Room had wood burning fireplace (they provided the wood), small fridge, large jacuzzi tub (they provided the bubble bath), standing shower with lots of fluffy towels and complementary Tully coffee Keurig system, and crystal wine glasses with full bottles of wine available for sale in the mini bar. King bed which was nice and cozy and room was spacious. This was really a nice surprise. The photos on their website are drab compared to what it really is. They have an onsite spa with all the services but we did not take advantage of it. We had dinner included in our rate and it was brought it to our room along with the white table cloth. Food was very good and definitely better than most restaurants in Bodega Bay. The pool was a bit small and water temp was cold but it was hidden from the wind so we got a chance to lay out and enjoy the sun. They have an indoor hot tub with the most amazing jets. They had a fun 9 hole putting green and the gardener was nice enough to use his blower to clean the turf for us. Great service. The free breakfast was the best breakfast I've had at any hotel. Fresh scones, bagels, fabulous frittata (yum!) fruits, yogurts, cottage cheese, juices, coffee. We regret eating out for breakfast the first morning at the Tides Wharf. The hotel is quiet and great for adults looking for a romantic getaway. We will definitely be back and with friends!

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa #14. Perfect location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakcreekmanor, Owner at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you back very soon

Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Money, money, money!!!!
Read the fine print. Everything in this Villa/Spa (I actually would call it a farm Motel) will cost you! We thought it was a Spa resort but it's not. Just a small cold pool (60 degrees) with some plastic chairs around it plus a small indoor Jacuzzi for 4 persons. We got the Travel Zoo voucher for $259- and ended up with additional bill for $300- ! just for changing a room with one king bed to two queens!
Also upon arrival they were fixing the roof and blowing dust all over and we kept on seeing workmen obstructing the beautiful courtyard views!
On a positive note the room and surroundings were beautiful and the owner/manager a real nice French gentleman!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakcreekmanor, Manager at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for comments,
We are sorry about the workers on the roof, in regards to the pool which operated seasonal (May 1st though November), We did order now Poll Furniture which will arrive for the opening of the pool in May,
The package which you paid for was for two nights stay for two, when your reservation was confirmed you were informed of the extra costs for two extra persons and taxes.
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The man on the phone, who said he is the owner, lacked manners and customer service. I only wanted to change the dates of our stay to one week earlier which was available, but he said I had to pay the $35. cancellation fee. Groupon listed cxl fee in the fine print, though I was not cancelling, rather moving the date 1 week. I then cancelled and will never book at this place again. We are frequent visitors to the Sonoma Coast, Bodega Bay, Russian River Valley for exquisite wine tasting. This Inn will never be on our list. Save your money, save your wits and time of constantly being put on hold while you try to speak to the person, who claims to be the owner, on the other end of the phone.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakcreekmanor, Manager at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments,
We are sorry for the hold on the phone, this promotional has been extremely busy with extra staff on duty, we wanted to make sure the take care of all our guests, We did not charge you for the changing the dates, we only charge if you cancel your reservation, as of today you have a confirmed reservation for July , 2013, we are looking forward welcoming you to our beautiful resort and spa, I can ensure you to find our resort with personal and professional service.

Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa

Address: 16702 Coast Highway One, Bodega, CA 94922 (Formerly Sonoma Coast Villa Inn And Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bodega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa: A Luxury Resort in Sonoma County An elegant luxury hotel in the north of California's Wine Country, Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa is waiting to refresh your senses, relax your body and enchant your palate. Evocative of a tranquil European villa warming in the California Russian River sunshine, Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa is the perfect place for your vacation, honeymoon, special event or weekend getaway from the Bay Area. Forty wineries sit within driving distance of the Villa, making it the perfect destination in Sonoma County for wine pilgrims and explorers. Our attention to detail and excellence fills every aspect of your experience, from the comfort of our beautiful hotel rooms to the five star cuisine of our organically stocked restaurant. Our inviting and private Courtyard Spa will revitalize you with a variety of massage and spa packages, administered by our knowledgeable, sensitive and thoroughly professional therapists. Expect your stay at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa to leave you feeling rejuvenated and pampered in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Coast Villa Hotel Bodega
Sonoma Coast Villa And Spa
Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa Sonoma County/Bodega

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.