We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Dragon

Fat Dragon
80 Walcott Street, Mount Lawley, Bayswater, Western Australia, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Mount Lawley
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have been coming here for the last year or so since it opened we know the family from a previous restaurant they had in east perth. The food is of a very high quality and nick and his mum give fast good service
This is very good chinese food a must go

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SF, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Upscale Chinese Menu w Modern Decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were part of a party of six, so we were able to experience several selections from their extensive menu. All were prepared very well. One that stands out was a crocodile dish that was a pleasant surpise. The restrauant is a family affair and is decorated very nicely. We received helpful and good service from the wait staff, but then again we were not in a hurry. We wanted to take our time and enjoy the very pleasant atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food and good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I have been here a few times and I have never had a bad meal yet.

We have found the staff really friendly and they have a good knowledge of the menu.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about the food and the service..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband took me to this restaurant on Valentines Day for Dinner. My first impressions upon entering the place that it was nicely decorated. They took us to our table and almost immediately brought us water and prawn crackers. While we browsed the menu they brought us our drinks we had ordered.Then that's when the service seemed to disappear. We sat at the table for what seemed forever with our menus closed waiting for someone to take our order, finally I managed to catch the attention of a waiter(as my husband had his back to the restaurant floor)he came over and we asked to have our order taken....and he walks away, we were both frustrated and hungry...then a lady appears to be walking towards our table a few minutes later with order book in hand only to have her go to the next table and take their order and walks away... 5 or so minutes later I managed to call the waiter to our table again to tell him we still wish to order....and he walks away to speak to the lady.. Finally she comes over and takes our order. When our entree was delivered to the table we were starving... I didn't want to fill up on prawn crackers. We had crispy duck and Shitake dumplings and they were delicious! When our main came of Honey prawn, fried rice and Chinese vegetables in garlic sauce we were not as impressed. The fried rice was bland and boring,we should of ordered steamed for way cheaper! the vegetables really average and way over priced, thankfully the prawns were fresh, crunchy with a sweet but subtle taste of honey. Maybe with different menu choices we would of felt better when we walked out the door, I don't know. When it came to getting a waiter once again when we were obviously finished, once again I had to summond them over, and we waited for a long time...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Modern Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have just moved North of the River and where looking for some good Chinese Food. Looking through various review sites we seemed to find lots of mixed reactions so just chose one on a whim.

Seems we lucked out. We booked late on Saturday but they where able to find us a table outside which was perfect for a balmy evening.

Service was polite and efficienct (Although I do still find it odd that so many Perth restaurants have both a bar and a food waiter). The food was also served in a timely manner. We had the duck dumplings and the banana chicken dumplings for entree and both were cooked quite well for fried dished (Not to oily or dry). We had the fried rice and garlic prawns for main. I was quite impressed with the garlic prawns as hot weather can cause the sauce to coagulate. All in all the food was to a good standard.

Also I must say that their beer selection was top notch and a diverse range.

We'll be going back again and again for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Dragon also viewed

Mount Lawley, Bayswater
Mount Lawley, Bayswater
 
Mount Lawley, Bayswater
Mount Lawley, Bayswater
 

Been to Fat Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Dragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.