We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO comfortable and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Durack House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Durack House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Durack House Bed & Breakfast
7 Almondbury Road, Mount Lawley, Bayswater, Western Australia 6050, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Mount Lawley B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“SO comfortable and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

This is a very comfortable B&B near Perth city centre. The train station is 5 minutes walk away with regular trains to Perth and Fremantle. Sandra and Bill are very welcoming and breakfast in the garden is a delight. My room was very comfortable with en-suite and a private courtyard - a lovely place to relax in the evening. There is freee tea and coffee and a fridge for the use of guests.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
54
19
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leics, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

We made 4 visits of 3 days each to Durack House in September, October, December 2009 and January 2010. It was everything we wanted. Sandra and Bill made us very welcome, the rooms were delightful and beautifully kept. Breakfast was a real treat and I always over-indulged. The house is in a very quiet area of Perth and is only 5 minutes away from the trains. (10 minutes to Perth CBD). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Having done Sydney before we wanted to try Perth this time. However the reviews for the big hotels that we normally stay in where not very good.Then we saw Durack House and every comment was 5 star so we decided to trust Tripadviser and contacted Sandra and Bill to see if we could stay for 7 nights. Thankfully they could accommodate us and we asked for their biggest room. Truly, it has been a lovely experience. The room is spacious and very comfortable and Sandra and Bill offer everything you could wish for to make you feel welcome. I brought toiletries etc not expecting a B and B to provide them. They were in abundance. The continental breakfast is very good but for 10 dollars you can have a superb cooked breakfast all cooked fresh not kept warm. The guesthouse is conveniently situated just a few minutes walk to the fast and efficient train service which goes directly into Perth for 3 dollars 40 return. Amazing! Once there you are right in the hub of things and can even get a free bus around the City. A train is available from Perth to Freemantle and there are lots of places to visit from there too. After a long day in the City you can relax with a bottle of wine in the beautiful gardens and chat to Bill and Sandra and other guests. We normally book into 5 star hotels but we have been so pleased with our stay here we would undoubtedly return. We cannot recommend this place more or thank our hosts more for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

Well appointed rooms, comfortable bed, hosts Sandra and Bill Durack charming and helpful, very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, England
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We had the pleasure of a 3 night stay at Durack House in December 2009 after finding it on Trip Advisor. We arrived at Durack House at 10am to find that our room was available and we could freshen up and leave our luggage so we could make the most of our first day in Perth. The room was spacious, clean and very nicely decorated. It has a large shower and roll top bath, which was a godsend after a day of walking and sightseeing! There is a nice lounge area where you can make yourself at home and have a cup of tea/coffee and a biscuit and read a magazine or book that have been left for your enjoyment. For breakfast there is a conservatory where guests from all 3 rooms eat together- breakfast is from 7 until 9 and consists of toast (which you make yourself from a selection of different breads) fruit and cereal and lots of choices of teas/coffee (again which you make yourself). You could have a cooked breakfast but this was Aus$10 per person per day more.
The B&B itself is in the area of Mount lawley and just a 5 minute walk from the train station where you can catch a train to perth every 30 mins or so, this train also goes to Freemantle. In Mount Lawley there's a chemist, supermarket and subway. There's also a post office and these are all just a short walk from the B&B.
In summary, a lovely little B&B with a warm welcome and excellent rooms. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to a friend.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

My wife and I returned to Durack House for the 2nd time and our stay was better than the first ( if thats at all possible )...We arrived from Melbourne whilst Sandra and Bill were away and the key was easily found...We stayed in the camellia room which was absolutely clean and spacious...And the bathroom was huge and spotless...Summer in Perth is on the hot side and the airconditioning worked a treat...Wifi is free and the signal was strong...Breakfast was had both inside and outside and was a delight...We had the continental and the yoghurt and fruit were superb...As others have said the location is brilliant with the train 5 minutes walk away and the restaraunts in Beaufort street just a short 10 minute stroll away...All in all you wont find a better place than Durack House...We will definitely be back for our 3rd visit...Keep up the good work Sandra and Bill

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

My colleague and I recently stayed at Durack B&B whilst on business. We were both extremely impressed and would recommend staying here. The owners were extremely friendly and very accommodating. The rooms were fantastic and immaculately clean. The B&B is conveniently located near Mount Lawley train station with regular trains into Perth. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Durack House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durack House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 7 Almondbury Road, Mount Lawley, Bayswater, Western Australia 6050, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Bayswater > Mount Lawley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Lawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durack House Bed and Breakfast is an elegant Edwardian home situated in the quiet leafy suburb of Mt Lawley. Only 3km from the Perth CBD with train and bus access 300 meters away. Durack House offers three individual bedrooms - two queen and one king size (or twin). Each room comes with an en-suite, reverse-cycle air-conditioning, television, hairdryer and a comfortable bed with quality linen. Parking and wifi is free An elegant and cozy sitting room is available exclusively to guests at all time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Durack House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durack House Hotel Mount Lawley
Durack House Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durack House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.