We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable; Obliging Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Bishop

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Inn Bishop to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Bishop
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1030 N. Main St, Bishop, CA 93514   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Fernley, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable; Obliging Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were passing through Bishop and decided to stay an extra night so we could visit the nearby Laws Railroad Museum. This was a shoulder period for the hotel (which is undergoing repairs/renovations on the rear portion). The people there couldn't have been nicer.

The room is clean, comfortable, and servicable. Having a microwave oven and refrigerator is a real plus. There's wi-fi, but it wasn't very fast compared to my personal MiFi device; however, it would probably have been sufficient for checking e-mail -- not for the video-conferencing I had to do while on the road.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you have lots of bags ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    83
    46
    16
    20
See reviews for
64
68
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Describe the service you experienced-good service, very friendly
Tell us how you liked the room-no complaints, could use updated tv's.
Talk about the location & amenities-average, no complaints
Say what you liked best & least-best was good wifi/least-noisy

Room Tip: was not my first choice of hotel but they had a Saturday night room available that my first choice d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
We are glad you felt you received the quality service that we aim to provide. We hope to have you as our guest again in the near future, and perhaps we may provide you with a room in a more quiet area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Staff said the price advertized on the TripAdvisor
Was not available and
it does not matter to them.
I would not believe it is right
way to do business.
They should have updated
their price or they are not
honor the tripadviser's ad.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
We sincerely apologize for the discrepency in prices that you found. Rest assured that appropriate measures will be taken to ensure that this will not happen again. We hope that you will give us another chance to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

16th September we turned up to check in having booked with Expedia, checking our itinerary there was no indication that the hotel had suffered a bad fire at the end of August 2014. there were workmen gutting rooms, and a sign on the door sending us to Travelodge, who then sent us on to the Motel 6.
I have yet to hear from Expedia, but we are only here for one night. babe warned

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of the fire, and the difficulty you had finding your relocation. Unfortunately, we were not able to make contact with a few of our reservations, such as yourself. We have re-opened almost half of our rooms, and plan to have the second half reopened by summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Arrived last night to find the Hotel had unfortunately been closed due to a fire.
The Vagabond guys had arranged for all bookings to stay at theTravelodge in Bishop instead.
No email notification the guys at Vagabond though.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
We apologize for the inconvenience that the fire caused you. We did attempt to contact all guests to the best of our ability, and we sincerely apologize that we were not able to reach you. Hopefully this did not impact your trip to much, and you were still able to enjoy a wonderful time in Bishop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Basic, clean motel with a few extras. Breakfast was decent and simple. The pool was clean, as was the room for the most part.

The bathroom had a few issues, and when I expressed my dissatisfaction, the manager was quick to take action. He also credited us back 25% of our payment for the night we spent there.

A good value for the money, and nice people working there.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
It is wonderful to hear that you were so pleased with the rooms and the staff. Our goal is to provide top quality service in hopes to give our guests the most outstanding stay possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We had a reservation at the Vagabond Inn and arrived to find that the hotel had suffered a fire several days before. There was a kind lady on reception who greeted us and informed us that they had made replacement reservations for us at the local Travelodge. She remained professional and considerate despite being clearly upset over what has happened. We are sorry not to have been able to stay here but wish the staff well for the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Thank you for your concern and especially your understanding while we dealt with this unfortunate circumstance. We have opened a portion of our property, and plan to open the second half before summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Bishop

Address: 1030 N. Main St, Bishop, CA 93514
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Bishop 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When looking for hotels in Bishop California, look no further than the Vagabond Inn Bishop. This Bishop hotel is ideal for those seeking adventure in rustic California, and is located a short distance from both Kings Canyon National Park and Sequoia Park. Additionally, our Bishop hotel is located off the US 395, near major fishing areas along the Owens Lake, skiing, horseback riding and hiking. We are well equipped for a quiet stay or your outdoor excursion; for your convenience, fish cleaning and freezing facilities, BBQ and RV parking are available on the property of our hotel in Bishop. For your more immediate dining needs, there is a Denny's restaurant, open 24-hours, on the premises. Relax in our swimming pool open from May to the end of October. Our rooms feature cable TV with HBO and wireless Internet access is now available in all rooms for your enjoyment. Enjoy the charm of this quaint town and relax in the comfort of our rooms. Need lodging in Bishop during Mule Days? This is the perfect place to stay. The hotel has undergone a freshening up in the last year. Freshly painted and landscaped, new patio furniture, as well as new bedspreads and linings. As always, we promise you our own brand of Western hospitality. Great Value, friendly people- it's how we do things. Amenities • Air Conditioning • BBQ Area • Free Continental Breakfast • Breakfast Area • Multilingual Staff • Business Center • Cable TV - Show Time and Movie Channel • Under 18yrs Stay Free w/ Parents • In-room Coffee & Tea Maker • 24Hrs. Front Desk • Dog Playground Area • Free Incoming Fax • In-Room Hair Dryer • Iron / Board in all rooms • Jacuzzi • Guest Laundry Facility • Microwave Oven in all rooms • Free Weekday Newspaper • Free Parking • Swimming Pool (All new furniture in 2010) • Free 24hr Coffee and Popcorn in Lobby • Refrigerator in all rooms • Free Local Phone Calls • Voicemail available • Wake up calls available • Free WiFi Internet AccessServices • Connecting Rooms Upon Request • Smoking Room Requested • Family Suite & Suites Available • ADA Accessible Rooms • Guest Laundry Facilities • Outgoing Fax Service (fee applies) • Pet Friendly Rooms ($15 per pet/day fee) • Rollaway upon request (fee applies) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Bishop Hotel Bishop
Vagabond Hotel Bishop
Bishop Vagabond Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Bishop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.