We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room, good sleep ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Bishop

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Inn Bishop to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Bishop
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1030 N. Main St, Bishop, CA 93514   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Big room, good sleep ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We needed a place half way between Anaheim and Reno, and the Vagabond inn filed the bill. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was good and had a decent variety. For an older motel, we thought it was fantastic and would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Trevor, thank you so much for staying with us while traveling through Bishop. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here and our complimentary breakfast. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    83
    47
    16
    20
See reviews for
65
68
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed here twice within two years. Once with fishing buddies three nights. Slept, fished all day showered, dinner out X's 3. Breakfast at Denney's next door all three days. Vagabond breakfast is nothing to write home about. Second time, tried it with my wife. She did not like the bikers bar-b-qing outside their rooms with a couple of beers. The arrival of a very full tourist bus that parked in the narrow parking lot that evening was added entertainment. The tourist all ate breakfast at the same time next morning - standing room only - back to Denney's for breakfast. The biggest issue was the need to up grade the rooms. You can only clean a room so many years and not show wear and tear. New paint, carpet and bed spread would be a great start. If you are going fish'n with your buddies it will do just fine.

Room Tip: Go across the street and stay at the La Quinta or Creekside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for the review. We work hard to accomodate all of our guests, and offer a variety of amenities for just that purpose. It is unfortunate to hear that you and your wife did not enjoy the stay as much, but hope to see you on your next fishing trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here two separate nights this week, passing thru both times.
This is an older facility but VERY CLEAN rooms. We had two beds and the rooms included a fridge and microwave. Very happy with the stay. Average continental breakfast, but there is coffee, juice and snacks in the office 24 hrs a day, including fresh popcorn. Next door to KFC and Denny's. very convenient. Only bad thing, I needed help with the AC. It's located up near the ceiling and I'm only five feet tall. I didn't want to stand on a chair as I'm 71 yrs old and didn't want a fall to ruin my vacation. AC pretty quiet, I've had very noisy ones sometimes. Nice pool for my granddaughter and bar-b-que , and fish cleaning facilities, if that's your thing.
Barbara

Room Tip: I always look for cleanliness and value. I like a room I can park directly in front of on the bottom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Barbara, we are so happy to hear that we were able to provide you with an enjoyable stay and that your granddaughter was able to take advantage of the swimming pool. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Attempting to drive from Yosemite to Las Vegas, we realised we were getting tired and decided, on a whim, to stop the night in Bishop. Having dinner at the Denny's next door, we decided to try the Vagabond Inn and we're glad we did. Room was very clean and modern (i think some had old decor, but ours was nice and snazzy), our kids loved the hot tub/spa next to the swimming pool, AC worked nicely to combat the desert heat, I enjoyed the laundry facilities (nice to have a suitcase full of clean clothes instead of dirty ones), and we chatted to several other guests from America (and 2 from Germany) who also appeared to be enjoying their stay. The complimentary breakfast was not fantastic, the standard cereal and muffin affair, but I appreciated the simple sultana bran on offer (it's nice when hotels offer at least one healthy option). Overall, a very enjoyable night (and Bishop itself seems like a nice little town). Thanks from Australia ;)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay! It is our pleasure to provide you with a clean, comfortable place to recharge on your venture through the valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, N.M.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Small sleeping room, smaller bathroom, clean, comfortable bed, nice pool area. We usually stay at the Creekside Inn when we visit Bishop. Most visits between 4 and 5 days. Thought we'd try this as it was a lot cheaper. You get what you pay for. Breakfast was good...at the Denny's next door. Forget about the breakfast in the motel lobby. Not worthwhile. Would stay here if travelling through, not for a stay beyond 2 nights. Back to the Creekside Inn.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
We are sorry to hear you were not pleased with your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, without guest input we would not be able to further improve. We hope you will give us a second chance to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here for an overnighter on our way to Lake Tahoe. It was a good stopping place.
Room was very comfortable and clean. I liked the fact that the shower and toilet were in a separate room from the sink. You can easily walk to downtown Bishop where there are many eating locations. Breakfast was included with the room. It was a little more elaborate than just a continental breakfast. I was impressed they had plenty of bananas.

Room Tip: We were towards the rear of the property, upstairs. No street noise could be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for leaving us such a nice review! We are glad you enjoyed yourself and that you were able to take advantage of the continental breakfast we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

OK for a quick overnight stay! Rooms were reasonably clean, it was a quiet location, with easy parking. The staff is friendly. We had a 2-queen, non-smoking room, everything fine. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you so much for the positive review! We are looking forward to having you as a guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Bishop

Address: 1030 N. Main St, Bishop, CA 93514
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Bishop 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When looking for hotels in Bishop California, look no further than the Vagabond Inn Bishop. This Bishop hotel is ideal for those seeking adventure in rustic California, and is located a short distance from both Kings Canyon National Park and Sequoia Park. Additionally, our Bishop hotel is located off the US 395, near major fishing areas along the Owens Lake, skiing, horseback riding and hiking. We are well equipped for a quiet stay or your outdoor excursion; for your convenience, fish cleaning and freezing facilities, BBQ and RV parking are available on the property of our hotel in Bishop. For your more immediate dining needs, there is a Denny's restaurant, open 24-hours, on the premises. Relax in our swimming pool open from May to the end of October. Our rooms feature cable TV with HBO and wireless Internet access is now available in all rooms for your enjoyment. Enjoy the charm of this quaint town and relax in the comfort of our rooms. Need lodging in Bishop during Mule Days? This is the perfect place to stay. The hotel has undergone a freshening up in the last year. Freshly painted and landscaped, new patio furniture, as well as new bedspreads and linings. As always, we promise you our own brand of Western hospitality. Great Value, friendly people- it's how we do things. Amenities • Air Conditioning • BBQ Area • Free Continental Breakfast • Breakfast Area • Multilingual Staff • Business Center • Cable TV - Show Time and Movie Channel • Under 18yrs Stay Free w/ Parents • In-room Coffee & Tea Maker • 24Hrs. Front Desk • Dog Playground Area • Free Incoming Fax • In-Room Hair Dryer • Iron / Board in all rooms • Jacuzzi • Guest Laundry Facility • Microwave Oven in all rooms • Free Weekday Newspaper • Free Parking • Swimming Pool (All new furniture in 2010) • Free 24hr Coffee and Popcorn in Lobby • Refrigerator in all rooms • Free Local Phone Calls • Voicemail available • Wake up calls available • Free WiFi Internet AccessServices • Connecting Rooms Upon Request • Smoking Room Requested • Family Suite & Suites Available • ADA Accessible Rooms • Guest Laundry Facilities • Outgoing Fax Service (fee applies) • Pet Friendly Rooms ($15 per pet/day fee) • Rollaway upon request (fee applies) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Bishop Hotel Bishop
Vagabond Hotel Bishop
Bishop Vagabond Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Bishop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.