We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, comfortable, large room, central in Bishop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   805 N. Main St., Bishop, CA 93514   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Country Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Very clean, comfortable, large room, central in Bishop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

We found this room one of the cleanest of a three week stay in the US. (I am very fussy about cleanliness) Nice decor, well maintained, comfortable pillows. Fridge and microwave. Continental Breakfast was good. Bathroom had a very good layout, not tiny cluttered and cramped like some motels. Rate was $76.00 not including tax.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    59
    40
    13
    7
See reviews for
35
60
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

We needed a place to stay overnight between San Francisco and Las Vegas, and as Bishop is pretty much dead on half way between the two, it seemed the logical place to stay. We knew we wouldn't spend much time at the hotel, so didn't want to pay any more than we had to, so the Comfort Inn fitted the bill for us.

The hotel is old, but still our room was spotlessly clean, though it did have a fousty/stale smell. A quick squirt of deoderant around the room soon fixed that though, and when we returned from dinner, it smelt fine. The room was a reasonable size, not huge but plenty of room for us. The air conditioner wasn't too loud either, certainly not whisper quiet though. The 'bathroom' was a typical split affair, with the bath and toilet in one room, and the wash basin and counter in the main bedroom. There was a fridge and microwave in the room, along with a coffee maker. The hotel also had free wifi, and we got a good signal in our room (though we didn't actually use it).

The staff were friendly enough, the lady checking us in was very friendly, polite and chatty. The guy checking us out was OK, happy enough, but not overly friendly. Breakfast was OK. The buffet had enough food to fill you up, though getting a table was by luck (they only have 3 tables I think). It could always be taken back to the room though. The hot Comfort Inn waffles with maple syrup are always great though! Yum!

There is plenty of free parking in front of the hotel, and it is right next door to a Sizzler for an evening meal. It is on the main road through Bishop, though the hotel rooms actually face onto a side street so are pretty quiet.

For an overnight stop, we couldn't really complain with what we got for the money.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

We came into Bishop late in the evening from a long drive at 11PM, they were one of the few places to have a room, (i know why now). The gentleman behind the counter was pretty strange but nice, he gave us the room keys and as went went to park, we noticed right away groups of the residents hanging outside on balcony , and milling about the parking lot, one woman was either a really badly dressed hooker, or just another meth addict. The other groups were younger men (the kind with their pants halfway down) drinking, and smoking, partying up a storm. we knew this was not going to be a good night, so we went to the Best Western Creekside Inn. Excellent choice!!. I did go back to the man at the counter and he did refund our money, we won't be staying there anytime soon.

  • Liked — The counter service was OK
  • Disliked — The drug addicts hanging around
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

nice rooms EXCEPT they smell like the cheap soap syndrome so BAD you have to keep the window open
the whole way. Otherwise you might get sick..
Stay somewhere else until they fix this crap...

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

This is a clean motel. Pretty basic, but no problems. The property could probably use refresh, but it is clean. Front desk service was OK. The location is nice and convenient... pretty much in the center of town.

  • Liked — central location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Cal.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

Room - Clean, Upstairs room, floors creak.
Shower - ok.
Heater - ok.
Breakfast - continental, good with make your own waffles,
Staff - consistently Friendly and helpful.
Pool and Spa looked inviting for a summer visit.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

We always stay at the best place in town, Creekside, when we pass through Bishop, but there was 'no room at the Inn' this time...for less than $140, that is. The Comfort Inn said their rate was $89.99 for any size room, so we thought we'd give it a try.

All the ground floor rooms were taken by the time we got there except for a room with a Queen bed a couple doors from the office. It was really small for $89.99, but it was very clean and had a fresh scent. (I have a good honker and if at first sniff it doesn't pass, I'm outta there.) For the same price, we could have a larger room with a King bed on the 2nd fl. (walk-up). It was definitely bigger and also very clean, but it was a trek to get up there even without luggage, and I noticed that the floorboards in the room squeaked with every step. We decided on the smaller room on the ground floor.

Some nice touches were the faux granite (laminate?) shower walls, the curved curtain rod which extended out to give more room in the shower, the clear panel in the shower curtain which allowed for more light and less claustrophobia, and a subtle but effective night-light located on the phone unit (other than the message light). It really helped in the middle of the night when heading for the bathroom. There was the usual coffee set-up, micro, fridge, etc.; and the bed was comfortable. The window A/C kept the temp down but was a bit noisy, so out came the foam earplugs, and restful sleep followed.

On the down side, the blackout drape did not have a separate filmy curtain which allows light in but blocks the view from those outside, so passersby would look into the room as they walked by. Yet, to close the curtain put the room in darkness in the middle of the day. Management should consider applying a tinted window film. It allows light in but is reflective during the day, and guests would be more comfortable even with the drapes open.

The continental breakfast the next morning held no surprises, but the make-it-yourself Belgium waffles cooked up restaurant-perfect and were delicious. Fruit, cereals, juices, assorted pastries & muffins were plentiful and filling (and so was my creation of sliced hard-boiled egg sandwiched between a buttered toasted bagel!).

Would I stay there again? Quite possibly, but on the way out of town I stopped at the Dow Villa Motel and took a peek at a couple of the rooms. I liked what I saw.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 805 N. Main St., Bishop, CA 93514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is surrounded by the High Sierra Mountains with a Swiss Village atmosphere. All rooms have coffee makers, refrigerators, microwaves, free high-speed Internet and free movies. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Skiing, snowmobiling, hunting, fishing, and hiking are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Bishop
Comfort Inn Bishop
Bishop Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.