We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Usual Suspects” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   805 N. Main St., Bishop, CA 93514   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Vancouver
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“The Usual Suspects”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were traveling around Nevada on a sightseeing tour which led us to Death Valley, California. Due to our location the first day, and the lack of accommodation in Death Valley, we drove to Bishop so we could continue South in Death Valley the following day.
There were a couple of awful looking motels in town along with the casino hotel and a few other places. When we inquired about the accommodation in one location, it seemed like all the "nice" places had the same ownership.
Guess what that means? No real competition so you pays what they asks.....No AAA, senior discounts, etc. No free breakfast, internet, etc you would normally find in a town this size.
We had a bit of fun imagining Kayser Soze (from "The Usual Suspects") running this town.....
Back to the motel....it was satisfactory for our needs but pricey considering the town. I think they make a big mistake by over-charging for mediocre lodging since I'm sure a lot of travelers will just head straight past Bishop and stay in Pahrump. That would be my plan next time.

Room Tip: This is just a motel so probably best to stay back from the main road. Pool is in a central location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    59
    40
    13
    7
See reviews for
35
60
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here en route to Las Vegas. The rooms are modern and very comfortable. They are also significantly larger than other motels we have stayed in. Staff were friendly and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was one of the best Comfort Inns we've stayed in.. Fairly recently updated, so furnishings and decor very appealing. The staff was very helpful and breakfast exceeded our expectations. Shower was great. Didn't use the microwave and mini-fridge, but appreciated they were there. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Comfort Inn in Bishop was as good as any we have ever stayed. It was clean and error free. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was adequate. We will stay there again. There are other hotels in town, but this one seemed to be the best value and the most welcoming.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same and all have new beds and are clean. Access to the internet was spotty at fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia,CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Ok, this is not the Ritz or the 4 Seasons. But it's a great cheap place to stay when passing through. Customer service is great, Wifi is very fast, Cable TV is clear. Bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet. Room was a little musty when I first walked in, but it cleared pretty quick when I turned on the fan.

Location is perfect - off main street. Oh yeah, and it's cheaper than other hotels down the strip. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is located right in bishop, and is clean, well kept, and the staff is friendly. We stopped here on a friday night prior to going to mammoth the next morning, and it was fantastic. Breakfast includes a self-serve waffle bar, scrambled eggs, and sausage patties. Great value, comfortable, does the trick. Not far from Schatt's, not too far from the jerky place that everyone likes to stop by at.

If i were staying in bishop again (which I plan on in the future), I'll be staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Reliable for a good bed, hot shower, good heater*, clean room, perfect room wifi, great breakfast, quick and pleasant reservation, check-in, and check-out.

*heater heats room quickly enough in winter--then we turn it off at bed time, for the night, otherwise it would be too hot and too noisy

NEW carpet, room wall paint, and bedspread since we stayed here two years ago. Plus room wifi now perfect, not like two years ago.

BRIGHT LIGHTS over desk, at bed sides, and at sofa--nice! Not to be taken for granted.

NOISE of neighbor's or upstairs room heater could be heard, as well as neighbor's large happy group conversations, but they stopped around 10 p.m.

BREAKFAST starts at 6 a.m., thank goodness for the early start so we don't have to wait for it, and at 6 a.m. on weekends we're the only guests in the breakfast area.
- coffee, decaf, hot water, tea bags, chocolate powder
- danishes (not plastic wrapped)
- bread, English muffins, bagels, and toaster
- waffle maker
- hard boiled eggs
- yogurt
- butter, cream cheese, no peanut butter last time we stayed there
- scrambled eggs
- sausage patties, saltiness 5 on a scale of 0-10, uncommonly better than average because they don't have any stinky spice, relatively lean (barely two small spots of grease absorbed by the paper plate from one sausage patty)
- 3 kinds of cereal, including colored sugared styrofoam (fruit loops)
- 2% milk and whole milk, nice addition to coffee
- FRESH FRUIT, yeehaa, oranges apples bananas
etc. and there are trays for guests who sleep later to take breakfast back to the rooms if the lobby tables get full.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 805 N. Main St., Bishop, CA 93514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is surrounded by the High Sierra Mountains with a Swiss Village atmosphere. All rooms have coffee makers, refrigerators, microwaves, free high-speed Internet and free movies. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Skiing, snowmobiling, hunting, fishing, and hiking are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Bishop
Comfort Inn Bishop
Bishop Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.