We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for Meth Convention” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   805 N. Main St., Bishop, CA 93514   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
San Ramon, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place for Meth Convention”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

We came into Bishop late in the evening from a long drive at 11PM, they were one of the few places to have a room, (i know why now). The gentleman behind the counter was pretty strange but nice, he gave us the room keys and as went went to park, we noticed right away groups of the residents hanging outside on balcony , and milling about the parking lot, one woman was either a really badly dressed hooker, or just another meth addict. The other groups were younger men (the kind with their pants halfway down) drinking, and smoking, partying up a storm. we knew this was not going to be a good night, so we went to the Best Western Creekside Inn. Excellent choice!!. I did go back to the man at the counter and he did refund our money, we won't be staying there anytime soon.

  • Liked — The counter service was OK
  • Disliked — The drug addicts hanging around
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    68
    51
    15
    8
See reviews for
44
72
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

nice rooms EXCEPT they smell like the cheap soap syndrome so BAD you have to keep the window open
the whole way. Otherwise you might get sick..
Stay somewhere else until they fix this crap...

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

This is a clean motel. Pretty basic, but no problems. The property could probably use refresh, but it is clean. Front desk service was OK. The location is nice and convenient... pretty much in the center of town.

  • Liked — central location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Cal.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

Room - Clean, Upstairs room, floors creak.
Shower - ok.
Heater - ok.
Breakfast - continental, good with make your own waffles,
Staff - consistently Friendly and helpful.
Pool and Spa looked inviting for a summer visit.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

We always stay at the best place in town, Creekside, when we pass through Bishop, but there was 'no room at the Inn' this time...for less than $140, that is. The Comfort Inn said their rate was $89.99 for any size room, so we thought we'd give it a try.

All the ground floor rooms were taken by the time we got there except for a room with a Queen bed a couple doors from the office. It was really small for $89.99, but it was very clean and had a fresh scent. (I have a good honker and if at first sniff it doesn't pass, I'm outta there.) For the same price, we could have a larger room with a King bed on the 2nd fl. (walk-up). It was definitely bigger and also very clean, but it was a trek to get up there even without luggage, and I noticed that the floorboards in the room squeaked with every step. We decided on the smaller room on the ground floor.

Some nice touches were the faux granite (laminate?) shower walls, the curved curtain rod which extended out to give more room in the shower, the clear panel in the shower curtain which allowed for more light and less claustrophobia, and a subtle but effective night-light located on the phone unit (other than the message light). It really helped in the middle of the night when heading for the bathroom. There was the usual coffee set-up, micro, fridge, etc.; and the bed was comfortable. The window A/C kept the temp down but was a bit noisy, so out came the foam earplugs, and restful sleep followed.

On the down side, the blackout drape did not have a separate filmy curtain which allows light in but blocks the view from those outside, so passersby would look into the room as they walked by. Yet, to close the curtain put the room in darkness in the middle of the day. Management should consider applying a tinted window film. It allows light in but is reflective during the day, and guests would be more comfortable even with the drapes open.

The continental breakfast the next morning held no surprises, but the make-it-yourself Belgium waffles cooked up restaurant-perfect and were delicious. Fruit, cereals, juices, assorted pastries & muffins were plentiful and filling (and so was my creation of sliced hard-boiled egg sandwiched between a buttered toasted bagel!).

Would I stay there again? Quite possibly, but on the way out of town I stopped at the Dow Villa Motel and took a peek at a couple of the rooms. I liked what I saw.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

Managers special was $89.95 + tax but we had a big room and a king size bed. The motel was really well located for walking to various bars and restaurants so we were pleased. The shower in the bathroom was mounted really low but the room was clean. Breakfast was one of the best we had on our travels with a waffle machine and bagels and muffins etc. Free coffee in the lobby 24hrs and a coffee maker in the room. Also free use of the PC in the lobby for checking your emails!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatty
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2006

a clean comfortable place to stay. king bed with balcony overlooking the mountains to the east. a decent "continental" breakfast with make your own waffles was provided. our experience was a postive one.

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.2 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 21 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#4 of 21 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#7 of 21 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#8 of 21 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 805 N. Main St., Bishop, CA 93514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is surrounded by the High Sierra Mountains with a Swiss Village atmosphere. All rooms have coffee makers, refrigerators, microwaves, free high-speed Internet and free movies. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Skiing, snowmobiling, hunting, fishing, and hiking are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Bishop
Comfort Inn Bishop
Bishop Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.