We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad...not bad at all!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   805 N. Main St., Bishop, CA 93514   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not bad...not bad at all!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2007

We always stay at the best place in town, Creekside, when we pass through Bishop, but there was 'no room at the Inn' this time...for less than $140, that is. The Comfort Inn said their rate was $89.99 for any size room, so we thought we'd give it a try.

All the ground floor rooms were taken by the time we got there except for a room with a Queen bed a couple doors from the office. It was really small for $89.99, but it was very clean and had a fresh scent. (I have a good honker and if at first sniff it doesn't pass, I'm outta there.) For the same price, we could have a larger room with a King bed on the 2nd fl. (walk-up). It was definitely bigger and also very clean, but it was a trek to get up there even without luggage, and I noticed that the floorboards in the room squeaked with every step. We decided on the smaller room on the ground floor.

Some nice touches were the faux granite (laminate?) shower walls, the curved curtain rod which extended out to give more room in the shower, the clear panel in the shower curtain which allowed for more light and less claustrophobia, and a subtle but effective night-light located on the phone unit (other than the message light). It really helped in the middle of the night when heading for the bathroom. There was the usual coffee set-up, micro, fridge, etc.; and the bed was comfortable. The window A/C kept the temp down but was a bit noisy, so out came the foam earplugs, and restful sleep followed.

On the down side, the blackout drape did not have a separate filmy curtain which allows light in but blocks the view from those outside, so passersby would look into the room as they walked by. Yet, to close the curtain put the room in darkness in the middle of the day. Management should consider applying a tinted window film. It allows light in but is reflective during the day, and guests would be more comfortable even with the drapes open.

The continental breakfast the next morning held no surprises, but the make-it-yourself Belgium waffles cooked up restaurant-perfect and were delicious. Fruit, cereals, juices, assorted pastries & muffins were plentiful and filling (and so was my creation of sliced hard-boiled egg sandwiched between a buttered toasted bagel!).

Would I stay there again? Quite possibly, but on the way out of town I stopped at the Dow Villa Motel and took a peek at a couple of the rooms. I liked what I saw.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank HonestScoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

Managers special was $89.95 + tax but we had a big room and a king size bed. The motel was really well located for walking to various bars and restaurants so we were pleased. The shower in the bathroom was mounted really low but the room was clean. Breakfast was one of the best we had on our travels with a waffle machine and bagels and muffins etc. Free coffee in the lobby 24hrs and a coffee maker in the room. Also free use of the PC in the lobby for checking your emails!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank violet3violet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatty
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2006

a clean comfortable place to stay. king bed with balcony overlooking the mountains to the east. a decent "continental" breakfast with make your own waffles was provided. our experience was a postive one.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank badwaterbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

Room was smaller than expected. The jacuzzi was out of order with a few inches of stagnant water at the bottom. Maybe the source of the mosquitoes in our room. I managed to kill 2 of them but more must have come in through the gap between the A/C and the wall, because I woke up with mosquito bites. If you get a room with the A/C unit under the window you'll have to bunch up the drapes and stuff them onto the windowsill because they cover the A/C when you close them and all the cold air goes under the drapes and billows them out. No air goes into the room. The fridge is extremely small as is the microwave. The bathtub wouldn't drain during our showers. The drain lever wouldn't stay in the down position. Our reservation said we had Showtime free. If so, it wasn't on our TV. Breakfast? Wouldn't touch it. Went to the bakery down the street. Lack of an elevator doesn't help either. And the only entry driveway is located on the Northwest corner of a traffic signal intersection so if you're coming in from the South you have to go around the block to get to it. And the parking spaces are extremely narrow. Did I say, "OK, but some problems"? I guess it added up to quite a few problems. I know I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bishop hotels

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2006

Stayed here on a last minute ski trip to avoid high Mammoth prices. It's great value for money, room was very clean with a really comfortable bed and marble look bathroom. Coffee maker in the room too. Lots of places to eat within walking distance around the hotel and it was about 35 minutes drive to Mammoth Ski Area. Bishop is at a lower elevation so it was nice to ski then escape the snow storms in the evening back in Bishop. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaGirlOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlsbad,ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2006

Last minute trip to Mammoth, no accomidations left in Mammoth Lakes. This place turned out to be a great find for the money. I don't usually stay in budget accomidations so I was pleasantly surprised to find the room very clean and comfortable. Beds and shower in unit 212 terrific.Cont breakfast was nothing special but hey it's free and it had all the basics you would expect. Milk , fresh fruit, etc. Front desk very friendly, They gave me some discount coupons for local ski rentals. The drive to Mammoth is about 35 minutes. So if your looking to save a little money, so you can turn around and spend it on lift tickets. This is a great place for the money.

Helpful?
3 Thank goldielocks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westernwanderer
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2005

The Comfort Inn is an average place. It has a good location and a decent continental breakfast, but the laundry facilities seemed to be out of order. The machines were'nt even plugged in. Overall, this place is ok for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank westernwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.2 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#5 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#8 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes
0.7 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#7 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 805 N. Main St., Bishop, CA 93514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is surrounded by the High Sierra Mountains with a Swiss Village atmosphere. All rooms have coffee makers, refrigerators, microwaves, free high-speed Internet and free movies. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Skiing, snowmobiling, hunting, fishing, and hiking are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Bishop
Comfort Inn Bishop
Bishop Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing