We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average with some problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bishop

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Bishop to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   636 North Main Street, Bishop, CA 93514-2426   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Average with some problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Since my original review seems to have been mislaid by Tripadvisor, I thought I had better write another review.
The hotel is a little down in the mouth with some maintenance required especially in the pool area where some fittings are loose. The rooms are average and So is the food and service. The breakfast was not stocked well during our stay although it was Labour Weekend.
There was absolutely no recognition of Priority Club membership and as a result the rating has been lowered.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bishop, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear AJO_UK,

Thank you for being a Priority Club member and for leaving us a feedback. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations, particularly on the things you have pointed out like the pool and breakfast. I appreciate you bringing these issues to our concern as these will be looked into and will take actions accordingly. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    69
    45
    19
    15
See reviews for
60
73
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Drove from Vegas to Tahoe via Death Valley, and broke the drive by stopping here overnight. Quiet, quaint little town.

This is a solid, older Holiday Inn Express, but still quite nice. Stayed in a standard room (on our Priority Club points), quite basic. Good service, family-run feeling about it. Some road noise, but still got a good night's sleep. Good laundry facilities, even though the front desk didn't have any change! Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

As a platinum Priority Club member, I stay in ICH hotels a great deal and was somewhat disapppointed in this hotel.
The room was OK with all of the expected facilities and was serviced well during our stay. The pool area in my view was unsafe with many of the hand rails being loose. Also the life saver on the wall had broken attachments which may make it hard to detach from the holder.
Breakfast was OK but under stocked with many items not being replenished in a timely fashion. Also coffee containers were not topped up during the day ( staff seem to think that this is not a service they offer outside of breakfast which is not what I have experienced in other HIE).
Reception staff were very helpful

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Checked in here for 2 days to explore the area. Bishop seems to be a pleasant enough small town and is a gateway to many other places of beauty.......this hotel isn't one of them! Rooms are pretty basic and need a good clean. Curtains hanging off the poles. The pool and gym areas would benefit from a good scrub, all have chipped paint and mould growing around them.
Breakfast was a shambles, full hotel with very little food out and no one replenishing the food initially but this was soon rectified by a miserable woman who occasionally came around the corner carrying a tray of cinnamon rolls and threw them onto the hot tray and promptly vanished again.
As a priority club ambassador I definitely would not recommend this hotel for even lodging your dogs, the kennels I use back in The UK for mine are cleaner and better organised.....

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, NV
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

This property is tired. It was clean and comforrtable enough but noisy. As a Priority Club member we normaly receive a gift bag with at least water and a snack bar; not here. The inn keeper smiled but had an edge. We only stay in Holiday Inns for a night on the road and usually find a high standard of consistency. This was average at best. And it was more expensive than any where we have stayed. The Creek Side across the street is where to stay in Bishop.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in the jacuzzi suite for 3 nights which was a good sized room with all the amenities! (Fridge, micro, mini kitchen, coffee/tea, iron, hairdryer, king bed, 2 person jacuzzi bathtub in main room) The room was a nicely decorated, quiet, 2nd floor room. We used the hotel as a base camp to explore all the local sights such as the Laws Railroad Museum (must see!!), Alabama Hills (where many movies were filmed) and Mt Whitney (with breathtaking views and beautiful waterfall). The jacuzzi was a wonderful way to relax and unwind after hiking and sightseeing! The indoor pool and sauna area was whimsically painted in a tropical theme which was fun. This was a great value for the money! The continental breakfast was good and the property is within walking distance to restaurants and convenience stores, and best of all, Erick Schat's Bakkery, a lovely dutch bakkery and deli! There is also a city park with a creek and small pond right next to the property. Definately the place to stay when in Bishop!

Room Tip: The jacuzzi room was wonderful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Free night due to the IHG Best rate guarantee. It was difficult to see the HEX sign coming from the South until we were almost upon it.
Receptionist cheery and made no comment about our free rate. Rooms had two big double beds so spacious. Ice machine on our floor was not working.
Free ample parking though it was full the next day. Very close to Whiskey Creek one of the limited dining options in Bishop.
Breakfast was OK, usual fayre.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bishop

Address: 636 North Main Street, Bishop, CA 93514-2426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bishop 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishop's newest hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is centrally located next to the Bishop City Park and features 66 fashionable, comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms and executive suites. Hotel features include a free Express Start Breakfast Bar offering cereals, fresh fruits, juices, pastries, toast, coffee and teas from 6.30 to 9.30 a.m. We are the only hotel in Bishop with free in-room high speed Internet access and personal voice mail with free local phone calls and the ability to earn Priority Club points that can be redeemed for fantastic merchandise, air miles or free stays in more than 3,500 hotels globally. A wide choice of rooms to suit your requirements starting from $99.00 AAA/Senior Discount, Corporate Discounts and Government Rates are also available. We take hospitality and personal service very seriously and in an endeavour to ensure that your stay with us is not only enjoyable but also the most memorable our staff are professionally trained and committed not only to meet but exceed all your expectations. Your total satisfaction is our goal and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bishop Hotel Bishop
Bishop Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bishop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Bishop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.